We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau La Cour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau La Cour
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Culey Le Patry
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Superlative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's difficult to add to the remarks made by other visitors - this is simply a wonderful place to stay, thanks to the excellence of Lesley and David and the work they have put into the chateau.

We have stayed a couple of times, most recently in September 2012, but have only just got round to adding a Tripadvisor review.

The food - dinner and breakfast - is superb and the value for money is remarkable. Hotels simply cannot match places like this.

Chateau La Cour is a member of Wolsey Lodges, a selection of properties offering ' up-market home hospitality', to quote their guide. Most are in the UK but there are about 6 in France - see www.wolseylodges.com

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley C, Owner at Chateau La Cour, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for returning to see us at Chateau La Cour. We hope you will come again.

As Wolsey Lodges are a 'well kept secret' we hope your review spreads the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you don’t have an enthusiasm for food this is not the place for you. Book into a chain hotel.
The owners of Chateau la Cour are passionate about food and if you respond with a similar passion they become even more passionate. Lesley and David, have invested time, money and effort into getting their food offer to a top end restaurant standard. And with only 4 ‘covers’ they can experiment and surprise. Provenance, freshness, product quality, food miles, local sourcing; they’ve nailed them all. So much so the eggs are fresh from the chickens pecking around the garden and the seasonal produce plucked from David’s treasured fruit and veg beds. Particular meats are sourced from specific local butchers or markets.
David is a bon viveur and raconteur. He genuinely seems to enjoy having you as a companion in his living room. And Lesley; show the slightest interest in her cooking and you are quickly swept up in her generosity and willingness to share. An outing to the kitchen, a tour of her recipes, admission to her state of the art equipment; it’s all yours.
And a parallel level of accommodation to back all this up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robselectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley C, Owner at Chateau La Cour, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you, your comments are very much appreciated. Our hobby is sourcing, preparing and eating good food so it's not difficult to be enthusiastic about it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

If someone says “hotel” we understand that they may mean something quite basic where you can stay for £50 a night, or they may mean something really top end where you could add a couple of noughts to that.

However when we talk about B&B I think of chintzy cottages and keen but sometimes amateurish hosts. But I need to change my thinking as in recent years the B&B concept has really expanded and La Cour is a great example of that.

The best analogy I can think of is the Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons. Take that and scale it down to a few rooms and a single cook and you are pretty close. I’ve stayed and eaten in both places.

La Cour is a lovely Normandy Maison de Maitre. It’s not a vast place, but few of us can boast a hallway with a fabulous stone staircase wide enough to walk up two abreast. And the rooms are done up and maintained to every bit the same standards as the Manoir. It’s by far the most impressive B&B I’ve ever stayed at.

Our large room was on the first floor overlooking the front garden. There are stairs up off the room to an equally large bathroom above. It was very quiet at night. The house is well set back from the lane and there is plenty of parking. It all seems very safe and secure.

Another thing I like about it is that the hosts are not on top of you. Unlike some places where you are constantly bumping into each other they have rooms tucked away somewhere so you don’t feel under their feet, or that you are trespassing in their space. They seem to have a good knack of being there when you want them and disappearing when you don’t.

They only have a few rooms so it does not feel crowded – though we have been on our own on the couple of times we’ve stayed (apart from people in the self catering apartment at the top).

The cooking is a speciality of this place and, though you don’t have to eat in, it would be a shame not to at least once. Is Lesley’s cooking as great as Raymond Blanc’s at the Manoir? Probably not, but she puts a lot of effort and passion into producing sophisticated dishes using local ingredients and it is certainly better than many of the restaurants I’ve eaten in. Husband David produces vegetables from the “potager” and offers some very decent wines without the enthusiastic mark-ups of a traditional French restaurant. They are good hosts too. They have been doing this for several years now so have got a pretty well tuned operation and seem to have retained their enthusiasm for making sure their guests are happy.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this area then you can’t go far wrong, and it’s much better value in my view than you’d get at an hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jandelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVCraven, Owner at Chateau La Cour, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments. David and I enjoy meeting our guests and always try to make them feel that they are visiting good friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a great 3 days at Chateau La Cour and it was everything that we expected. One down side was the 70% charge that was added to our bill for our dinner cancellation on the night of our arrival which I might add was due to our flight being delayed by 3.5 hours plus not being able to find a taxi and quite frankly sitting down to a meal was the last thing on our minds when we had been on the road over 12 hours from the middle east. I find it disappointing that Lesley and David could be so greedy as to charge 70 euros Their excuse was that they had bought the food not too sure where salmon costs that much but what can we do but pay up. So would I recommend the place NO not when I would not go back myself where people are so greedy!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley C, Owner at Chateau La Cour, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
It was good to read that you enjoyed your stay at Chateau La Cour and that it lived up to your expectations. However, we feel we must address your grievance……….

We are a small (3 bedroom) privately – owned chateau that offers a very personal and individual service. This includes offering hosted dinners to our bed and breakfast guests by prior arrangement. We are certainly NOT a restaurant.

For this reviewer, the food was bought freshly at the market in the morning and prepped before notice was received after lunch, that their flight was delayed.

Dinner involves four courses and is prepared specially to meet each guests dietary requirements, in this case no meat or poultry. “Expensive Salmon” does not do justice to the effort involved in the sourcing and preparation of an elegant 4 course meal.

The majority of our guests would certainly not call us ‘greedy’. For instance, two other members of the same party of 6 (previous guests) cancelled their stay at short notice for legitimate family reasons and we waived the cancellation fee (60%) to which we were entitled. They called us “kind and considerate”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Chateau La Cour is a lovely place in Swiss Normandie. It is a very old house that was restored to have a very pleasant and comfortable rooms for the guests. The hosts, who speak English, are growing most of the vegetables by their own, including fresh eggs from their free hens. The vegetable is superb an it is, maybe, the best we have ever had. The food is very tasty and the eggs have a unique good taste.
We also had one supper, which was very good as well.
The chateau has a lovely garden where you can rest or have a nice walk.
In the rooms you can find hydraulic beds that you can adjust.

Room Tip: Book a supper as well and enjoy a good meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shlomo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley C, Owner at Chateau La Cour, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Your comments are very much appreciated. We always enjoy meeting guests from overseas and hope you will be able to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woldingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent 4 nights in the B&B rooms, with 3 generations of one family, ages ranging from 6 to 80! The Chatuea is situated in the most amazing countryside, so peaceful. A beautiful drive to the easily accessible, Bayeaux and Landing Beaches. The Chateau itself is a beautiful building in immaculate grounds, The cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms is second to none, crisp cotton bedding and L'Occitane toiletteries, pure luxury. The hosts are marvellous, providing information and routes on all activities and eateries in the area, one feels totally "looked after". We cannot fail to mention the food............yum. Many of the ingredients used are grown in the gardens, everything else is locally sourced and breakfast consists of fresh bread,croissants, freshly squeezed orange juice and the best part of all are the fresh eggs from the Chateau's own chickens cooked in any style you desire. The evening suppers are a must, loved by the whole family - probably the best food in Normandy! We cannot fault our stay in any way or suggest any improvements!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelverton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have stayed here before and always very much enjoyed it ,this time was no exception.David and Lesley work very hard to ensure your stay is just right with very pleasant and clean rooms and very tasty evening mealsand breakfasts.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: book early to avoid dissapointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggjsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley C, Owner at Chateau La Cour, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again at Chateau La Cour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau La Cour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Cour

Property: Chateau La Cour
Address: 14220 Culey Le Patry, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Culey Le Patry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Culey Le Patry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chateau La Cour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Cour Culey Le Patry, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing