We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our sixth magical visit”
Review of La Terrasse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Terrasse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meyronne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

As many places as we have stayed in throughout the world this is one of our favorite. Francoise and her staff are top notch at ensuring all needs are met. She is simply delightful. And dining overlooking the Dordogne is an amazing experience. A new chef has really punched up the dining experience. Pay for staying in the castle. It is worth it! You will be coming back and reminiscing about your stay as we do.

Room Tip: Stay in castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We enjoyed 3 nights here in very hot weather in mid July. We stayed in the Oliviers suite to celebrate my wife's 50th Birthday-a special treat in the middle of a camping holiday. The room was a two storey duplex with a sleeping at the top, with lovely views across the pool to the river and sitting facilities with a bathroom and a separate toilet below. The bed was very comfortable (much better than it looked on the photo's), the bath had a spa system and a hand shower and all was very clean. Not only the lovely stone walls and ceiling, but also the very effective air conditioning ensured comfort and rest-bite from the heat. The good sized Swimming pool (where towels were provided) was also a refreshing alternative. Our room was situated away from the other guest rooms thus very quiet.
The only little grumble was the rubbish we left in the provided bins wasn't cleared during our stay but it was no hardship to walk a few meters to the municipal skips. Apart from this, the service here was second to none. Our sons arranged for a bouquet of flowers and a bottle of wine for my wife's birthday, both presented immaculately; in fact she was thoroughly pampered by the lady proprietor and her excellent dining room staff on her birthday.
The 4/5 rating is for the hotel,but where this property excels is it's restaurant that would easily score 5/5. We had only intended to eat here for the special birthday, but we were so seduced by the setting and the service, we had three meals at varying prices, all of which a little on the expensive side, but worth it, if to sit on that terrace high above the river, watching canoes and swimmers drifting downstream while enjoying delicious locally sourced food. Warning... if you choose the destgustation menu, ensure you have a good appetite!
Meyronne is a pretty and sleepy little village which is dominated by this property. There is plenty of parking outside and we even managed to find shade, so no need to worry about the lack of a hotel car park. Elsewhere there is only a camp site with a small snack bar, so if you are looking for an alternative to eating at La terrace, a short stroll across the bridge will take you into lively Saint Sozy where there are some moderate priced eateries (one with a popular bar), a Spar supermarket and a village store.
I would recommend La Terrace, mostly for its outlook and quality of welcome and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_camper015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were less than happy with our room as it was a bit dark and noisy from other guests passing up the stairs. We asked to be moved but there were no other options. We were kept awake quite late by guests talking loudly in another room. As there are no other dining facilities in the village we had dinner in the in the restaurant and the service was very good. We all thought that, being a 'captive audience' the food was over priced. We would not return

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Such rave reviews but we were less than happy with our room - a tad small and dingy compared to the photos - plus low ceiling and ugly carpet - and asked to be moved. Which we were. But this did not go down well with the lady in charge who clearly does not like to be challenged. Her less than friendly reaction ruined my stay. It shouldn't have but it did and clearly demonstrates just how important customer service can taint one's overall perception.
Although dinner service in the restaurant was exceptional (young lady very good), the food was nothing special and rather overpriced.

Room Tip: Meyronne is very small and has no services. Cross the bridge for SPAR, pub, bakery, post office box...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollowVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed here on our way from Lyon to Bordeaux. The village is beautiful and staying at the hotel was a wonderful experience. The owner was very gracious. We had dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed that too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRBSFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night on 22 September 2012 which was on our route through to Spain. The hotel is situated in a lovely position. We were greeted by the owner Francoise who was charming and very friendly. The whole place was spotless. The evening meal was extremely good value for the set price charged. The breakfast was good but not a great selection. I know we are in France and they don't do breakfast, but the French are getting better at it as we have recently witnessed some breakfasts with a very good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Castle accommodations have certain qualities that make them stand out, spiral staircases and low beams are de-rigour, A/C and electrical fittings that are often difficult to locate or non existent; you therefore either love them or hate them, but you do know what you are getting. The added attraction of La Terrasse is of course the superb restaurant which I would recommend to anyone. Our room at the top of the building was quite hard work to reach, our large case growing ever larger by the summit. The room itself had two windows, one overlooking the river bridge which whilst not particularly attractive was quite dramatic from this height. The Jacuzzi in the bathroom was something of a surprise. Soundproofing is also usually very good in this type of accommodation; as such we slept very snugly, even though the curtains have never been confused with the term “blackout”. Car parking is immediately adjacent at the rear of the property in a public area but appears largely given over to hotel guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmriic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meyronne
2.6 mi away
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
#2 of 3 in Lacave
242 reviews
5.2 mi away
Les Vieilles Tours
Les Vieilles Tours
#6 of 17 in Rocamadour
264 reviews
5.2 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
4.3 mi away
Relais Sainte-Anne
Relais Sainte-Anne
#1 of 2 in Martel
155 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terrasse

Address: le Bourg, 46200 Meyronne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Meyronne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meyronne
Price Range: $94 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terrasse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your La Terrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terrasse Meyronne
La Terrasse Hotel Meyronne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing