We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant, very good food and service”
Review of Terrace Room

Terrace Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Terrace Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 47 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Oselka Drive
Transit: New Buffalo's Amtrak station is just steps away.
Description: Enjoy rustic Italian cuisine with a waterfront view. Handmade pastas and regional dishes inspired by the season are complemented by a carefully curated wine list and Terrace Room's intimate fireside setting. When weather allows, the outdoor terrace is one of Harbor Country's most beautiful dining spots. Dinner and drinks daily from 5pm-10pm. Lunch and Dinner Friday 12pm-10pm. Saturday and Sunday Brunch 9am-10pm. Please be advised that the restaurant is operating on Eastern Standard Time.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, very good food and service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Harbor Grand for my husband's birthday, our first trip. We heard good things about the restaurant, so we tried it. Lovely "prairie style" atmosphere and great Italian food. Recommend what we had - chicken parmesan and spaghetti and meat balls. Yum!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurafrom312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Racine
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“What You Would Expect”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This restaurant has beautiful prairie-style décor, is romantic and cozy. There is also an outdoor adjacent patio for a dinning option. My husband and I both enjoyed the Cesar salad for starters. The Linguine and Clam Sauce he chose was flavorful and one of the best he's had although there was more "broth" rather than sauce but it did have sufficient clams. I enjoyed my Cheese/Spinach Raviolis with Three Sauces, again, very flavorful, although I have had more tender raviolis which I prefer. The menu is small and not the usual Italian entrees you might find but it is reasonably priced and very good, definitely worth another try! We had a reservation during the week and advise this especially if you prefer indoor dining.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank panielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Revisit and Still Liking it”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Terrace Room at the Harbor Grand in New Buffalo, MI, shows that it still serves up very good Italian fare. We stopped by this evening for a late meal. It's getting to the point at this time of the year to sit outside or inside. We opted for inside, surrounded by a comfortable wood paneling and sandstone dining room. We shared a chopped salad, comprised of assorted greens, slices of sweet peppers, onions, and diced warm grilled chicken. Next, we shared a plate of hand made ravioli of chopped lump crab meat, chèvre cheese, onion, and served up with a lemon mustard sauce. Folks, the salad and ravioli were outstanding. We started the evening with a drink, a martini for me and a glass of wine for Cathie. We shared a bottle of wine with the meal. Total cost: $72 before tip. We recommend this place for a romantic evening inside, or a pleasant evening outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very nice alfresco dining”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We ate outside at the Terrace room today. Tis is a very nice restaurant, featuring Italian food. The spagetti and meatballs were excellent. The marinara sauce was very good. We also had the 1/2 lb burger. It was cooked yond medium, but tasty, along with a large helping of fries. A nice selection of wine and local craft beers. Service was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small and Cozy”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a small resturant with 8 tables inside and about a dozen or so outside. Make reservations before you come or you may not get a table. The food was really good, and the atmosphere was great. The outside patio has a fireplace which is nice to sit by and have some drinks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace Room also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Terrace Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing