We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Restaurant Karina
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jarnac
Horndon-on-the-Hill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 night at Maison Karina to celebrate my 50th birthday. We had a most wonderful stay. Owners Nikki and Austin are fab hosts nothing is too much trouble . The food was the best. We had lovely fish dinners every night, really recommend the salmon shashimi starter, and if you stay on a friday night they do fish and chips made with the best cod I have eaten ( And being a Norwegian that is a lot of cod ! ) . The chef even made me a lovely chocolate birtday cake! We stayed in the newly renovated Champagne room which was very comfortable. We will be back !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    6
    16
    7
See reviews for
24
38
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I travelled to the hotel from La Rochelle airport (1hr 10 mins with a careful driver) and was liking the scenery. As it got better and better we were nearing Hotel Karina. What a superb place! We we're greated by the owners, NIkki and Austin, and within minutes it was as if we had known them for years. I travelled with my wife and two boys (9 and 7) and rarely saw my children. They were playing with other kids and it was not cool to be with Mum and Dad!

The room we were in was superb, as was the standard of the hotel. My favourite place was the bar as it has been tastefully renovated and exudes charm, as has the rest of the Hotel.

There is so much to do in the area and we went to so many places which were recommended by Nikki and Austin that we will definitely return. We loved it!!!!

Room Tip: Email Hotel with your situation and they will ensure you have the best option. Order drinks one hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz12161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

A warm welcome, a comfortable bed.
An ice-cold pineau de Charentes aperitif and an excellent dinner. The calves liver main course was exquisite!
Breakfast was served in the sunny courtyard - hot croissants and home-made bread and preserves.
The only drawback was that we didn't allow enough time to enjoy the swimming pool!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We only stayed for one night en route to Carcassonne, but what a find! Nicki and Austin were great hosts - felt like old friends. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was superb. I can see why people return year after year, and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Such a lovely hotel, run by such a lovely couple!
Wonderful food from morning til night. We didnt have enough time at the hotel to sample everything and have decided to go back again just for the menu!
The room was spacious and more than comfortable - in fact, we had too much sleep due to the large comfy bed!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We wanted a hotel close to a great, but small, Cognac distillery at Neuviq le Chateau.

We learnt that the distiller visited the restaurant regularly and this in itself was a great recommendaiton.

We were made very welcome by Nicki who took us to a wonderful room with plenty of space and a fully equipped bathroom.

The restaurant was very good with home cooked and very French food.

Nicki's column in a local Francophile magazine reveals some of her cooking secrets which came to the fore in the retaurant.

An excellent peaceful hotel with great hosts and food.

Very restful, far from the madding crowd yet just a few miles from the bustle of Cognac.

Room Tip: The main hotel Logis sign is well hidden by a creeper - the entrance was not easy to spot even from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

A warm welcome from Austin and Nicky who gave us a choice of rooms in there charming French hotel. We had a great steak in their stylish resturant.A good nights sleep was had in a very comfortable bed in a nice quiet room.We only stayed one night as we were on a driving tour but th hotel would have made a great base to explore the local area. The breakfast looked very good but sadly we had blown the budget on cognac and wine the night before.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarnac
6.8 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#4 of 10 in Cognac
87 reviews
5.1 mi away
L'Yeuse
L'Yeuse
#1 of 4 in Chateaubernard
272 reviews
5.8 mi away
Domaine du Breuil
Domaine du Breuil
#5 of 10 in Cognac
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Essille
6.6 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
214 reviews
7.8 mi away
Le Relais de Saint Preuil
Le Relais de Saint Preuil
#1 of 1 in Saint-Preuil
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Karina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Karina

Property: Hotel Restaurant Karina
Address: Les Metairies, 16200 Jarnac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Jarnac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jarnac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Karina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing