We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find - but worth it!”
Review of Les Orangeries

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Orangeries
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We’d had the foresight to book a room overlooking the garden; I’m told the roadside bedrooms are pretty noisy. The receptionist was friendly and helpful, the room comfortable with splendid ‘his and hers’ sinks in the bathroom. The pool looked inviting but we were just passing through. The hotel and restaurant proclaim their green credentials, with locally sourced dishes and wines, well prepared. The breakfast was a bit uninspiring, almost a bit of an afterthought, expensive for what it was. A sympathetically restored old building with many lovely touches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mollymaggoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 212 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was a good find. Lovely hotel with lovely garden, pool and restaurant. We really enjoyed our 2 evening meals outside on warm summer nights and LOVED the breakfasts, also set outside. It is definitely worth visiting to taste the local honey. (Shame we could not buy any). We had an interesting room especially as there was no cupboard space to put any clothes away. We also would have liked an owner or manager to introduce themselves and welcome us. Also the pool was freezing as the water is not heated, another shame. Even so we did enjoy our stay there.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank MelanieStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Found this hotel by accident and were very pleased that we did. Though we did not require accommodation due to the Bank Holiday weekend of Bastille we were looking for somewhere to eat. Unlike most French restaurants, in a rural area, this was not closed on the Sunday evening. Thought a little understated from the main road and with no signs for parking apparent I ventured inside and after going through a very darkly lit restaurant area came across the terrace where food was being served.
We had not made a reservation and were warmly welcomed and promptly seated. Most people dining seemed to be staying at the Hotel. The terrace was covered and tables were set and inviting.
The food was adequate and beautifully served. They could do with adding a little more choice, with only three starters, main course and dessert to choose from. The nibbles served were a nice touch and welcome addition whilst choosing our meal. The food being of local produce and the wine list intensive. The waitress was friendly and all staff were well trained and attentive and even though we were the last people left in the dining area were not in a hurry to rush us.
The price of the meal was reasonable and like most French restaurants was based on how many courses you required, with cheese additional.
The building is lovely and the gardens beautiful and from the outside you would not know this hidden gem existed amongst the other surrounding buildings.

Room Tip: Parking at the rear of the hotel through a gated area, this is very tight if you have a large vehicl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citytraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We haven't been away together in four years, and I was looking for somewhere special for one night. Price was immaterial - I wanted a lovely meal, a super atmosphere, and excellent quality bedrooms, and well trained staff. I was extremely happy with my choice - and as I enjoyed the 35 metre swimming pool at my leisure mid afternoon with orange and lemon trees on each side, I thought "this is a bit of heaven". Our meal in the evening was perfect in every way, with a fabulous local wine and a very personable and attentive waitress. We slept beautifully, had a great breakfast. A small mistake on the bill was rectified without question and speedily.

If you wanted desperately to find fault (and some people do I have noticed) then our bedroom could do with some better lamps and the addition of some nice framed pictures, perhaps a good quality area carpet, and a radio/CD player ... but perhaps the owners are getting around to those extra touches in their own time. The public rooms and the garden are huge ... and very comfortable ... and no doubt improvements are on-going.

I was very happy with our stay here and it was definitely the right way to start a week's holiday in the area. We were bound for a week of flying lessons nearby (at Wanafly) and that was great, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room out onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelier1Bakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Beautiful building, beautiful grounds but you feel as if it is still work in progress inside the buildings...
In the centre of the village which is good as the 12.50 euros breakfast is not good value.
Breakfast: 1 small glass of fresh orange juice is brought to you, choice of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, a small basket of croissants, pains au chocolat is brought to your table and then you can help yourself to bread, cereals, there is a large a pot of yoghurt to help yourself to, a few bits of cheese, ham and some homemade jam; not good value!
Our room had a view on the lovely outdoor pool but was small and dark.
The bathroom was narrow and if you are over 6feet tall you would struggle to fit in the sunken bath.
The bed was very comfortable but overall the room looked tired.
Worth noting: They have converted the attic into a games room with 2 billiard tables and there are some sofas to relax into and a few board games.

At 135 euros for a double room I felt it was expensive for what we got.

Dinner was good but it is a menu du jour they serve so very limited in choice. The food was lovely. Wine was expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street can be noisy and are slightly cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pinner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed here for one night on our way through France as part of a five night road trip. Really beautiful building, welll decorated with lovely garden and attractive pool. Room was nice but quite simple. Dinner was good and our waiter was charming and knowledgable, recommending really good wine. I would say that the menu was limited which, in itself, is fine but if you're going to have a short, simple menu make sure you cater for as many tastes as possible - it needed something for those that enjoy hearty, meaty dishes.

Service at breakfast was poor to be honest, but maybe we just caught them at a bad time.

Having been travelling for a while, I wanted to iron some trousers but was told there wasn't an iron available. It might have been better had they made an effort to find one for me - particularly as the dreaded 'Corby trouser press' wasn't working. The only other observation was that there seemed to be an awful lot of notices around the hotel about the environment and the business's commitment to it. It often felt that there was quite a lot of sanctimonious propaganda being force-fed to us. Fine, look after the environment and act responsibly but I was there for a holiday not a lecture!

Had it not been for the excellent waiter at dinner and the lovely buildings and garden I would be giving a much harsher review. It would need to improve for me to return I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Make sure you're on the garden sdie as opposed to the road side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borderlaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Comfortable rooms in a gorgeous setting. I have now stayed at Les Orangeries a few times as it is conveniently located near some local friends. I was in the newer wing on my most recent stay and while it was not as charming as my previous rooms in the main part of the hotel, it was clean, comfortable and quiet. The gardens are beautiful and peaceful and the pool a cool and welcome respite from the summer heat. Whether you are planning a visit to the area or just stopping along the way between Paris and other parts of France, Les Orangeries offers a wide variety of accommodations to suit your needs.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main section of the hotel, overlooking the garden. The rooms are lovely and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pab324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lussac les Chateaux
16.6 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Montespan
Hotel Le Montespan
#2 of 2 in Lussac les Chateaux
25 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Val de Vienne
Hotel Val de Vienne
#1 of 1 in Le Vigeant
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Montmorillon
56 reviews
12.0 mi away
Le Chalet Fleuri
Le Chalet Fleuri
#2 of 2 in Chauvigny
34 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel les Deux Porches
Hotel les Deux Porches
#1 of 1 in Verrieres
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Orangeries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Orangeries

Address: 12 avenue du Docteur Dupont, 86320 Lussac les Chateaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Lussac les Chateaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lussac les Chateaux
Price Range: $98 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Orangeries 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the 20 best European hotels for its charm, its commitment to the environment and its unique setting at the heart of the touristic Poitou, the Orangeries offers a new art of country living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Les Orangeries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Orangeries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing