We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Harbor Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn(New Buffalo)
$84
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo(New Buffalo)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn La Porte(LaPorte)(Great Value!)
$99
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn Motel(Michigan City)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
206
105
23
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
105
23
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast in bedbreakfast basketpicnic basketbreakfast deliveredfire pitlake michiganterrace roomben and jerry's ice creamwithin walking distancesmall hoteloff seasonprairie styleharbor view kingget awayfree dvdsthe frank lloyd wrightoutdoor seating
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 345 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great overnight getaway from the Chicago crush. Great beds, breakfast basket, and a fireplace make for great therapy. Harbor view is a must any time of year. The Bentwood Tavern has a great creative chef in their sister hotel next door. Short walk to the beach but the beach is better in South Haven.

Room Tip: Higher the better on the harbor side.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile


This hotel definitely exceeded our expectations. We had a harbor view double on the lower level; we had an outdoor patio right by the lawn going down to the harbor. There were tall junipers on both sides, giving us privacy from other rooms. The room was impeccable, the beds comfortable, and the bedding and towels were luxurious. We enjoyed sitting in adirondack chairs near the water, getting coffee or tea round the clock and eating in the hotel restaurant. They serve 'breakfast in bed'. You select what you want a d when you want it the night before. Promptly at the appointed time, a friendly staff member Delia's a basket containing breakfast. It is enjoyable to eat in the room or on the patio.

The location is an easy walk to the beach, and right in the heart of downtown. It is also across from the Amtrak station in the event that is your chosen way to arrive. There are bicycles available free for guests. Each room has a DVD player and the hotel has free DVDs for checkout. The price is very fair for all that is provided.

We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Harbor Grand and it exceeded our expectations. From check in to check out our stay was flawless. The staff, especially Terry was so pleasant and helpful. We had lots of questions about the area and they were more than happy to help us. We are already thinking about the next time we can visit. We stayed in a king room on the non-harbor side. I think it was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. At our request, they had a little fridge and microwave set up in the room prior to arrival. The hotel offers so many nice, complimentary touches - a breakfast basket delivered to your room, large selection of dvd's and bike rentals to name a few. We rented bikes twice and each time had a great ride through a lovely area of beautiful homes near the water. One of the days we visited the Round Barn Brewery and Lemon Creek Vineyard. We did not dine at the restaurant on site but did eat at Redamak's which was really yummy. After one of our bike rides we stopped at the sister property to check it out and it was really nice. We asked the front desk staff for a casual restaurant recommendation in the area and a super nice employee (Keenan?) suggested Rio's which did not disappoint. We will most definitely be back to the Harbor Grand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montgomery4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Harbor Grand. I wish we could have stayed longer. Our second-floor king room was wonderful, with a great view of the harbor and even a peek of Lake Michigan in the distance. I really enjoyed the warm colors and decor of the room, and the huge bathroom with whirlpool and walk-in shower was amazing!
We had a lovely dinner downstairs at the Terrace Room restaurant. The service was perfect and the food was delicious. Receiving the basket full of breakfast items at the designated time we had chosen the night before was a treat. And, while there's not a balcony off of the room, you can open the doors and there is a gate to close off the opening. We enjoyed having the doors open to see the great view of the harbor while eating our breakfast at the little table in the room.
The location is also great -- the entire area along the harbor is very scenic, and we were able to walk from the hotel right down to the gorgeous beach.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hope to return for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgohere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place was amazing! I have stayed at many hotels, and this one ranks near the top! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

This is a small hotel with approximately 55 rooms (3 floors). They do have a restaurant on the bottom level, but it is small. There were only 8 tables inside and I think a dozen or so out on the patio. So, if you would like to eat here you should make reservations.

We had a king room on the second floor that had a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The room and bathroom were SPOTLESS! The room overlooked the harbor and had sliding glass door so you could open it up and get fresh air, don't worry there was a safety gate so you couldn't fall out.
The bed was very comfortable and we slept great both nights we were there. There was a mini fridge but no coffee pot or microwave. The TV was old and outdated, and didn't have Hi-def.

There was an indoor pool with an outdoor sun deck. The pool area was huge, and just like the room spotless! They said they had a small exercise room, but we never looked at it. They have 24 hour coffee and tea down in the lobby. One of the best things that differentiated this hotel from others was that they provide you with breakfast in bed. Each night you get a card and you pick the things you want and the time you want it delievered. The items included: muffins, bagels, hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juices, coffee, tea, and pop.

The customer service was outstanding! I mentioned when I reserved the room that we were visting for our anniversary and to my surprise there was a bottle of champagne waiting on us in the room with a cute little note congratulating us on our anniversary.

The staff was genuinely friendly and would go over the top to make sure you were satisfied with your stay.

The location of this hotel is perfect. They are in the middle of town and within walking distance or a bike ride (they have complimentary bikes) to town or the beach. There is also a shuttle to the casino.

Room Tip: If you want a partial view of lake Michigan get one on the 3rd floor on the west side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews