We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely chateau in Normandy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chateau de Sully

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Chateau de Sully
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely chateau in Normandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our stay at Chateau de Sully was memorable. We booked directly with the owner and were quoted an all inclusive rate. Meaning everything, except taxes. The Chateau has a well deserved starred restaurant and all of our meals were included in the rate. After touring all day, we were happy to return to the Chateau for a gourmet meal.
Our rooms were in the main building with beautiful views of the property. The furniture could use a bit of help with an update on linens, etc. The bath was a good size with a step-up and into shower.
The staff were wonderful. The chateau is near a main road so request a room on the opposite side of the chateau. There is a lodge on property with guest rooms that we did not see. There is an enclosed swimming pool which was enjoyed after touring.
We rented a car in Paris and drove to the Chateau. Before arriving be certain to study the map on their website. We did not and relied on GPS which got us quite lost.

Room Tip: Be sure to get exact driving directions before venturing out. Request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emmy6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    79
    46
    20
    15
See reviews for
41
148
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were on the D Day tour & the guide had booked this hotel for two nights. I have never been to France before & I thought this hotel was a real treat.We were treated to four or five course meals,the rooms were neat & clean with tv Ect & big bathrooms. On the downside was climbing the stars with two suit cases. Beautifull outbuildings & parkland surround. No airconditioning so pick the time of the year. The staff were courteous & had no problem with my Australian accent.

Room Tip: I had a room on the top floor with fantastic views but climbing the stairs was a problem for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roderick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This 'Chateau' does not live up to its billing. Located well outside of Bayeux, you must have a car else you are stranded there. Taxi service is expensive and scarce. The Chateau has no air conditioning, so if you want comfort, you must sleep w the windows open - which have no screens - so get ready for all the bugs and noise you can imagine, including from the adjacent roadways. The only real feature of the property is the restaurant, which was good but very expensive and you have no other choices - so get ready for a very big food bill. Well inebriated restaurant patrons come and go well into the night, compounding the noise problem.

The Chateau has no elevator, so this better not be an essential -or hope that you get a ground floor room. Our 'suite' was unpleasantly right above the noisy front door. Good luck getting a good night sleep. Staying overnight is closer to camping than being at a hotel. Rooms have cheap furniture and commercial carpet - all vintage 1970's. Rooms are dreary and beds are old, well used (look closely at their website pictures) and not comfortable. We were also very disappointed in their 'beautiful' Garden and Grounds, which were actually overgrown and untended. Apparently they can't afford a gardener. The only thing Chateau about this property is the marketing material. The spa and pool close early, so forget about them after a long day of sightseeing. Amazingly, the entire staff leaves at night, so the Chateau is left completely unattended. Watch out for the Draconian cancellation policy - once you are there paying inflated rates - you can't leave or the owner demands you forfeit 100%. The owner also did not show much regard for guest comfort or satisfaction. There is more, but I think I've said enough. Don't get suckered into this place - you have far better and more convenient choices in Bayeux.

Room Tip: Stay in Bayeux rather than here - far more to do and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived at this hotel on our last night of our drive to the ferry at Cherbourg.

The images of the Chateau make it seem very appealing and indeed it is an attractive building with some nice outbuildings in a parkland setting close to Bayeaux. The room we were given was very clean, newly renovated and on the ground floor of the main outbuilding. We arrived on a hot July afternoon and were very surprised to note that the room had no air conditioning! As the cost of the room was fair I can't really complain about it.

The staff in the hotel and restaurant were mainly very pleasant and welcoming, It was a pity that the WiFi was down during our stay.

The restaurant had a good choice of dishes and fairly priced set menus. The only issue we had concerning dinner was the waiting time. We had been driving for an entire day and wanted an early dinner as we were tired. We ordered by 7.50 and were still waiting to be offered dessert at 10.15 - we noted that couples who had arrived later than us were served ahead of us. The staff were charming and the food was good - the slow service was obviously a result of too few staff. This seems to be common in France as a result of their very strict employment laws.

All in all a good hotel in a good location in need of slightly improved service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We selected this hotel as our home base for trips to the D-Day battlefields, Bayeux, and Mont-Saint-Michel and were very glad that we did. The property is upscale, with finely furnished common areas and fairly spacious and well-appointed guest rooms. A Michelin star eatery is on site, although we chose to try some recommended places located in Bayeux instead. Good in-room Internet access is a plus. I must add, however, that i was dismayed that the staff member who showed us to our room did not seek to assist me with my large suitcase until after I had hauled it from the main building and down a dirt walkway to the annex housing our room where, confronted with a flight of stairs, I stated my inability to carry it. Beyond bad service, this was bad manners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcramba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

If paying 9 euros for a small glass of lemonade is your idea of value for money then by all means stay. Inflexible with meals couldn't get something to eat at 3.00pm because no one was in the kitchen.Only could give us some distasteful rice snacks. We had an early start one morning and were not even provided a piece of fruit because breakfast is served at 8.00am, even though we had payed for this prior. Had we known all this we would have stayed in Bayeux itself. The food was great when you ate at their times.

Room Tip: Stay in Bayeux if you want to save some cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our family of 11 were tourin Normandy - the beaches, Mont St Michel, Bayeux and found this oasis. Easy taxi ride from town/train station, the Chateau was better than advertised. Clean, bright large (by French standards) rooms, with very nice baths. Tremendous staff - desk, cleaning, dining, bar could not have been more helpful or pleasant. We ate at the 1 Michelin star rest. 1 evening - WOW. If your there - or just in the city at another place do yourself a favor and try this for an evening. You will NOT be sorry.
And 3 of us are runners and the runs thru the countryside around the Chatea were great.
They set up our PU and return to R; they coordinated our Private tours (do this also - great service from NST) and helped out with some special needs we had for my 83 year old mother. Made the time in Normandy better by staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelguy33317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sully
2.4 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
2.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Sully? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Sully

Property: Le Chateau de Sully
Address: Route de Port-en-Bessin, 14400 Sully, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Sully
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Chateau de Sully 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Bayeux and Normandy Landing beaches, the18th century Chateau de Sully is a shining example of traditional French hospitality. A Michelin starred Restaurant . Regional cuisine and delicious seafood, elegant interiors and 9 acres of greenery.The 23 rooms and suites are divided between the Castle and the Mansion. All rooms have a view on the park where you will encounter a XVIth century dovecote and a chapel with listed frescoes. The spa of this establishment will welcome you all year long for your moments of relaxation and well-being. The Chateau de Sully offers an access to its Well-being Centre to its guests : steam room, jacuzzi, sunbaths facing the park. The covered pool is heated and the fitness centre is at your disposal. The hotel also benefit from private tennis courts and a French snooker.Come and discover Normandy : hotel is close to Bayeux, Omaha Beach, Cabourg and Deauville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Chateau de Sully reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Sully Hotel Sully
Chateau De Sully
Le Chateau De Sully France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing