We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chowder” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cut River Inn

Cut River Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Naubinway
Cuisines: American, Soups, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Naubinway, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great chowder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

The fish chowder is well worth the stop. Quaint atmosphere and friendly staff. My husband was not too pleased with his meal but the restaurant does seem to draw a crowd. Worth trying again as good location, right on Route 2 in the upper peninsula of Michigan.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CBYooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naubinway, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Nothing wrong, but nothing special. I would recommend if you are in the area and need something to eat.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Yooper_6232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I stop every chance I get!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Have never had a bad meal. Friendly "at home" atmoshphere and excellent food. Outstanding Whitefish Chowder. It is out of the way but worth the stop.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank easyrider67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
247 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“IF Global Warming's true...eat across the street on the water.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

So For some reason the UP is baking in mid july...temps in the 90's,upper 80's..and I'm on a self contained bicycling tour eastbound from Indian Lake state park to St.ignace...it's about 3pm.....and hot, sweaty and I'm about to bonk...and I've heard good things about the Cut river inn's fishes.. so I peddle in, lock up the bruce gordon, take off my bike helment and walk into a dark restaurant with absolutely NO one in it at 3 pm..and pick a seat by the south window e side of the building... and I wait, and wait...so I decide to get up to go out side and grab one of my water bottles and bring it in... The waitress seems shocked that I'm leaving...as she comes out of the kitchen and apologizes for the delay... "I'm just getting something off my bike I'll be right back, Please get me a bud light and a water" .

Now please take this review with a bit of leeway. I'm one hot sweaty cyclist...nearing heat stroke...so anything to eat would taste OK, and anything cold wouldn't hurt.

So I pop in and out and my drinks arrive 30 seconds or so later.
I ask for a menu.. order the fish with the squash and down the water and most of the bud.
as sit sweating in the bar's heat (no air) .

So the food shows up I order the spinach version....and it's tasty enough....the squash though IF you bother to order that is a winner...IF you take a fork full of the fish and mix it with the squash...it's win win. Oh it comes with a salad too.

So I eat this fish stuff and it's a decent amount of food considering the squash too...and I'm full...almost tossing full ...buffet full even.

So I get on my bike and peddle away...looking across the street to the bayside or bay view restaurant and thinking Damn I wish I'd have eaten there, stupid of me to cross the street at least this restaurant has a deck on the water...where it's cooler with the lake michigan breeze blowing in... Cant vouch for the food though...but a bud lights a bud light...water is water....so they equal 1/2 the order....they might even have squash.

And Yes I understand it's the UP and it rarely gets hot enough along the lakeside that you need a/c.... But like I said if it's a hot one in cut river...cut south not north for your whitefishes and beer.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank willdriveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickford, Michigan
1 review
“Awesome place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Had their broiled white fish really good. Waitress was very friendly. Prices on food was good. Would eat there again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angeleyes2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cut River Inn also viewed

Naubinway, Mackinac County
Naubinway, Mackinac County
 
Naubinway, Mackinac County
Naubinway, Mackinac County
 

Been to Cut River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing