We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

We had a good experience at this hotel. Check in was quick and room was nice. This is a new hotel. The have a continental breakfast each morning with cereal, coffee, frozen waflles, etc. You can sit down in the lobby with a TV and a fresh cup of coffee. It seemed a little pricey around 179 /night but it was close to the Lake, Warren Dunes, Four Winds and 5 local wineries. We went to Tabor Hills winery which has wine tasting daily. It is about a 20 minute drive from the hotel. We tried Rosie's for breakfast and The Stray Dog for lunch/dinner. Both we very good. Also try Oink's for ice cream. We liked the atmosphere more than the ice cream (Coldstone is much better). This is a nice resort town. We'll try it again in the summer when it is more active.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    97
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
84
90
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

The hotel was clean and our room was nice and quiet. Check in and check out was very easy. The breakfast area was a little crowded but the food was good and there was plenty of it. The price was a bit high, but we went on a popular weekend in this touristy area of Michigan.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Highly recommend. The staff here is great! When we checked in, the GM (Sara) and her staff immediately made us, along with our 13 and 11 year old, feel right at home. They gave great recommendations of places to eat and things to do in the area. It was our 11 year old's b-day, and they gave her lots of attention. She lost 2 teeth while we stayed there, and the staff made a big deal about it. Our whole stay, they always asked how "toothless" was doing. The staff also helped when our 13 year old limped back into the hotel after tripping on rocks at the beach.

Hotel is < 5 minute drive to the beach and to town. Runners - you can run into town and down by the beach.

Breakfast - great hostesses. It did get very crowded after 9 am.

Pool and hot tub - clean but pretty small, Fitness room - 2 excellent treadmills and elliptical.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank illini8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

My husband and I booked the Fairfield Inn thru Priceline for an obscenely low price for 2 nights ($80 total!). We had a wonderful time enjoying the nearby beach, casino, restaurants and shopping in this quaint harbor town. Excellent location for our needs, right off the highway: The hotel was only 1.4 miles from the entrance to Four Winds Casino and the same distance in the opposite direction was the downtown & harbor/beach areas. We had a wonderful dinner at a romantic restaurant named Hannah's.

The Fairfield Inn hotel is BRAND spanking new, clean, with a very FRIENDLY staff. It's at the end of a short driveway that also houses a McD's and Holiday Inn. The McDonalds is w/in walking distance.

The hotel interior has lots of common areas for lobby lounging and a nice business center. They also have an area called "The Market" which has snack foods to purchase (Hagen Daaz & Doritos for those midnight munchies!) The decor is very modern, bright and trendy. Pool was ITSY BITSY, I actually thought it was a 2nd hot tub. Fitness room was well stocked w/equipment. Hallways are quiet and nicely decorated.

The breakfast/lounge area was kept immaculately clean & stocked by a super friendly and helpful attendant. It was spacious, comfy; a great place to catch the morning news on the big screen tv and fill your tummy. Offerings were: Coffee, juice, milk, lots of hot/cold cereals, breakfast breads, muffins, bagels, waffle station, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, and yummy Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches!

Our room was average size, bright with natural light and inviting. Housekeeping does an excellent job w/ every detail. I was impressed w/ the Pantene hair care products and the flat screen tv. Husband was very pleased with the SUPER FAST WiFi internet connection he received on his iphone.

We are looking forward to staying here again next month for my birthday. All my favorites in one place...Good food, Casinos, beaches and shopping -- it doesn't get much better than that for me!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites, New Buffalo, for the 4th of July weekend 2009. The location was great, right off the highway, close to outlet shopping, a McDonald's at the end of the street, and a short drive to Lake Michigan and downtown New Buffalo. The hotel was clean, the staff was attentive, and I have no complaints. We only peeked in to see the pool and it was the smallest hotel pool I have ever seen. The breakfast area was super crowded on the day we did have breakfast at the hotel, and I would say they could use more variety. Other than these minor low points, we enjoyed our stay at the Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srrmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Level Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

When we arrived at the hotel, we could tell it was quite new (9 weeks to be exact) There was one person checking in ahead of us. Immediately, the general manager stepped up to the desk, checked us in, and proceeded to tell us about all the amenities at the hotel. She was professional, personable, and it showed that she took great pride in her job. The hotel was new, nice, well decorated, very clean and everything worked. Flat panel tv's throughout, great pool/jacuzzi, and fitness room was great with new equipment. This was a typical Fairfield Inn with great employees, and everything was brand new. The hotel room was very quiet

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Wanted to stay in Michigan City with my two sisters so we could take advantage of the outlet mall. My husband gave it a go on Priceline. The first bid was not successful so he tried $45 in nearby New Buffalo, MI. There was only one two star hotel on their list - a nice Holiday Inn Express. The bid was accepted but it came back as Fairfield Inn & Suites - not even on their list of hotels in the area. Kind of a suprise, but it turned out to be a very pleasant one. It opened in March of 2009. Everything was new and modern. The rooms were clean and well-kept. The staff was friendly and breakfast was included in our stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to take advantage of the outlet mall or the Lake Michigan attractions. If I had to make up any "cons" they would be the pool was on the small side and when we called to ask for a room with two beds (not an upgrade), staff said they could only give what Priceline has reserved - fortunately for us, we got two beds.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sglenn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Harbor Grand
The Harbor Grand
#2 of 7 in New Buffalo
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Grand Resort
Marina Grand Resort
#3 of 7 in New Buffalo
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
9.3 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Address: 11400 Holiday Dr, New Buffalo, MI 49117-8224
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
#5 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo Hotel New Buffalo
Fairfield Inn And Suites New Buffalo
Fairfield Inn New Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing