We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must for kids”

GarLyn Zoological Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Naubinway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See native and exotic animals up close. Including tiger, cougar, bobcat, river otter, grizzly bear, camel, ring-tail lemurs, reindeer and much, much more.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

A nice stop on the way home. Kids loved it! A wide range of animals and a nice gift shop with ice cream!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allypeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    30
    8
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiul Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had the grand kids, knew this was a "mom and pop" type place, and thought we'd give it a try. We were very well impressed and surprised by this little gem. We were delighted by the walk -through-the woods type setting, the clean environment of all the animals, and the variety of creatures, from deer to alligators to a bear and many more! You can buy feed to hand feed some of the animals. On our visit we saw a four-day -old lemur popping in and out of it's mother's pouch, and then nursing. The owners were most pleasant and informative, and we really enjoyed our stay!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dutchpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would rather go here than sea world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a small zoo, but it is well laid out and we were never crowded up like it can get at some of the bigger parks. There are some wonderful animals, caged and free roaming, and many stations were you can feed them. I even got to feed a big black bear!!! Through a 6 ft. PVC tube, but none the less very cool. We go here every time we are in the Upper Peninsula!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brendanextdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our second visit to the GarLyn Zoo. They have an adorable gift shop with lots of very cute gifts that are very well-priced for the most part. All of the animals are easily visible and you are able to feed a lot of them. The walking paths are nice and wide. I must say that compared to our recent trip to the NEW Zoo in Green Bay (which is probably 4 times the size), it was a little on the expensive side. Adults were $12, children 3 and up were $6 and under 3 was free. The port-a-potties were pretty gross, and my daughter refused to go in them. Other than that, it is an enjoyable place to visit and we will definitely visit again in the future.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yoopfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Somewhat fun but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This zoo was not your average zoo and we knew that going in. we came here on Sunday 9/23/12. It was pretty cool that you could feed some of the animals. It was a bit smelly and very unorganized. They had part of the park blocked off so you couldn't even see the reindeer. You couldn't see the alligator because the water was too dirty and the same for the sea otters. They didn't have restrooms, only porta potties which I refused to go in.
The gentleman at the counter when we paid for the snacks for the animals and to get into the "zoo" didn't say much. He did not seemed thrilled at all to be there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank geminigal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GarLyn Zoological Park also viewed

 

Been to GarLyn Zoological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing