We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude rude rude”
Review of Maison Bru - CLOSED

Maison Bru
Price range: $55 - $235
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude rude rude”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went there two days ago. It was my child's first birthday as it happens and we went with another couple. The waitresses made it very clear to us from the outset that they were in a hurry and didn't have time for us. These people were so rude it was almost comical.

It was not just one waitress, it was both of them. I must say it was probably about the rudest service I have ever received.

Food was ok - nothing that special. Probably a bit over priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jcmlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    27
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blanden, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bad Hotel/Super Restaurant”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Maison Bru is a bit of a mixed Bru.

Eventually I gave it a good rating because the food at dinner was really SUBLIME.
Warm flavours. The cuisine of the Provence is in Maison Bru at it's best.
We chose a tasting menu which consisted of many many dishes, but all pretty small sizes, so you never get the feeling you are gonna have to eat too much.

The winemenu is superb and it wasn't really hard to chose a lovely white Burgundy to accompany this exquisite dinner.

The service is very very attentive. Lovely garden terrace. warm atmosphere. candles. Luxury.
Superlatives for this fine evening.

I wish i could be as positive about the hotel, however the service leaves alot to be desired.
We had to wait 3 hours before we could get into our rooms. In a very hot and dusty hotel lobby, without any explanation and one small little coffee.
The rooms were nice, but a bit cool and the fake grass outside the terrace, really is terrible.

We'll be back...but only for dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the starts of Michelin”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

High level dinner , mixing "nouvelle cuisine" with local ingredients. The dishes resemble the paintings of the impressionists.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unfair Criticism - amazing food and acceptable service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our second visit to Maison Bru and the food was as equally fantastic as our first visit, exquisite flavours and combinations of texture presentation. The service was efficient and unobtrusive - we have eaten in many one and two Michelin Starred restaurants and the service at Maison Bru was certainly on a par to many of the others we have visited, our only comment was that the sommelier seemed to lack confidence but that may be more to our lack of ability to speak french fluently and therefore his having to speak to us in English. We were also given a lift home as we had walked from the village to dine - we felt this was above and beyond good service! Many thanks Suzy and the Team.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible service. Overpriced food and lodgings”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have never seen such arrogant people as the owners and waiters of this place. Terribly bad taste. Noisy clients. Food and rooms much overpriced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Magali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison Bru also viewed

Eygalieres, Bouches-du-Rhone
Eygalieres, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Eygalieres, Bouches-du-Rhone
Eygalieres, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing