We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect lunch”
Review of Cafe de la Poste

Cafe de la Poste
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Goult
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect lunch”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I were touring and made a stop for lunch at Cafe de la Post and had an amazing lunch. The gazpacho was so fresh and flavorful and I had ravioli with
mushroom sauce that was one of the best dishes we have tasted so far in Provence. We watched as other dishes were served and they all looked very good. This is a casual bistro with wonderful food. Worth the trip!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    133
    33
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super AGAIN!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We can't count how many times we've come here for lunch over the past 8 years during our annual visits to Provence. The quality of the food, atmosphere, people watching, and complete experience rate higher than the allowed rating of 5/5. Of course we love that waiters & owners recognize us each year - not many places connect with their clientele. Madame always comes over to ask if we liked the preparation, she explains the ingredients and asks for input - as if it could be improved? This is a place where you can order outside your comfort zone & know that whatever you choose will be prepared perfectly and you will love it. Plan to arrive at the stroke of noon, or make reservations - the secret is out and you'll miss a wonderful meal if you assume a space.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stop and relax”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We discovered Goult on our latest trip to France -- the most authentic town in the Luberon area of Provence. Goult is small enough to avoid swarms of tourists, but large enough to offer a number of nice restaurants, a market, good wine store, etc. In other words, the ideal location for a stay in the hills of Provence.

Cafe de la Post is 'The Place to Go' in Goult for breakfast, lunch or a glass of wine at the end of the day. The food is simple and good, and the standard 'vin blanc' was always tasty. Service is friendly and fun, even during the weekend rush. Settle back into the ambiance of the town square and watch the people go by. My wife and I loved it.

They stay open late but do not serve dinner. The La Terrasse restaurant was excellent, and is just down the street. The 'Fine Herbes' and 'Le Cariollon' restaurants are also nearby. (Reservations are typically needed in the high season.)

A photos is attached showing the small Goult town square with Cafe de la Poste on the left.

Mark Hays

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Really liked this Cafe, food is not fancy but really fresh ingredients and just perfect for breakfast/lunch, lots of locals eat here which is a good sign, the staff were happy and eager to help even though our french is not that good, we had no problems but plenty of laughs ! I loved sitting outside the weather was just perfect as is Goult, I would recommend this Cafe as its good value, good food and good service.

I cannot wait to return to Goult, beautiful place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Recommended by the local people”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

A simple brasserie, but the one to go to if you ask the local people. It's only open during lunch and reservations are needed during summer. There is a big parking in front which is handy.
Service is ok, food is not fancy but good. All ingredients are fresh and there is a huge menu with a lot of suggestions, so everybody will find something he or she likes. It's also ok with children, but the options are limited to steak.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de la Poste also viewed

 

Been to Cafe de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing