We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Affordable and well appointed - We'll stay again, for sure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Affordable and well appointed - We'll stay again, for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a weekend getaway, and chose a 2 queen bed suite. The suite has the extra sitting area, with a pull out couch, giving all 3 of us our own bed. A nice option for us, as we ranged in age from late 30's-mid 60's - and it's not always as comfy sharing a bed as it was when we were younger. :)
The room was spotless, and very little wear and tear. Our suite also had a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The fridge didn't keep our things that cold, but it was adequate, and nice to have so we didn't have to keep everything in coolers. All of the decor is modern and the room was spacious.
The beds were comfortable - not too hard, and not too soft. Bedding was clean and crisp without being too "scratchy".
The pull out bed was what you would expect from a pull out. Obviously not as comfortable as a regular bed, but adequate and not horribly uncomfortable. It was clean and easy to make. Thankfully the legs that pop out are fairly far under the bed, so that anyone walking past the bed (when it's popped out), won't catch their bare toes on the metal legs. (I've done this plenty of times before, so felt that I should mention it.)
The bathroom was spacious, with a giant countertop. Excellent for sharing with 3 women. Towels were pretty scratchy and stiff...I appreciate the cleanliness of them, but they were pretty rough. I always bring an extra from home just in case of situations like this.
We never used the TV's, but they looked great. Also looks like it had an ipod stereo system in the sitting area. Not sure if that's what it was, and never used it, but if that's a a bonus for you, I think they have one.
The hot tub and pool were nice. Neither were very big, but it was well taken care of and a nice spot to relax.
The breakfast and the eating area were nice. All the basics of hotels that offer included breakfasts - cereal, muffins, bagels, hard boiled eggs, fruit cups, Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, waffles, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, milk, orange juice, apple juice. I thought the coffee was very good. It's available all day long. Tea and hot water available too. Different flavored creamers were nice to have too. Sufficient selection of food for breakfast. The woman who was running the breakfast area was very kind and "motherly". Very personable and polite.
Check in time is at 4:30, and we arrived at 5:45 and surprisingly, our room was not yet ready. (Check out time is noon.) The manager on duty kindly offered for us to get some coffee, and wait, as it was almost ready, and gave us a room discount for our wait. (Not sure what it was, as we also used a AARP discount, but we were anticipating on paying about $270 for 2 nights, and we ended up paying $240.)
We didn't use it, but there is a shuttle that goes to Four Winds Casino, with pick up/drop off times listed at the front desk. It's also about 20 minutes away from at least 10 great wineries, and 20 minutes from Michigan City, where there is outlet mall shopping and Blue Chip Casino.
We had a great time and felt safe and completely comfortable at this hotel. We plan on visiting this same hotel next year for our annual winery, shopping and casino weekend getaway. I wish that we would have found this place last year when we went. Last year we stayed at Blue Chip. Nice place, but so big, it took forever to get in and out of, and wasn't as clean, and was a LOT more expensive. I read that the average price for a hotel room in 2013 is $107/night. This place is right around that price, or a little more, depending on the night, or if it's a weekend - and well worth it. I don't require luxury when I stay at hotels, but I don't like to stay in dumpy places either. I loved the modern decor and feel of the hotel, and would check out any other Fairfield Inn and Suites from now on, just based on my stay here. We will be back, for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway are a little noisier, but it's not horrible. You can hear traffic at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgetawaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    99
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
86
94
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have stayed here several times over the past two years - always clean, nice room, and the town has a few good places to eat. Perfect for stopping on a long trip, with a pool and near the Lake. We will stay there again next year too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cctravelercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Fairfield is a great place to stay in New Buffalo. The hotel is very very clean and staff was super friendly. Did not take advantage of the breakfast, but it looked sufficient (no eggs, baacon, etc). We had a King Suite and the room was large with an extra sitting room. Bathrooms spotless. Two TVs. Very quiet area. The Four Winds Casino has a shuttle that goes back and forth to and from the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is great. Super clean, super great staff, even offered a ground floor room as he noticed we had children. I wish we could let you know his name, but he gave great customer service on check in, including bringing us a crib for our baby right away, and giving us a great room close to the ammenities. The beds and room were very clean and comfy and the pool was nice. The breakfast was also plentiful with fresh fruit, waffles etc. Would definately stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st charles, mo
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights for a ND weekend. Very clean and modern. Great price compared to South Bend area for game weekends. New Buffalo has some great restaurants. We had dinner at Casey's and Brewsters and enjoyed both. This will be our new home for ND weekends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcavStCharles_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is right off the interstate and misses out on the views and vacation-quality of those closer to the lake. We wanted a room for one night and the vacation spots require a two day minimum. So we saved a bundle and it did the job. Recently remodeled, its quite appealing though not charming. The room was spacious. Our first room was noisy due to the bathroom exhaust, so we asked for another which was much better.

Room Tip: Be sure to check for noise. the exhaust system is a noise problem in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowwowwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Enjoyed the Marriott hospitality here for two nights. The Fairfield brand is a good, honest hotel: convenient locations, clean rooms, more than adequate breakfast, and attentive servce.
We had a issue with housekeeping that was resolved to our satisfaction, more a communication thing, and the front desk clerk offered us a couple of bottles of water to help smooth things over. It may seem like a simple gesture but Marriott seems to empower their people to solve problems quickly.
The staff, to include hoisekeeping and the lady who ran the breakfast were all engaging: questions/comments about the weather, etc. By the way, the lady running the breakfast really treated us like we were GUESTS!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenDar06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
3.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Harbor Grand
The Harbor Grand
#1 of 7 in New Buffalo
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Grand Resort
Marina Grand Resort
#3 of 7 in New Buffalo
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
9.3 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Address: 11400 Holiday Dr, New Buffalo, MI 49117-8224
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
#5 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New Buffalo
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo Hotel New Buffalo
Fairfield Inn New Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing