We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crepon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We’ve stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. The room was superb (room no’ 33),we got upgraded from our original reservation to junior suite to full size suite.
Breakfast is good and got all it needs.
The staff at reception speaks good English and there is no problem to communicate other then France.
Restaurant is very good, we ate only one evening because we wanted to explore other places.
The hotel is close to D-day beaches, museums & monuments.
It is about 10 minutes drive to Bayeux, and 5 minutes to Arromanches.
Over all, much recommended place to stay to explore Normandy and D-day beaches.
The only down side if you can call it like this is that you have to got a car to be mobile

Room Tip: highly recommended to have your own transportion (rented car)
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Libi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
There are newer reviews for Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

My only regret concerning our stay at Ferme de la Ranconniere is that it was too short. The accommodations, property, restaurant, and location were perfect. After traveling all through France, we believe this was, by far, our favorite inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I don't like to write negative reviews as it means that part of our holiday has not lived up to expectations, but after scanning the reviews again (that lead me to really look forward to these three days) feel there are a few important points to highlight that will hopefully help others in our position.
We travelled with my 12 yr old daughter and my 6'4" husband with - you've guessed - Brittany Ferries. They immediately commented on Graham's height then showed us to the very top of the main building above Reception to a door that must have been under 5" high - we just laughed as it was like a castle and looked lovely and clean and we hadn't got any bruises at that stage. The bed (comfortable) was almost immediately inside the room and besides two tiny bedside tables either side there was nothing else in there, except a half-moon table with a tiny kettle etc between our door and the bathroom (which we knocked off more than once). The kettle could only be used by the plug on the floor (had to sit on the bed to ensure not to kick over boiling kettle!) Annabel's room was up a perilous spiral staircase - no hand rail and not wide enough for her whole foot) - and she doesn't like heights. It was in fact a turret and they admitted they only put us in there when they saw out daughters age - glad she didn't need the loo in the night!. She used the spare bed for her case. The steps stopped under my bed and I stubbed my toe ... a lot! The bathroom off our room contained our tiny 'wardrobe' for steamy storage. There was no working fan so everything was musty with the old walls and the door wouldn't shut. We complained about the door/fan on night one - after three complaints door fixed and skylight opened 2.5 days later just before we left. NOT FUNNY. We pointed out that we couldn't store our clothes in there, or anywhere (no room) but had the distinct feeling that it was because we'd already paid in with our boat ticket ie tough luck. ***THIS IS ROOM 32*** It stuck in your throat to see all the wonderful rooms/suits right next to ours every morning as the maids left the doors wide open.
Besides the room issues, the restaurant was not suitable for neither us nor our daughter - also I think 25 euros was the cheapest menu. And there were always big hairy dogs (plus some handbag-size ones too) coming out which didn't do it for me either! I asked at Reception where the nearest town was that we could find something she'd like as we'd all been up since 5am and were tired and specifically asked about Creully (3ks away) - she told us there was one but just the same as their restaurant, and suggested driving to Arramanches on the coast - 10ks or so away and busy. On our third day we looked at l'Hostellerie de Saint-Martin in Creully market place - there were set menus for 13 euros - large steak, frite & salad plus home-made apple tart etc. And big friendly smiles - a busy, atmospheric, vaulted restaurant and v enjoyable food, wish we'd been earlier in the stay and could have gone three days running.
Breakfast in the hotel had delicious mini pastries and croissants but the first morning we arrived down to find most plates and bowls empty and we thought we'd missed it and had to go and ask for food to be replaced. The young waiter was polite but a blank canvas. On day three the staff changed and we were greeted by friendly ladies.
When we checked out we only had a couple of bar bills to pay (you have to phone for service in the bar and wait for someone to turn up and serve you) - and we were treated to a strictly business-like 'did you enjoy your stay, goodbye' - we really didn't spend enough money to warrant more time/effort.
So ... 12ks out of Bayeux - it's a problem if you don't want to use the restaurant and have to stay out or have to go out again. Not good for children, probably great if you like elaborate food and select your room ahead of time (vital!)
Very interesting piece about WWII hero down in the village by the statue we nearly missed.

Room Tip: Make sure you know which type of room you have booked before you go
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah-on-her-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Oh dear. What a shame.
We checked in at the Ferme de la Ranconniere, originally booked to sleep in a Junior Suite at the twinned Manoir de Mathan next door. However, the room was so ghastly (it looked and smelled like a nursing home) that they found us another room in the Ferme. The decor is pretty poor throughout and very low spec indeed. Plastic tables and chairs outside, faux antiques, and shabby paint jobs.
The worst thing of the entire visit was the "gastronomic" restaurant. My (French) wife and I have never eaten a worse meal in France. Tough meat, foul sauces, bland entrées. A horrible experience. We steered clear of the (supplementary) breakfast.
We felt like we had been lured into a tourist trap.
This after a week of wonderful hotels and chambre d'hotes across France at much lower prices.
Pretty buildings and friendly staff, but very much let down by the poor quality of what is on offer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PGDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed fro three nights and loved everything about the hotel. Staff were efficient and professional, room was spacious and well equipped as well as having character and charm Food was excellent, some of the best we've had in France. Good buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. We were in the main building which we can thoroughgly recommend. The annexe looked nice but was a bit of a trek particularly if it was dark/raining.
Can recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are large and beautifully equipped. Staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves delicious food, but is a little expensive.

The hotel is near many great places to visit. Not least the D Day beaches, which are very enlightening and moving.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buddhawise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We first saw this hotel when we drove past a couple of years ago and thought it looked so nice we would try it on our next trip. From our first contact (Severine persisted with my poor French until words literally failed me and her pefect English came into play) we were well treated. The rooms are beautifully converted and the restaurant served excellent food (both dinner and breakfast) with good service. We were on the half-board package and there was plenty to choose from on the menu. Service was good. It's in a perfect location for visiting the D-Day beaches and the mulberry harbour at Arromanches, the Omaha Cemetery (with its very good visitor centre), Bayeaux and Honfleur. There are lots of calvados tasting places around and Rouen isn't too far away.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJS377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crepon
4.5 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
1,085 reviews
19.5 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
18.8 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
226 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
9.5 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan

Address: 2 Route d Arromanches, 14480 Crepon, France (Formerly Ferme de la Ranconniere)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Crepon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crepon
Price Range: $97 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferme De La Ranconniere Hotel Crepon
Ferme De La Ranconniere Crepon
Domaine De La Ranconniere Et De Mathan Crepon, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing