We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than I expected”
Review of The Harbor Grand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harbor Grand
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

we went to Tabor Hills Winery in Buchanan Michigan, and we decided spend the night around there to enjoy the view and the tour around the winery (free by the way)...we found this small but nice Hotel about 25 min. from the winery. Was a nice surprise to see the sorroundings and view from the marina, also has a restaurant in the 1st. floor , which is very good. If you like wine, is the place to go, they gave us the suite and was very spacious (2 rooms) and had 2 TV's , which is handy if you have kids with you. Also you can get AAA discount. Got pool, and you can watch movies from a list they provide at the front desk (FREE).

Room Tip: get the suite that faces the parking lot
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for The Harbor Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 331 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

While the hotel was nice enough and within walking distance to a wonderful beach (note: the hotel is not on the beach, it is about three blocks away), it is basically an overpriced Embassy Suites. The in-room breakfast is nice but a little chintzy. Our room was on fire when we got there, I guess they just turned off the AC. But it took a few hours to cool down and then was totally fine. The room was very dark. Nice TVs. They give you towels and chairs for the beach, which is nice. The food at the restaurant downstairs was VERY good! I would highly recommend the restaurant, but maybe not the hotel, at least not for $200/night. We were a family of four and needed the space, but I can't imagine a couple staying there. The staff was extremely unhelpful and very unfriendly. With two small children, we would have driven to the beach if we had known where it was. Note: the front desk would not even give us directions! She said 'just go that way' and waved us off.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COMama36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent one night at the Harbor Grand on our way to Chicago. The location is perfect - walking distance to the beach and to the main street where you find many restaurants and shops. I loved the breakfast in bed, brought to our door in a charming basket, and also the view of the marina from our window. The room was very comfortable, nice soft bed, fireplace, breakfast table, TV, etc. and a nice jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Ah, and one can open the windows to enjoy the view and fresh air. We would come back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side have a nicer un-interrupted view of the marina. The ones on the East side hav...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a very pleasant place with spacious rooms and well maintained grounds. I loved the view of the little marina and the lake from our room window. Unfortunately due to heavy rainfall the entrance to the lobby (in addition to the parking lot) flooded causing much trouble to the guests (not the hotel's fault of course). Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WideBodyroga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Long overdue review! We stayed for two nights last August and we had a great time. The only drawback is no outdoor pool. The rooms are fantastic, think a fancier Embassy Suites room. The breakfast basket in the morning made our kids do excited, best part we did not have to pay for breakfast. The staff was somewhat attentive, but often there was no one at front desk.

The hotel is in walking distance to everything, if you want.

We are going back in two weeks for Three nights this year. Our 6 and 3 year olds have been talking about going back to the beach, for the past 6 months. My daughter cried last night when she heard the Stray Dog burned down.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogsammybammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This has a perfect location - walking distance to the beach and several restaurants and shops. I loved the extras that the hotel provided - such as movies and bikes at no additional charge. We spent the weekend, and unfortunately our baby got sick. The staff was very accomodating with our requests for things such as extra towels, a change of linens, etc. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times and really enjoy the hotel. It by no means is the best hotel I've ever stayed at, but I travel for work and I just love staying here because of the location. They provide free bike rentals, a chair and towel to take to the beach, Ben & Jerry's 24 hrs a day, and a large video library. Additionally, there are many nice restaurants and shopping boutiques within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
131 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
634 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1907 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range: $131 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbor Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing