We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curate's egg”
Review of Les Orangeries

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Orangeries
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Curate's egg”
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The pool & the garden at the rear are certainly delightful. We had a room overlooking & hence had a quiet stay. I certainly wouldn't recommend a room at the front which I imagine would be pretty noisy. A great deal of cash has clearly been spent renovating the place. Our room was spacious & clean with beautiful curtains and a firm but comfortable double bed. The bathroom was however rather cramped. There was a shower OVER the bath rather than a proper shower. In addition, as a 6' 1" man, I found the bath too narrow, for it to be a relaxing experience.
As others have observed, the hotel restaurant is pretty expensive & offers no real choice. For whatever reason I craved an omlette & salad on arrival, which would seem a simple enough request but it was not available! The 2 course evening meal we did have, from the set menu was variable. The main course of Lamb we both had was tough but the desserts were excellent. Breakfast was OK - but slightly "fussy" & expensive for what was offered.

Unfortunately the local pizza restaurant - which looked interesting, was closed for the 2 nights we visited.

So with some reservations I will recommend - but ensure you take a room at the back overlooking the pool/garden & I would avoid their restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polypropylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    63
    23
    11
    1
See reviews for
59
82
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

On our way home through France we spotted the hotel and were captivated enough to investigate. After following the back streets to gain access to the car park (via intercom) we pass the swimming pool and imaculate gardens towards the old restored back doors and into the historic entrance hall, antiques and charm. Oh yes, and oranges.

The receptionist was very friendly & spoke better English than our French and was happy to show us the two rooms available, both recent refurbishments. Our room overlooked the main road but was fairly quiet, very large and a nice mix of restoration and comfortable design. The bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom was large and nicely finished with a raised platform for the bath, somewhat odd was the porthole that looked out onto the landing at eye line when laying in the bath. I was happy to note that it was in a railed off area so no unexpected observers. Nice towels and plenty of them.

We did not eat at the hotel restaurant electing to try 'the' Italian pizza restaurant, which was fine and very busy in the town centre.

Sadly we were only passing through and would have liked more time to enjoy the hotel, we will return on our next trip through France.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H4rlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2008

After a disasterious journey, (we were supposed to be staying in a hotel in Rochechouart) we realized that we were not going to make it and turned up on the door step of this hotel at about 9:45pm. They were very welcoming, and were even able to feed us hot soup, despite the time. The room was beautiful with the hospitality to match.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUINANDIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We stayed here in July with our two small children.

Lovely freindly hotel beautiful gardens and pool area and nice rooms - we had a family room which was very large.

Dinner was very expensive and pretty basic - breakfast was excellent though but not included.

overall we had a good stay but the price hurt!

  • Liked — Very pretty
  • Disliked — dinner
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tappuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Having read a glowing review in the Sunday Times we were looking forward to our brief stay. The hotel is small and pleasant, rustic styling takes precedence over comfort. Situated on a busy main road, I would imagine that rooms at the front will be noisy, our room overlooking the garden was simple but nice. Evening eating is rather hobsons choice, unless you want pizza you will have to eat in the hotel. Our meal was somewhat expensive for a simple set three course dinner with no choices, and breakfast was very basic indeed. All in all we didn't think it lived up to the rave reviews, we thought it over priced and over hyped. It seems wherever you see an 'eco' or 'green' label these days you will end up paying an unjustified premium.

  • Liked — Rustic & tasteful
  • Disliked — Rather stuffy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteevieBSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We had seen this hotel by an internet search of the area. We decided to call in on chance and were shown to a double room on the first floor and decided to take it. It was a beautifully decorated room with 4-poster bed and reasonably sized with wooden floors. The view from the bedroom window was over the gardens which were beautiful. As we were at the rear of the hotel, we did not hear the traffic on the main road. The bathroom was narrow but beautifully furnished and spotless. Nice touches in there and a seperate toilet. The staff were wonderfully pleasant and helpful and could not be faulted. We enjoyed drinks outside in the hotel gardens overlooking a pretty, rectangular swimming pool. There were plenty of garden chairs and loungers and it wasn't too busy as the hotel only has about 6 bedrooms and some suites. Inside, there was an upstairs pool room (didn't see/use), a very comfortable lounge area and board games available. Evening meal was delicious and we took it outside with the other guests. Mainly organic and local produce used. The range of cheeses was superb at the end of the meal (on a huge tray). Being vegetarian, I was given a tasty meal also. Breakfast was tasty with the hotels homemade orange jam and some croissants and pain chocolait. There was a secure parking area for the car with automatic gates. A very pleasant experience and would definately stay here again. We only stayed one night unfortunately.

  • Liked — The pleasant garden surroundings
  • Disliked — can't think of anything!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoondanceMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Very good hotel, excellent pool, gardens and rooms. Service v. good. The town was completely dead on a Saturday night, which can be a good thing depending on what you want from your holiday. Breakfast a bit pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lussac les Chateaux
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Montespan
Hotel Le Montespan
#2 of 2 in Lussac les Chateaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
16.6 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hotel Val de Vienne
Hotel Val de Vienne
#1 of 1 in Le Vigeant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel le Lion d'Or
Hotel le Lion d'Or
#1 of 2 in Chauvigny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
18.7 mi away
ACE Hotel Poitiers
ACE Hotel Poitiers
#4 of 36 in Poitiers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Orangeries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Orangeries

Property: Les Orangeries
Address: 12 avenue du Docteur Dupont, 86320 Lussac les Chateaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Lussac les Chateaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lussac les Chateaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Orangeries 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the 20 best European hotels for its charm, its commitment to the environment and its unique setting at the heart of the touristic Poitou, the Orangeries offers a new art of country living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Les Orangeries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Orangeries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing