We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ambiance and tranquility to perfection...x”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mas Alegre

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Goult, Gordes, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
MarieClai...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ambiance and tranquility to perfection...x”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by the lovely owners who we felt had become real friends by the end of the holiday. Yes, it is true to say this is a farm where you expect to have fun loving dogs who were extremely well behaved and of course cats which bring nothing but real charm and authenticity to this wonderful home. The house is adequately equipped and has all that you require but if you need anything more both Patricia and her mother were more than helpful in providing for you...you only need to ask...we enjoyed beautiful afternoons by the spectacular pool with breath taking views over the surrounding countryside and the walks around the farm were an added bonus. We also spent two wonderful soirees with the family on their terrace and enjoyed some excellent home cooked delights and some rather good wine of course.We would highly recommend this holiday home and accept it for its authentic charm while experiencing a real feel for French living along side a very relaxing holiday...We will be back again next year...A bientot...xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere and ambiance along side the pool and views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jac G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rubbish for a too high price! Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Since 1978 we rent a house for holiday in summertime in France every year. We are very sorry to say now, that we never ever rented a house with so many lacks as holidayletting/tripadvisor offered us . And for such an amount! Eleven hundred euro’s a week! We got the strong impression you never saw or controlled this house.
So please do not tell us we have to contact the owner. You are sesponsible for letting!
On your website nothing has been mentioned about barking dogs (5), crying cats (many), continuously shouting cocks, and people who live and work there. We expected a restful place, some quietness, it was noise all the time. Actually the holidayhome is not standing free, it is part of a house. There is also a cheesemakery. The holidayhome you only can reach by a rather high, steep and narrow concrete staircase. The so called ‘terrace’ is very narrow, not one comfortable chair, neither in the room. It looks all shabby, cheap, poor, incomplete. Different things don’t work. The kitchen as well as the bed– and bathrooms are incomplete. And so on, and so on...
What we best liked was the swimming pool (however not always private!) and the view. No one could damage that!
Won’t it be reasonable holidaylettings consider to return us a part of the rent after what for us was an awful experience?!
We really are very disappointed and you surely can imagine that the reliability of your worldwide organisation has become very doubtful for us.
So in our opinion is € 1.100,—a week far to much for what is offered, even it is high season. It is clear we shall not recommend this holiday rental to anyone!
We hope your organisation shall pay full attention to our remarks. This review is based on our own experience and is our genuine opinion of this property.

J. Geel
T.G. Geel-Holm
Patrijzenhof 200
3755 EX EEMNES
NETHERLANDS.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Swimming pool. And the view! No one could damage that
Liked least: See what is mentioned above
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKingLond...
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rustic charm on a farm!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Alegria and her daughter Patrice gave us a very warm welcome to Mas Alegre, offering wine and cherries on our arrival. While the apartment is on a farm, with the family staying in a larger building to the rear, it offers great privacy - we spent a lot of time on the balcony, which has a table and chairs, barbecue, and amazing views across the valley. The apartment is in a very old building, so it is rustic rather than slick. The kitchen is well-equipped and there are two shower rooms. The weather was very warm when we were there, and Patrice kindly brought a fan round.
You really need to be fond of animals - we loved making friends with them - there is an abundance of cats, five friendly dogs, chickens, and in another field a horse and goats. Imagine swimming in the pool watched by puzzled cats, with puppies play fighting nearby and goats nibbling grass in the field a few metres away - great fun.
Don't miss the goats cheese that Patrice makes - its delicious.
Beware the TripAdvisor map isn't quite accurate - the Mas is driving rather than walking distance from Goult, but still very well placed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the balcony. And the welcome.
Liked least: The warmth - the apartment isn't air conditioned, but the pool helped us cool off.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claire595...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2018
Merci beaucoup pour votre appréciation. Il faut dire que vous êtes arrivée, déjà enthousiaste avec un regard curieux et attentif bien agréables.
Je serais très contente de vous recevoir encore et encore.
A bientôt Alegria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yz_p24
Marseille, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Merci !
Le plaisir de vous avoir a été partagé et le mas est prêt à vous accueillir quand vous voudrez .
A bientôt Alegria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTour...
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Merci à vous qui avez apporté avec vos enfants et votre façon de gérer cette canicule, un grand amour de la vie bien partagé. Une bien belle rencontre !
Nous continuerons à partager la beauté qui nous entoure.
Soyez heureux
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roving704...
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
Je vous remercie pour vos commentaires et ce fut une rencontre très jolie, à renouveler avec grand plaisir.
A bientôt j'espère, les automnes ici sont merveilleux
Alegria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing