We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb”
Review of Le Gabarier

Le Gabarier
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 28, 2018

We went here last year while in France and so returned...we love the 'menu du jour'...last year we got 3 courses for 12.99 euros but this year it was 16.99 euros and still good value. A good range including a meat dish and a fish dish ...the white asparagus in a sauce was superb and the soupe de fraises was wonderful. We had 2 visits this year...we will be back. The only gripe was the price of un cafe grand...they doubled the cost of the petit and coffees in France are small.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Airmilesfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 173 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2017

This restaurant offers al fresco dining on the terrace or on cooler days, the option of eating in the big, square-set dining room that feels pleasantly old- fashioned. The staff deliver impressively reliable service and good food at a reasonable price. The family-owned establishment is popular with locals and can get busy on high days and holidays, but that's hardly surprising given the standard of the food on offer. There is usually space to park in the square, opposite, and after you have savoured three well-cooked, traditional courses and feel replete, you can wander down to the river and enjoy a stroll.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ErnestWordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We live nearby and have got to know this restaurant over many years. So it is always good to call in and speak to the owner.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TonySaffieDavidCharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

We have been here a few times now for lunch and each time the menu has changed and is excellent. The a la carte selection is also very good. A good selection of wines too. The service is friendly. Best to book as they are busy lunchtime.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank TeresaL261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

We have now eaten at this excellent restaurant several times and each visit has been a delight. The day lunch menu is changed daily with three choices for each course. Today we ordered from the alacart menu. Yet again all was fantastic. The chef is a masterful , presentation beautiful. It's always busy which is not surprising given the Michelin star level of quality provided at this establishment , so it pays to book your table as we always do. Fabulous keep up the great work

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gabarier also viewed

Port d'Envaux, Charente-Maritime
Taillebourg, Charente-Maritime
 
Saint-Savinien, Charente-Maritime
Saint Savinien sur Charente, Charente-Maritime
 
Port d'Envaux, Charente-Maritime
Taillebourg, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le Gabarier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing