We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Vieux Chateau
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aiguines
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The good: The staff were friendly and the owner spoke decent English. The rooms are a good size and very clean, if a bit rustically decorated. Because the hotel is old, the rooms are very quiet. A group of cyclists arrived in the middle of a massive thunderstorm and were welcomed straight in to change and get warmed up. The seated area outside the hotel is a very pleasant place to drink and eat.
Could be improved: We went for the half board and wished we hadn't as the food is only moderate and there are a couple of other places in the villages that looked very good. We were on the side so we didn't have a view. As far as we could tell none of the rooms has an amazing view as the hotel overlooks the square

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevevoidstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    18
    9
    14
See reviews for
11
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We've stayed here twice now and we wouldn't have gone back if we hadn't liked it, we've also recommended it to friends. It's not a luxury hotel, it's a good value small hotel with decent food in an attractive village location. It's a quiet village and sitting with a beer or a glass of wine next to the fountain is a very pleasant way to while away a few hours.
You can't compare it with a big luxury hotel but it's very good for what it is.
You're near the Gorge de Verdon and the lake is only 10 minutes away where you can hire pedalos and canoes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whiskydram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Mostly positives. Despite some concerns based on experiences described in other reviews, we were treated with courtesy and friendliness at every turn. The setting of the hotel is great: you are directly on the small village square overlooking the fountain and the hotel's outdoor cafe tables. The church also faces the same square and it does have bells that ring in the usual French way, but they seemed to stop about 9 or 10 PM. Free parking was readily available on the street a very short walk away and the car could pull up to the hotel's main doors for luggage loading and unloading. We did demi-pension and found our dinners to be be very good. The breakfasts were modest but nothing tasted to us like it came from the supermarket. Quite the contrary. Drawbacks: for most rooms, you will have to navigate some steep stairs. If you get a view room (we did), the view is very pretty Lake St. Croix in the distance, the local chateau and the town square nearer), but the distant view is only over the top of an adjacent building that blocks most of the view, and the window is configured such that you kind of have to squat down and lean forward through the window to really benefit from the view. The room was reasonably good-sized and the bathroom bigger than normal, although the room was modest and a little worn, but entirely consistent with the hotel's two-star rating. If you arrive with realistic two-star expectations, you will like this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hcajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

We loved this charming hotel. The staff was warm, friendly and lots of fun. We felt we had personal attention and the food was wonderful. The room was comfortable and location great for hiking and touring the canyon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlbp1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

What a model of rudeness! We called ahead from Moustiers to ask about a room for the night. We were told in reassuring tones that they had availability. The arrangement was that we would come over and have a look. No indication was given that we might need to hurry or reserve. When we arrived, the manager, who had taken the call, listened to us and then walked slowly over to the bar, where he proceeded to turn pages in a large book. As the pages moved, so his head began to move, shaking from side to side. He returned to tell us the there was nothing available, without a hint of regret. When we reminded him that we had called, he told us in a clipped, schoolmasterly tone that we had called sometime ago, and stood staring at us. Was it smugness or indifference that held his face so tight? Although it was clear that we were now without anywhere to stay at 8pm, our new friend did not condescend to offer any advice as to alternative places, but confined himself to a perfunctory 'desolée' and let us wander out into the night. This hotel looks reasonably warm and pleasing from the outside, but take a thick coat with you if you venture into its cold interior. Alternatively, think carefully whom you might wish it upon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aiguines hotels

London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We really liked this place. It is in a very pretty French square with simple but charmingly furnished rooms. We paid extra for a room overlooking the square and took the half board deal. The food was good, simple provencal mountain fayre. The owners were polite and pleasant, if a little flustered at times. The hotel shuts up at 10pm but we didn't mind as there is very little to do in Aiguines of an evening. However it is a tranquil and pleasant base for exploring the Verdon gorge and we hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbachumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
423 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

I found the lady manager sharp by demanding my card immediately I was through the door. I asked for wifi access and she said I could get it the next day as the boss was away. I asked if she could call the boss then she told me it was 5 Euro. She unable to tell me if it was for 1 hour, 1 day or all of our stay (2 nights), I said I would pay the next day; she then gave me a code for the wifi It didn't work and she gave me no answer as to why it didn't.
Based on other comments and the lady manager's rudeness, we didn't eat at the hotel, choosing to buy bread and pastries at the nearby boulangerie. Our evening meals were taken at the nearby Altitutde 823 Hotel. A good choice!
The church bells rang out the hour all day/night, along with the half hour. Not helpful for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aiguines
1.8 mi away
Auberge des Salles
Auberge des Salles
#1 of 2 in Les-Salles-sur-Verdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.6 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Bastide du Paradou
La Bastide du Paradou
#6 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux Chateau

Property: Hotel du Vieux Chateau
Address: Place de la Fontaine, 83630 Aiguines, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Aiguines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aiguines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Vieux Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vieux Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux Chateau France/Aiguines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing