We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family fun in a fabulous old French...”

Review of Les Claveaux

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Copy of DSC00759
Copy of DSC00743
Copy of DSC00761
Copy (2) of DSC00763
Copy of DSC00774.JPG
Copy (2) of DSC00782.JPG
DSC_0664.JPG
This is Arcachon - wonderful beach restaurant... not the house but cool nonetheless!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hiersac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sybinson
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic family fun in a fabulous old French farmhouse”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed in this magical area of France on many occasions and this is the best place we have found, by far, be it for a romantic weekend as a couple, or for a fortnight of family fun.

Les Claveaux is one of a pair of beautiful, stone-built, three-storey properties, with an enclosed courtyard. The house is majestic and sits proudly amongst the vineyards, with spectacular views over the vines and crops towards the Charente river.

Les Claveaux offers a good mix of accommodation for adults and children, with all the amenities expected. The heated pool is safely enclosed and very private. Having spent every season in this house, we can vouch that it is a perfect place for each and every one of them, be it roaring fires in the Winter, to alfresco dining and sundowners in the Summer.

Moulidars is convenient to reach. Via car from the UK, turning off the autoroute at Angoulemes and a short cross-country drive. From the airports in a hire car, about 90 minutes comfortably to all three nearest: La Rochelle, Bordeaux and Poitiers. Being moments from Jarnac and Cognac, it is naturally handy for the Cognac Blues Festival, Fete de Cognac or just visiting any of the beautiful, history-laden towns and villages along this majestic river.

There is tennis nearby, canoeing on the river, bicycles for hire which can be delivered and collected, in the sizes to suit all ages plus plenty of walks through the fields and along the river. Bars and restaurants aplenty.

What more can you ask for in a beautiful, rural environment, that is steeped in typical French traditions?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Thanks Lisa! So happy that you enjoyed Les Claveaux. We are always sad to leave :) The summer evenings are so light we hardly had need for the courtyard lights when we were there so I'm pleased to get your feedback. We will take stock over the next months and I hope to see you back one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greywarri...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magic in Moulidars”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Les Claveaux is a charming farmhouse type accommodation full of old world character and original features as well as decent double glazing. Where to start? The beds are really comfortable and all four bedrooms are of a very good size. My family of four travelled with friends who also have two boys and Les Claveaux easily accommodated all of us. The ground floor lounge had three sofas, a flat screen TV, DVD player and Wii games console (there is also free wi-fi in the house which came in very handy) . Also on the ground floor was a double bedroom with four poster bed. You will find a downstairs wc and shower/wet room with decent water pressure !! At the back of the house and leading out into the courtyard (more of that later) was a very spacious kitchen with a large dining table that easily seated all 8 of us. Appliances included a cooker, large modern fridge freezer, washing machine and a Bosch Dishwasher. There is ample storage and worksurface space. Despite the modern appliances the kitchen decor is very much of an old french farmhouse style with a large original fireplace against one wall. The kitchen leads out onto a huge courtyard where you will find a good sized trampoline and badminton area. The courtyard is surrounded on all sides by the large outbuildings which whilst out of bounds to visitors add so much character to this property. Sitting outside in the early evening you can see the bats leaving the roofspace of the biggest barn to start their evening hunt for food. Their is large dining table in the courtyard for al fresco dining as well as a smaller table for those early morning coffees. Also in the courtyard is a lovely (12x5 metres I think) sized heated pool which we spent a lot of time in, even at night as the pool has it own lighting. There are ample sun loungers by the pool and it really is a sun trap during the day. The kids and adults loved the pool. On the first floor are another three double bedrooms, two facing the front with excellent views over the vineyards and one at the back overlooking the courtyard. The boys all shared the room overlooking the courtyard as this contained sleeping for four in two bunk beds. They all commented on how comfy their beds were. Also on the first floor is another bathroom of a very good size with double sinks. The house itself is set back slightly from the road, not that that makes any difference as their is hardly any traffic anyway. It is the courtyard buildings that back on the road and the house itself has a southerly aspect with great views. There is also a large garden to the front and side of the house. Jarnac, Cognac and Angouleme are all within half an hour away and the River Charente is due south from the house and is either a two minute car journey or 10 minute bike ride away at Vibrac where you can hire canoes or kayaks to explore the river (which we did and it was fantastic fun at a reasonable price).
To summarise I would say that if you want a taste of old France in a quiet location this would be ideal for you. The house has been deliberately left as original as possible and this is what makes it so wonderful and full of character. Don't expect highly polished tiled floors, carpets or wallpaper on the walls or modern decoration. Do expect original features, character, plenty of space, peace and quiet, comfy beds and late nights, dining outside and drinking the local wine or cognac watching the starlit sky and listening to the sound of silence. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and location of the property
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Reviewed February 24, 2010 for a stay in April 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Virginia
Reviewed February 20, 2010 for a stay in January 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Remote location within easy acccess to great food, cognac, sites
Liked least: I wish I could have been there in the summer!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing