We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place near all Normady beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ferme de la Ranconniere
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crepon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place near all Normady beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here Jan 2-5 in the master suite located at La Ferme Mathon. Just 500 meters away. The reception and restaurant staff we so friendly and accommodating. The food at the restaurant was delicious from starter to desert and cheese!!! Excellent seafood!! It's perfectly located to visit all the Normandy Beaches as well as the quaint to of Bayeux. 5 star rating fron us and we will be very happy to return!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fltguymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    236
    41
    15
    6
See reviews for
185
584
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day here with my wife, along with her sister and husband. My wife and I stayed in a Junior Suite, which was worth the price - spacious and decorated in the local style. The hotel grounds are great, and in general there is a lovely feel about the place. We had some drinks before Christmas Eve dinner in the salon where a roaring fire kept us warm. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and I couldn't pick a favourite out of the foie gras starter, scallop starter, beef fillet main, cheese board or Christmas dessert! The house wine is also tremendous, and at 15 Euros a bottle is a steal. The location of the hotel is good with easy access to Arromanches and the rest of the D-Day beaches. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryan_knapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
242 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for something other than a chain hotel during your visit to the landing beaches, I recommend the Ferme de la rançonniere. We looked at each room on the hotel's site and decided on a smaller room, knowing we would spend little time there. It wasn't too small, and the comfort was excellent. The bed was firm, and the pillows were some of the most comfortable I've come across in a hotel in a while. The bathroom wasn't enormous, but the shower was plenty hot, and the pressure was strong. We ate a delicious gourmet meal in the hotel's restaurant (nothing else is close by). The food was high quality and reasonably priced. The breakfast in the morning was also plentiful.
Omaha Beach was about a 45-minute drive from the hotel. The distance wasn't that far, but the roads are small and winding. The location is between the American and British / Canadian landing beaches.
Upon arriving at the hotel, we noticed a terrible odor in the hallway. It eventually dissipated, but it was not welcoming. Also, the walls between rooms are paper thin. We were fortunate to have a quiet couple next door, but had there been noisy guests, we would have heard everything. (I could hear the woman next door coughing) Maybe it was just our room. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizarenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent one night at La Ferme de la Rançonnière and wished we could have stayed a few more nights! After visiting the d-day sites we came later in the day and were greeted and shown our superb rooms. This is called a ferme--farm, but it really looks more like a small chateau with thick stonewalls, a large dining room and lounge with very large fireplaces. The rooms are decorated in Normand provincial style with warm reddish colors, all rooms and bathrooms have been newly remodeled and updated. The beds are very comfortable, we even had a king size bed. It was a cold November night and the rooms were comfy as well as all the other areas.
The staff was extremely friendly and we even had a good chat with the owner, a very energetic and amicable lady. Our dinner and breakfast were included with the room and all were excellent. The dining room was romantically lighted with candlelights. We had a young child with us and a child's menu was offered. Everybody was very accomodating and made us feel right at home. We love this place and we will try to go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here during a trip to Normandy. Definately would recommend. Unique and beautiful country setting. Rooms are spacious and wll appointed within the ability of doing so in a 400 year old building. Price was great in an off season. Only down side is the service. Front desk is very nice but service in lounge is poor. Can not comment on the restaurant as we ate in other local restaurants however understand that food is very good and service average. Somewhat pricy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FenwickBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a spacious, comfortable room with fireplace but 'odd' bathroom situation. The toilet (room) was one one side (a little alcove in a turret) and the shower was on the opposite side of the room. Rather quaint but both (bath)rooms were so small that it was hard to even turn around once inside. We did not dine at 'la Ferme', having had large lunches both days of our stay so cannot comment on food quality. Upon arrival and throughout our stay, there were several tour busses in the parking lot. Because of the size of the property and obvious country charm, it must be a stop for many tour groups, either for meals, accommodations or both. The main advantages of this hotel, in my opinion, are the accommodating staff and its location - minutes from both D-Day beaches and also the fabulous WWII museum in Caen.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here over that last 10 years at least 6 times, it is family run and serves outstanding food and has great large comfortable bedrooms and suites. It is ideally located for D day visits and the Bayeaux tapestry. We would not stay anywhere else

Room Tip: We have staying in many different ones, with the suite being the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellatravelscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crepon
7.3 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
9.5 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
4.2 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferme de la Ranconniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferme de la Ranconniere

Property: Ferme de la Ranconniere
Address: 2 Route d Arromanches, 14480 Crepon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Crepon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crepon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferme de la Ranconniere 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ferme de la Ranconniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferme De La Ranconniere Hotel Crepon
Ferme De La Ranconniere Crepon, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing