We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

La Table du Cardinal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Stéphanie et Alexandre BOGAERT vous reçoivent dans le paisible village médiéval de Montpezat de Quercy, à proximité de la porte de la ville du XIVème siècle et de la place de l'Hôtel de Ville. La Table du Cardinal est une étape gourmande indispensable de la cité. Le Chef, Alexandre BOGAERT, signe une cuisine à la fois fine et de caractère, mêlant produits locaux et d’ailleurs. Stéphanie, son épouse, vous réserve un accueil chaleureux et un service attentionné dans un cadre cosy.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

During a holiday to visit my daughter, I came to eat at this amazing restaurant with friends, and as the title suggests, there is only one word to describe the three course meal I enjoyed...wow.
Everything from the skillful presentation of the foie gras, to the 'cooked to perfection' marget and finally to the wonderful choice of well proportioned cheese was absolutely delicious. I have never, (and probably will never again) eaten in a place of such high quality. Thank you to the chefs and waiter for a wonderful meal. Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RobertJDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I were wandering around town discussing where to eat. This was our first visit so it was pot luck when picking a place to eat. We did not regret our choice. The service was excellent, only exeeded by the food. We had the 19.80€ menu. The three courses were more than enough. We had salmon followed by beef and tiramisu icecream. I can highly recommend this. We will be back for my wife's birthday when we will try the 25€ menu.

Thank Belgiananddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This could be a restaurant with a bright future. We stumbled upon it one a wet lunchtime: the quality of its food did a great deal to brighten the day. The Formule allows an entre and plat (or plat & desert) from the Menu Plaisir for euro 21.50. The foie gras and salmon starters were both interesting and well presented, as well as being tasty. The beef and duck main courses were cooked as requested and the meat was of good quality. This was a sensible price for good food. The service was friendly and efficient. The wine list is small (but promises to expand) and six wines are available by the glass. Wine prices were reasonable. We will certainly return and recommend to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ABC_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I heard good things about the Table du Cardinal. I invited a friend to join me for their lunch time special, the menu of the day. It was awful. The "purée de pommes de terre" was mush and tasted like a muddy soup. The Turkey Cordon Bleu was hard, over cooked and tasted like cardboard. The starter salad was ok but nothing to rave about and the desert was fine but again, nothing special. The best part of the meal was the chocolate dessert although my guest dosen't eat chocolate. The only dessert option was to go to the full menu and pay 8 euros for a simple "crumble." Not worth it.
On the more positive side people sitting at other tables seemed to have chosen from the full menu and their plates looked more appetizing. However, in this part of the work the menu of the day is pretty standard and usually a safe and affordable experience. The waiter was good and helpful but I doubt that I will go here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito A, Propriétaire at La Table du Cardinal, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013
Google Translation

Je suis sincèrement désolé qu vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre repasaussi, je pense que la formule que vous avez prise ce jour n'était pas appropriée à vos attente. De mémoire, il s'agissait de la formule bistrot, à 14.50€. Formule rapide et certainement pas assez raffinée pour quelqu'un de votre classe.
Aussi je vous invite à revenir découvrir notre cuisine, qui a plutôt bonne presse dans la région.
Entre nous si je vais au retaurant, avec un ami, et que j'ai le temps, c'est pour me faire plaisir et certainement pas pour prendre une formule rapide, qui cela dit est faite à partir de produits frais...
et fonctinne très bien...
Dans l'attente de votre visite, je l'espère.
V.Alessi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Overpriced and disappointing food. No atmosphere although it was newly opened. Great amuse bouche.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catussehaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanloic, Directeur général at La Table du Cardinal, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Dear Sir,

First able Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience at La table du Cardinal wasn't what you were expected. As you correctly said, when you visited us, we just just opened. And Fairly, we agree that the atmosphere was not there. That's why we have decided to close down the restaurant the whole september to redone totally the paint, furnitures and lighting. I invite you to check our website to see the new design www.latableducardinal.com
However, if you have to come back near us, please call us and ask for Jean Loic and i will invite you for a lunch and dinner at our cost to make your experience unforgettable because that's what it's all about in our restaurant.

Thank you for time and hope to see you soon

Regards

Jean Loic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Table du Cardinal also viewed

Montpezat de Quercy, Tarn-et-Garonne
Montpezat de Quercy, Tarn-et-Garonne
 
Montpezat de Quercy, Tarn-et-Garonne
Puylaroque, Tarn-et-Garonne
 

Been to La Table du Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing