We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionnel - Magnifique vacances!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir de la Riviere
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The owners Maureen and Iain - Probably two of the most charming, friendly, fun and generous people you could wish to meet. As a family we needed to get away from the Christmas build up and spend some quality family time together - away from the hustle ans bustle. This had been planned for some months and it seemed our children (16, 14 and 11) talked of nothing else. High expectations and previous "wow factor" when staying before really set the bar high. Oh how they exceeded it , beyond anything we could have hoped for. When you are welcomed with such genuine warmth and made to feel relaxed from the word go, you know you've made the right decision. The food is exceptional (salmon & asparagus tart a real favourite). To prepare, cook and serve up four courses of excellence that are truly loved by all of us is a special skill. Our trip to Caen market with Maureen was a real highlight but please never ask her to navigate .. unless you're a Tram spotter !!! Our little joke. Rooms are perfect, setting is perfect, pool and suana perfect, breakfast perfect, cats and Moses the dog perfect, BUT please don't tell anyone as we'd love to keep this our secret and enjoy Manoir de la Riviere all by ourselves !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 149 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

As you drive down the tree lined driveway of this beautiful 1580's manor house, one is awed by the peace, quiet and serenity of this wonderful retreat. One is greeted at the door by Iain's wonderful smile and welcoming manner. He was happy to assist us with carrying our baggage up the beautiful old wooden creaking staircase to our splendid large room #3 on the third floor. The old very comfortable four poster bed was made up with luxurious linens that begged you to lie there and read. Along with this there was a lovely sofa to sit and relax.
The bathroom is large with a tub and separate shower along with double sinks. There are bathrobes in the hanging closet in the bathroom.
After settling in, Iain took us on a grand tour of the breakfast/bar room, the lovely dining room in which he serves fabulous dinners for guests only. Previously he and Maureen owned a one-star Michelin restaurant and inn near Oxford, U.K. He will cook upon request although he does take a couple of days off a week. We would have been delighted if he had cooked for us every one of the five nights of our stay but were more than happy with three out of five! He is very accommodating with special requests.
Breakfasts were served from 8 a.m. onwards which is wonderful for those of us who are early risers. Breakfast consisted of fresh baguettes, croissants, pastries, Maureen's wonderful home made jams, fresh fruit salad, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fruit juices, and perfect eggs to order! One did not need to have lunch after this feast!
Maureen is happy to come and chat during cocktail time, which you serve yourself, in front of a beautiful roaring fireplace. She will share the very interesting history of the Manoir.
There is a lovely spa area adjacent to the main dining room which houses an indoor pool consisting of a whirlpool section at one end and resistance swimming area at the other end. There is also a large sauna.
You will see Moses, one of their sweet terriers roaming about along with a number of beautiful cats.
The Manoir sits on about 40 acres of rolling hillsides and farmland, with a stream going through it. It is just a few minutes from the nearest town but so peaceful you would not know you are that close to a town which has all the amenities you may require including a great laundromat!
On the nights that Iain does not cook, he is happy to recommend restaurants in the area.
The Manoir is centrally located so that one can visit Mont St. Michel as well and the beaches and cemeteries in Normandy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here one night (Sunday) and we were the only guests. Despite this Ian laid on an excellent evening meal which was worthy of any food you would expect in a Michelin star restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble and our only regret was that the weather prevented us from exploring the grounds the next morning. This was an excellent start to our mini break in the Charente area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chauffeurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 peaceful nights during our 3 week trip. Excellent base for making side trips to Mont St Michel and surroundings. By far Ian had the best breakfast on the whole trip. The room we stayed in had a huge bathroom with a big tub and rainfall shower. The manor house setting is very beautiful and restful with gardens and fields.

Room Tip: The main house rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisewomanseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our 3 night stay was a wonderfull. The owners are great hosts and very friendly. Breakfast was delight and dinner excellent. The rooms not in the main building are nice though could be nice if there was a sink in the toiletts.

Room Tip: i would definitely visit again and choose a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilla_K2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Manoir de la Riviere is magnificent. Our 3 night stay was a delight. It all starts with the proprietors who were the best of hosts and did all they could to make you feel at home. The food ( the serve dinner as well as breakfast) is as good as you will find in any 5 star restaurant anywhere. So good the first night that we elected to eat dinner there all three nights. The grounds (37 acres) are tranquil and provide a calming sense of peace. Walk the orchard (with one of the cats accompanying you) and see the flowers, pear, plum and apple trees or the strawberry or raspberry patches. Our room ( #2) was large, charming and comfortable. The pre-dinner lounge with self serve full bar service was beautiful and relaxing after a day of Normandy sightseeing. It is a 20 minute drive from Bayeux.I would go back just to stay there.

Room Tip: We loved #2 at the top of the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLupino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I am always nervous about rave reviews, but Manoir de la Riviere deserves them all. We stayed with our children in July and it was a perfect location to visit both Mont St. Michel as well as all of the D-Day/Bayeaux sites. Iain is an awesome chef at dinner - plan to eat in every night - and the breakfasts were tremendous. Maureen brings a carefree charm to your visit - like you've been invited to visit friends in the country for the weekend. A perfect combination. The rooms were spacious and very clean. A wonderful, wonderful surprise all the way around. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
16.3 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
382 reviews
12.3 mi away
Chateau La Cour
Chateau La Cour
#1 of 1 in Culey Le Patry
39 reviews
12.1 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
17.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
624 reviews
12.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de la Riviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de la Riviere

Address: Lieu Dit la Riviere | Saint Louet Sur Seulles, Villers-Bocage Normandy, 14310 Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
Price Range: $188 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 37 acres of formal gardens and woodland the Manoir is a tranquil and relaxing setting to get away from it all yet only 25minutes from the centre of Caen. The House has welcoming log fires in the winter a heated indoor pool and sauna and a very nice dining room.There is a warm and friendly atmosphere with both French and English spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manoir de la Riviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De La Riviere Hotel Saint-Louet-Sur-Seulles
Manoir De La Riviere Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing