We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Fleur de Sel”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Sel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fleur de Sel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
cornwall
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Lovely Fleur de Sel”
Reviewed July 22, 2009

This is our third trip to Fleur de Sel. We had been on a 10 day tour of France and had originally booked to stay one night but we loved the place so much we stayed for three nights.

We had a Marine room (ground floor with patio doors overlooking the lovely pool). The rooms are small but ours did have a huge bathroom and the room has a mini fridge with free soft drinks and water and an electric fan both of which are very welcome. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms have plenty of storage and a tv although only French channels are available (except for a news channel).

We booked bed and breakfast (the breakfast is the best we had in France, it is self service and you can boil your own eggs, fresh coffee/tea/chocolate is on tap along with fresh juice, cold meats, toast etc). We remembered the restaurant from previous visits and decided to eat at the hotel every night..........bliss. There is the choice of booking Dinner bed and breakfast, this option means you have ot stick to the set menu for Dinner, so we opted for Bed & Breakfast and ordered from the a la carte, this is the best option and in some cases is cheaper.

Free wifi is available in the hotel reception area for laptops and there is a computer available too. There is also a useful laundry although you are charged an unbelievable 9 euros for a wash and dry. Tennis courts and bike hire are also available.

We hired bikes and went to the local plage for the day, the beach is wonderful with great restaurants on site and about a five minute bike ride from the hotel. The hotel is about a 3 minute ride to the village where there are a huge selection of bars and restaurants.

Our bill was over 800 euros for the three nights with dinner bed and breakfast, it is no longer cheap but the food is wonderful and the location is lovely.

We will be back very soon (sorry bank balance).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackcornish1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    97
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
60
176
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CHANNEL ISLANDS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We hadn't booked our accommodation and as my husband and I were motoring around we stopped the car and I looked on the garmin to see what accommodation was nearby. Up came this hotel which as it happened was only a few metres away. We drove into the car park and I immediately felt that I would like to stay there. The receptionist was very pleasant and allocated us a ground floor room. This was perfect as there was a door from the carpark which led almost straight into our room. French windows in our room slid back and we were in the grounds near the swimming pool It was like having our own apartment. The pool was superb and warm. Sunloungers around the edge. A few tables were outside near the pool so we could have a snack, drink etc there. Everywhere was very clean. There was almost like a mini park at the side of the hotel if you wanted shade. The hotel even had a tennis court. It was such a relaxing hotel, I only wish we could have stayed longer. We will certainly return. We ate in the Hotel's restaurant and the meal was outstanding and the service top-class. We have eaten out at many restaurants and this is one of the best.

  • Liked — The evening meal, the room on the ground floor ideal for carrying my heavy suitcase through from car park
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChannelIslandsSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We stayed here during June 08 for one night, we will be going back as we felt the food was excellent and the accomodation was comfortable. The location is great for cycling as this is a really cycle friendly town.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woofWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

This hotel was built I would guess in the late 1970s or early 1980s. It has about 30 rooms and is built in a Ushape around the pool. The style is whitewashed walls with a large open restaurant with wood beams and plenty of light. The style is let down a little by metal framed windows.

It is situated about 5-10 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants of Noirmoutier en l'Ile in a residential area. It is blissfully quiet being on a dead end road.

We had booked a marine room. It was really quite small having a bed, bulit in wardrobe, drawer units, TV and fridge. The WC was in a very small room and the bathroom was very cosy but with room for a bath with shower fittings over and a basin. There was a patio door leading out to the garden. It had all you could want but not much space. And the standard rooms are meant to be even smaller. The bed was wide enough but not long enough for me (I'm 6 foot tall) and a little uncomfortable.

There was plenty of hot water in the morning but the water was not hot enough for a bath in the evening - and barely hot enough for a shower.

Most if not all of our fellow guests were French - we may have been the only English people there. I'm not sure how many staff speak English but this wasn't a big issue for us.

The restaurant was a very pleasant surprise. The food was interesting and very well cooked. Fish was very evident and the menu was not stuck in the sort of time warp you can find in many French country hotels. There were 3 set menus (prices ranged from E27 to E47). The wine list was short and a bit dull with mainly uninteresting local wines. Service was on the slow side.

Breakfast was a buffet (not included in the room price as noted in the previous review) with fruit salads, yoghurts, pastries, bread, boiled eggs, juice, coffee etc. Pretty good.

Reading back over this review it sounds a bit negative. Actually we very much enjoyed our stay and it was excellent value for money. Our room was E119 including tax out of season. I'm a great believer that you get what you pay for. We did not expect perfection and didn't get it. What I'm hoping to do with this review is paint a realistic picture.

Rating: 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noirmoutier en l'Ile hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel  La Villa en l'Ile
Hotel La Villa en l'Ile
#2 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
326 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Punta Lara
Hotel Punta Lara
#7 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ancre Marine
Ancre Marine
#5 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Chaize
La Chaize
#3 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa NUXE
Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa...
#1 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Prateaux
Hotel Restaurant Les Prateaux
#8 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Sel

Property: Hotel Fleur de Sel
Address: 10 rue des Saulniers | 10 rue des Saulniers BP 207, 85330 Noirmoutier en l'Ile, Ile de Noirmoutier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Ile de Noirmoutier > Noirmoutier en l'Ile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Sel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Sel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing