We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel wing experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Winds Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Le Claire, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“New hotel wing experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stay at Four Winds about once a month, so you know it is one of our favorite places. This time we got a room in the new hotel wing that opened in June. We usually score a junior suite, and we got one in the new wing. The room in the new wing seems slightly smaller than the one in the old wing. It may have been due to the connecting door, but the sofa was smaller and it was missing the credenza we had in the old room. But it was still very nice. This property far surpasses any casino we have been to in the Midwest. The rooms are nicer than most Vegas rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wsteinhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    124
    22
    22
    18
See reviews for
72
249
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed for just 1 night on Sat. July 28th, as i was also taking in The Wallflowers in concert at the new Silver Creek Event Center.

Check in was fast and easy, Cindy Cole at the hotel check in desk does a fantastic job!! I had a junior suite in the brand new wing of the hotel. Wonderful new rooms-clean, clean, clean. I had a nice king size bed, 2 HD TV's, double marble sinks, a large soaking tub, huge glass enclosed shower, microwave, wet bar with refrig, L-shaped sofa, nice bath products, etc. On a scale of 1 to 100, i would rate my room as a 99%, and believe me I can be picky!!

I had free comp tickets to The Wallflowers concert and I didn't know what to expect. My seats section 202 D Rear were very poor, You would need a telescope to see the stage. After 3-4 songs, none of which I had ever heard of and straining so hard to see the stage, I was two minutes late for the door. What a total waste of my time. I tried when I first got there to get some reasonable seats, but they were not very accommodating. AND THESE WERE THE VIP-SPECIAL INVITED GUESTS-LIMITED SEATING-SEATS.

Overall, great room, friendly front desk-Cindy Cole-a fun overnight trip for me. The Wallflowers concert-blew in spades, I could not have been more dissatisfied!! A late check-out 12:00 PM was granted, and an 11:00 AM wake-up call were both handled professionally!!!

"I'll be back!!"

Bill B.-Fort Wayne, IN

Room Tip: If you are a serious player in the casino-comp upgrades will follow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Firstnten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Back to Four Winds! Got comped for 3 nights so we went for a long weekend. We stayed in the new section which was nice. Big room, comfy king bed, all the amenities. No view but I can't complain about a free room. We got comps for 2 nights at the buffet and ate one night at the Hard Rock which we paid for. We could have used our points but I wanted to get tshirts for the kids.

I played the slots and won enough on & off to keep me going. Hubby played table games and ended up with more than we walked in with so we left happy!

Free room, free food, free shirts and hoodies and money in our pocket. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MittenGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We visited Four Winds last week and had an awesome time. The staff is friendly, accommodating, and always ready to please. The food is AMAZING! The buffet even offers king crab legs, lobster and decadent deserts. Anything you could want to eat, and they will set you up. The gaming is top-notch, and pay outs are consistent. The hotel is beautiful, spotless, and have jet-tubs for relaxing. The only complaint is that the suites don't have sleeper couches, and roll-aways are necs for extra people. Oh, and they don't have a pool...how can it be a resort with no pool? All in all a wonderful get-away, close to chi-town, minutes to Lake Michigan. The Pokagons do this right, and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms that we saw were outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happynhealthy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our first time to this hotel and casino. The hotel just opened a new tower which is bery nicely appointed. Great rooms with bathroom. The food at all the restauranta was excellent. The buffet especially. I've been to many casino buffets and outaside of the Las Vegas buffets, this was one of the best.

The casino was quite large. Darkly illumiated though it didn't bother me. The slots are by far not liberal at all compared to others in the Indiana/Illinois area.

I would make a return trip though as the hotel and buffet were very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisle6594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainield, IL
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Always clean, beds are good, pillows are not. The problem is you never know what kind of room you will have until you arrive (standard, jr.suite, suite) which can be frustrating because there are no microwaves in the standard rooms. Also, you have to put down a $50 deposit at check in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank siczlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Exit I 94 at exit 1 and follow the signs. You can't see the casino from the freeway it's tucked nicely about a mile and a half down a nice paved road through the woods. When you do see the casino and hotel all you can say is wow. There are huge solid wood pillars everywhere wrapped in steel bands, and a fortune in cultured stone as well.

Having been to Soaring Eagle in Mount Pleasant once before we left unimpressed in the whole design of the place. Four Winds is the total opposite. Every effort seems to have been made to make the casino look and feel fantastic. Where Vegas is glass and glitz Four Winds is wood and stone creating a warm rustic, yet comfortable feel.

We ate lunch at the buffet which was $15.00 each. There was no discount for players club members. There is a meat carving station, Asian, Italian, Mexican, American, Breakfast, Salad Bar, and Dessert sections as well. The food was hot, some of it was very good and some of it was just OK. The dessert was very good. Unfortunately our server left a lot to be desired and never bothered to refill our drinks.

My wife played slots without any luck but I played video poker and walked away with over $100 in short order.

We didn't stay overnight here so I can't report on the rooms. Check out their web page for a better look at everything to do here. www.fourwindscasino.com

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitroxscubadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
10.5 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
126 reviews
12.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Winds Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Winds Casino Resort

Property: Four Winds Casino Resort
Address: 11111 Wilson Rd, New Buffalo, MI 49117-8888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
#4 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Four Winds Hotel New Buffalo, elegant décor and opulent accommodations are carried through all 415 luxurious guest rooms.Pamper yourself with amenities like granite counter tops, HD TVs, 14-inch pillow top mattresses, plush robes, whirlpool jets and wet bars. With accommodations this luxurious, the only question left for you to answer is “How long can you stay?”All hotel guests at Four Winds Hotel have access to the following amenities: * Fitness center* Complimentary and valet parking* Smoking and non-smoking rooms* Room serviceSome of the special features you’ll find in Four Winds’ hotel rooms include:* Exquisite nature views* Granite counter tops* Leather wrapped headboards* Serta® Presidential Suite beds* Oversized 20 pound bath sheets and robes* Flat screen Sony Bravia® high-definition televisions* Coffee maker and complimentary Starbucks® coffee* High speed Internet access* Iron and ironing board* Hair dryer ... more   less 
Also Known As:
4 Winds Casino Resort
Four Winds Hotel New Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing