We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manoir de la Riviere
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel De La Place(Aunay-sur-Odon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne(Bretteville Sur Odon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
131
14
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
14
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor housecats and dogsfabulous cheflocal ingredientsst malohonesty barcharm and characterlovely hostsbedroom and bathroomrooms are largean easy drivebreadvery special placelanding beachesstayed here for nightsvisiting normandymaureen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 150 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I visited the Manoir on a trip to Normandy with my family, and the dinner we had here was one of the highlights of that trip. Our hosts were extremely charming and laid back, Maureen is lots of fun, and Iain is the perfect host, bringing us tea on our arrival and changing our booking with no problem at the last minute. I also had a great night's sleep in my cosy oak bed!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank FifiParis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We felt at home from the beginning, the owners are really nice. Big, beautifully decorated rooms and superb food. I strongly recommend eating dinner there. The breakfast was also very good. Very comfortable bed. Don't hesitate and take this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alporla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here in July 2011 with Ian and Maureen. My family of three included a little boy, 7 years old, and we were able to share a lovely suite of rooms which included a generously sized master bedroom, separate bathroom and separate child's room. Our room was stunning, though I suspected my son got the best room of all.

Ian and Maureen couldn't have been better and kinder hosts. They were a pleasure to spend time with and to get to know. Based on the feedback from other TripAdvisor reviews we planned a whole week on site, and are very glad that we did. The village in which they are positioned is nothing much, but they are about 15 minutes by car from the glorious Bayeux. Though it looks a bit naff, we found it worth jumping on the little tourist train that wondered around the town and gave us a running commentary of its layout and history. The war graves and museum were very powerful; the Cathedral extraordinary. And of course the tapestry. We spent several days visiting and exploring Bayeux. Keep a look out for the marvelous patisserie/cafe near the corner of Rue des Cuisinieres and Rue St Martin, just down from the Cathedral on the main street of town. The walk along the river was also lovely and the weekly market worth a visit. Great crepes. The helpful tourist office can provide you with maps for this.

And it's not too far of a stretch to reach wonderful Honfleur - about an hour mostly on the motorway.

We probably wouldn't have splurged on dinner in the hotel if it hadn't been for the recommendation of the other reviewers. And we were very glad to do so - Ian is a wonderful chef and was so kind in his care of my picky little boy. We'd been away from home for a while by the time that we stopped at the Manoir, and Ian went out of his way to make my son a kid-friendly shot of vegetables. Just what was needed. My son still talks about 'his chef, Ian', he was made to feel so well looked after. We splurged and shared dinner with Ian about 3 or 4 times while we were there and still remember this as the highlight of our trip. Breakfasts were also superb - fresh local pastries, gorgeous potted yoghurts, fresh fruits and home made preserves, steaming jugs of hot chocolate and coffee.

The grounds of the Manoir are rambling old farm yards, with a lovely orchard and herb garden to one side and a stream not far from the house. The rooms are well looked after and serviced daily. Beds very comfortable; linen lovely. The rooms are filled with antique furniture, so don't expect king-sized beds. The cramped (though comfortable) bed was the one and only down side to our stay.

Animals abound at the Manoir, and are fun to spend time with. A number of stray cats roam the farm, some of which have become family pets. There are also a handful of friendly dogs. When we were there we had fun playing with a new brood of kittens that were finding their feet.

You'll need to be travelling with a hire car to stay in this part of the world, and free parking is available at the front of the property. Not locked up, but at no real risk of harm.

All up, this will be one of the most memorable visits of our life.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OakoverSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This beautiful manorhouse is a great base for exploring Normandy, and the food matches the quality of the lodging experience. Our family enjoyed two memorable breakfasts and one of our best dinners in France, courtesy of the owners/chef who run a cooking school on the premises. This is a very relaxing, country experience and the friendly owners took great care of us. Our children enjoyed exploring the premises as well. We wish we could return every year. This was a great experience.

Room Tip: Nothing to complain about here
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We extensively researched our trip to Normandy and finally decided on Manoir de la Riviere. We read the reviews on Trip Advisor, but still wondered if it would be as good as everyone stated. You never know if other people’s expectations and standards are the same as yours when you are reading reviews from strangers. We like to stay in nice places. Manoir de la Riviere is the same caliber of boutique resorts such as Auberge de Soleil in Napa. As we drove down the drive to the hotel, our tires crunching on the stone leading to a beautifully appointed manor house, I knew we had made the right choice. Upon arrival, Iain greeted us in the entry that exuded charm with its old wooden staircase and showed us to our room. We were on the third floor and the room was everything and more than what we expected. After breathing in the fresh air and peering out the windows to take in the beautiful grounds, he took us on a quick tour of the property. The only thing possibly missing was a horse in the barn! Every room took our breath away. Each one was perfectly decorated with antiques, rugs and small touches to make you feel like you have fallen back in time and were truly staying at a manor house. Great care was taken to choose each piece for each room to make it come together perfectly. I think the most enjoyable room was the keeping room with its stone fireplace, exposed wood beams and antique leather furniture that you could sink into to enjoy a glass of wine from the well stocked bar that sat in the corner of the room. This was also the place that you ate the incredibly prepared breakfasts each morning at intimate tables. Iain had the ability to be available when needed, engaging and comfortable to be around as if we were visiting a friend but then disappear into the background when appropriate. Moving on to dinners – we had the privilege of enjoying two of Iain’s meals (the first night he accommodated us without a reservation). His skills as a host are matched by his skills as a chef. Each meal was prepared perfectly and were our best meals while in France. From the chateaubriand one evening to the guinea fowl the next, every course was made to perfection. He went out of his way to help us find markets nearby and in Paris. These lodgings are centrally located to everything you could want to see in Normandy; Mont St. Michel, Bayeux, D-Day beaches and Honfleur would be easy day trips from here. We truly can not say enough good things about our experience at this hotel, a special trip back to Normandy just in order to stay here again will be on our list in the future. It is too bad that we can’t find an Iain and what he has created and experience it in every spot that we vacation!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 158alisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews