We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold comfort farm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Vieux Chateau
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aiguines
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cold comfort farm”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

What a model of rudeness! We called ahead from Moustiers to ask about a room for the night. We were told in reassuring tones that they had availability. The arrangement was that we would come over and have a look. No indication was given that we might need to hurry or reserve. When we arrived, the manager, who had taken the call, listened to us and then walked slowly over to the bar, where he proceeded to turn pages in a large book. As the pages moved, so his head began to move, shaking from side to side. He returned to tell us the there was nothing available, without a hint of regret. When we reminded him that we had called, he told us in a clipped, schoolmasterly tone that we had called sometime ago, and stood staring at us. Was it smugness or indifference that held his face so tight? Although it was clear that we were now without anywhere to stay at 8pm, our new friend did not condescend to offer any advice as to alternative places, but confined himself to a perfunctory 'desolée' and let us wander out into the night. This hotel looks reasonably warm and pleasing from the outside, but take a thick coat with you if you venture into its cold interior. Alternatively, think carefully whom you might wish it upon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    18
    9
    14
See reviews for
12
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We really liked this place. It is in a very pretty French square with simple but charmingly furnished rooms. We paid extra for a room overlooking the square and took the half board deal. The food was good, simple provencal mountain fayre. The owners were polite and pleasant, if a little flustered at times. The hotel shuts up at 10pm but we didn't mind as there is very little to do in Aiguines of an evening. However it is a tranquil and pleasant base for exploring the Verdon gorge and we hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbachumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
445 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I found the lady manager sharp by demanding my card immediately I was through the door. I asked for wifi access and she said I could get it the next day as the boss was away. I asked if she could call the boss then she told me it was 5 Euro. She unable to tell me if it was for 1 hour, 1 day or all of our stay (2 nights), I said I would pay the next day; she then gave me a code for the wifi It didn't work and she gave me no answer as to why it didn't.
Based on other comments and the lady manager's rudeness, we didn't eat at the hotel, choosing to buy bread and pastries at the nearby boulangerie. Our evening meals were taken at the nearby Altitutde 823 Hotel. A good choice!
The church bells rang out the hour all day/night, along with the half hour. Not helpful for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aiguines hotels

london soho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

This hotel gave us endless problems. When we arrived it was mid-afternoon and we couldn't check in until 5, the room that we were eventually given was by no means a 'superieur' room that we had paid for. We asked to be moved as we looked out the back of the hotel onto a wall and we had paid for a room with a view and all we got was a small room at the back with bars on the window. The manager was incredibly rude, quickly turning agressive. He doesn't seem to want to run a hotel - just a restaurant. The next morning the breakfast was passable, even if the service was terrible - we waited 15 mins for orange juice. However the next morning before we checked out we were denied even this. Apparently if you want breakfast you have to have dinner at the hotel the night before! There were non-hotel guests eating breakfast but we were not served. We paid our over-priced bill and left. It seems that if you don't complain and do what they tell you and sit where they tell you then they are reasonably nice but the moment you make any requests (as is your right in a hotel) they are incredibly rude and agressive and told us if we don't like it then go somewhere else and our room will be filled almost immediately! Please don't stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — possibility of arguments
  • Disliked — possibility of arguments
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank livvyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Half the fun is getting there, we drove the 2 hours from Nice airport and noted all the little villages and wineries along the way to visit over the next few days. We came primarily to photograph the lavender fields and relax in the country. Hotel du Vieux Chateau was the perfect little hotel and Aiguines, although tiny, is so charming.

TIP: Drive up to the fountain in front of the hotel and drop off your bags, then park back down the way you came. If you are unable to carry bags up stairs, ask for a lower room upon reservation or I am sure they will help. Our room was very basic, but good value for the money, with quite a large bathroom. We were on the top floor with a tiny window with a view of the town square below and just above the lake. Another bit of advice, if you are a light sleeper, be forewarned that the town clock goes off ALL night. We were torn between keeping the window closed to block the noise, or having fresh air as it was July.

Meals are 1/2 board. Don't bother with breakfast as it is just tea/
coffee/toast/jam. Instead walk 25 ft to Autour de la Table and buy their wonderful chevre frais and then pop up the stairs to the boulangerie just down the street and buy a lovely fresh baguette. The first night we had the set dinner, it was fine, but you are limited in your choices obviously. Second evening we ate at the restaurant just around the bend - Altitude 823 (Aiguine's altitude). We had the local meat stew called Daube. Described here by Wikipedia: "Daube provençale is a stew made with cubed beef braised in wine, vegetables, garlic, and herbes de provence. Variations also call for olives, prunes, and flavoring with duck fat, vinegar, brandy, lavender, nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves, juniper berries, or orange peel." It was so good, that the next night we ate back at the Chateau and asked for a la carte and had their version of Daube - wonderful!.

If you are wine lovers, please visit Domaine Saint Jean de Villecroze. Just about 10 min drive from hotel. Wonderful reds...and so reasonably priced. The town of Villecroze itself is yet another charming locale. Visit the park where they built the grottoes, nice place to picnic and take children - play area for them.

Overall staff were friendly and accomodating, dinners were good, breakfast just carbs and caffeine..location wonderful.

  • Liked — Location and charm of Aiguines
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Riviera
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel.
When we called to book our room, the manager told us we wouldn't find anywhere else to eat around the village, and that it would be more convenient to get a half-board accommodation, so we trusted him. In reality, there are restaurants and nice places around, so we were kind of disappointed by that. I think this way of doing is really far from being elegant.
When we arrived, around 5pm, the room wasn't ready yet (the usual check-in time is around 11am!); the manager told us it would be ready, half-an hour later. We didn't mind, because we went for a walk around the village.
When we got our room, we noticed we could hear everything the customers next door were saying, so we asked the manager if we could have another, quieter, room. He told us none was available, and that the only left had no heating; in fact, there were less than a dozen clients in the hotel.
The breakfast was really not that great; the croissant didn't come from a bakery, but tasted like an industrial one you can find in supermarkets. I asked for an espresso, for which I had to pay an extra-charge (we had the choice between American coffee, tea or chocolate).
The dinner on our first night was very good, but the second was frankly not that fabulous - what's more, we weren't allowed to sit where we had chosen, "in case a table of 8 would arrive to have dinner", the lady said (obviously, no table of 8 arrived; the village is indeed very calm, and it was no surprise to us).
The place itself is very pleasant, and the room, although it was definitely not soundproof, was fine when our neighbours left.
The village is quiet and you can visit beautiful places around.
We sometimes had the feeling we were just here to leave some money, and were disappointed by the fact we were often left no choice - for the half-board, for the choice of the room, for the choice of the table where we wanted to eat, or for the check-in time, or for the moment when we wanted to check out (we wanted to pay right after our last breakfast in the hotel, the lady told us she wanted us to pay when we were leaving)
In a nutshell, our stay could have been really pleasant; but the lack of elegance and hospitality of the staff somehow spoiled it. It is really too bad, because we would have liked to go back there. We won't.
BUT we will go back in this region for sure, because it's really worth it!

  • Liked — The architecture, the place itself
  • Disliked — The lack of hospitality of the lady manager, and the fact that the rooms are not soundproof
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abracadacoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We found this property in a travel guide book and decided to check it out. We were doing a round trip car tour of Provence starting and finishing in Nice. This little town is perfect if travelling through the Gorges du Verdon for a one or two night stay. We were there for only one night, but enjoyed ourselves immensely. The hotel supplied both dinner (ample helpings) and breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and the view of the lake was hard to beat. Both the host and his mother were very friendly and helpful (although she had very little English). Very charming.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bontaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aiguines
1.8 mi away
Auberge des Salles
Auberge des Salles
#1 of 2 in Les-Salles-sur-Verdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.6 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Bastide du Paradou
La Bastide du Paradou
#6 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux Chateau

Property: Hotel du Vieux Chateau
Address: Place de la Fontaine, 83630 Aiguines, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Aiguines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aiguines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Vieux Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vieux Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux Chateau France/Aiguines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing