We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean up to date but average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean up to date but average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights . The hotel was clean and pretty basic nothing out of date or in disrepair. The only negatives were late check in time, the breakfast was only available from 7:30 to 9:30(poor quality) also the breakfast host was rude. I would stay again only because the choices are limited in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbumi, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your response, during the week our breakfast bar is eastern standard time
6:30a-9:30a, that gives guests 3 hours of breakfast time

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    94
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
66
90
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed at the New Buffalo Holiday Inn Express a few times over the past few years and really enjoyed it. It is one of the better places to stay in New Buffalo. However on our past visit last week we found the accomadations to be a little sad and in need of sprucing. Our room was clean enough, but in past years it has been sparkling. Maybe I am being a little picky, but compared to other Holiday Inn's we have stayed at in the past year, it stood out. The staff was as lovely and helpful as ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnatnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbumi, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi There,

We strive on cleanliness and our Holiday Inn scores are always very
high in that department.

I apologize for the inconvienience you experienced.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times before when visiting family nearby, and still find it a pleasant place to stay. But this time we stayed over the Fourth of July, and were charged an exorbitant premium. For July 2 and 3 we paid $117 per night. For July 4 and 5 we were charged $228 for the same room. I understand that hotel rates fluctuate with season and holidays, but an increase of this magnitude is outrageous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbumi, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Our speial event weekends in the summer do have higher
rates, fourth of July weekend was one of them.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

For a "budget" hotel I was thrilled with the comfort of the rooms. They were spacious, and very clean. The FREE breakfast was terrific too! We were concerned that it wasn't "in-town", but we were only 1.5 miles from the beach and was very easy to get back and forth!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back get the sun rise...rooms were not as dark as I'd like, but did not detract fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbumi, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for all of the nice comments, we were glad you enjoyed
your stay with us, hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for guests at my son's wedding. I checked it out prior to booking and found it very clean with a very friendly and helpful staff. The pool looked very clean and inviting. The guests who stayed were very happy and pleasantly surprised at what a good value it was.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goinganywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbumi, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We were glad to know your guests enjoyed their stay with us.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel staff was helpful and courteous. Rooms were clean. The continental breakfast was very good: Cinnamon rolls (yum!), biscuits and gravy, cereal, fruit, eggs, pancakes, juice, etc.

We did not use the pool (opened at 9 AM, wish it would have been earlier).

Hotel is right off of the highway, so it was very convenient for our road trip. However, this means a view of the truck stop/gas station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egersten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbumi, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We were glad to know you enjoyed the free breakfast and you
enjoyed your room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Agree with others - loud - we could hear others, and our dog let them know she was there. Clean, nice beds, skip the free breakfast - we preferred McDonald's unfortunately. Front desk staff was not helpful in recommending a dog-friendly beach or walk park, and the local dog park was well-hidden - once we found it, it was really nice for the dog to run around and get exercise. Overall, it was "ok."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dot23scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbumi, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi There,

We are a pet friendly hotel, the city does not alow dogs on the beach.
to walk them, there is a dog park not to far from the hotel.

the town is limited to wear to take dogs to run around.

I apologize for the inconvienience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo

Property: Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
Address: 11500 Holiday Dr, New Buffalo, MI 49117-8212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of New Buffalo is a premier hotel in Harbor Country, offering excellent accommodations in a resort atmosphere near the shore of Lake Michigan, within 1 1/2 miles to the beach. The convenient location at exit 1 off I-94 is close to the new Four Winds Casino, The Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets in Michigan City, Indiana, Warren Dunes and less than an hour's drive to South Bend and Notre Dame University. It is a great location for visitors arriving to or leaving Chicago, approximately an hour from the greater Chicagoland area and within close proximity to the Michigan Wine Trail, including Tabor Hill, St. Julian, Free Run and The Round Barn, as well as other wineries. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast, free local phone calls and free high-speed Internet access. Visit New Buffalo, MI, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo Hotel New Buffalo
Holiday Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing