We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Sainte-Anne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Sainte-Anne
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martel
Certificate of Excellence
Perigueux
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed two nights for our wedding anniversary and it was absolutely lovely from the moment we arrived. The hotel building, garden, rooms and restaurant are superb, the owners/management obviously care a great deal about their hotel and providing an exquisite stay for their guests. We had dinner once and it was excellent, just read the chef' blog to see how passionate he is about his food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    34
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
90
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed in on a walking tour of the area. I cannot fault it. The staff were lovely, the room was huge with a large lounge and upstairs bedroom (our friends had a large room with a seating area), the grounds were very pleasant with a pool and charming little chapel, and the dinner was splendid. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne24_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
197 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Regularly go here twice a year and Relais Ste Anne goes from strength to strength. Despite awful weather this time, the hotel owners and their staff made us welcome and recommended things to visit in the area. The restaurant remains excellent and such good value. We had the best dessert ever - a pear belle helene reworked by Guillaume, the chef. It was a poached pear, encased in chocolate, sitting on vanilla ice cream, and with hot chocolate sauce poured over at the table to that the shell melted. Perfect! Because of the weather we only got to eat on the terrace a couple of times.
The gardens are beautiful and peaceful and the rooms modern and comfortable. Breakfasts are a treat! The owners can seem a bit standoffish but they are always busy and shy, though very warm when they get to know you.
Go there now as the French seem to be giving holidays a break in the economic climate prevailing.

Room Tip: Room 12 by the chapel is decorated in the warmest yellow and the room upstairs in the new building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The restaurant was stunning and the food delicious. Martel was just as lovely. My only slight criticism is that the owner, whilst being very efficient, was not very friendly. However, the staff were most helpful. We stayed for 3 nights and found the location perfect to explore the stunning nearby towns such as Rocamadour. We would love to return one day.

Room Tip: Parking is not a problem as in some ancient towns as the hotel has a private car park across the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel could be so much better if the owners could only learn to smile. Strange, as the place advertises as an "hôtel de charme".
We booked one of the bigger rooms with its own terrace, and it was huge. The decor is rather old fashioned, with dark colours giving a slightly gloomy air, heightened by the position of the windows which admit only limited light. A skillful interior designer could work wonders here. The bathroom had plenty of hot water at all times, but the quality and size of the towels was poor, no luxury there. The 3 speed jetted bathtub only worked at speeds 2 and 3 - a minor point, but a minus one.
The very small dining room was justifiably fully booked, but service was slow, despite an apparently adequate number of staff who are cheerful and communicative. The food is superb and good value for money. Wines by the glass are well chosen.
Breakfast, if a little expensive, is delicious and copious.
The free wifi seemed to be switched off after about 10.30 pm.
Gardens are well tended as is the open air swimming pool.
This is not an address we shall return to. Some enthusiasm and above all a smile from the curiously detached Swiss owners, whether when we arrived or when we paid the bill, might have made the difference.

Room Tip: Cheaper garden rooms are probably better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher_Laws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first visit to the hotel and we are so glad we have discovered it. On arrival, after checking in, Mme. took us to our room. It seemed like a bit of a route-march but once we got our bearings the room was not as far away from reception as we had originally thought. Overlooking the swimming pool the room was in a separate annexe up two flights of steps. It was large and airy with its own sitting area, a good bathroom and our own outside table and chairs. The restaurant is very charming and the food both at supper and breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately we could not enjoy much of the outside facilities because the weather was grey and overcast but the swimming pool and gardens are really beautiful. On a sunny day they would have been stunning
We initially parked in the restaurant car-park but were then given secure parking in the grounds with our own key. Martel is beautiful and interesting and this was a great find.

Room Tip: Our room, number 18, was perfect for reading as the weather was not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank provence1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Martel is an absolutely stunning village, and the Relais Sainte-Anne is in a perfect location set in gorgeous grounds. We booked some weeks in advance directly with the hotel via the internet, and reserved a table for dinner at the same time. At check-in our dinner reservation was confirmed. However, when we arrived at the restaurant, the staff had no knowledge of our booking. There were 2 free tables laid for couples, but we were told they were reserved for other guests. So, the waitress made up a large table in the centre of the room and we ended up sharing with another couple. What was even more irritating, however, was the fact the the the 2 other tables remained free the entire evening!

We found the staff to be indifferent, and the lady at check-out was spectacularly unfriendly. I speak good French and there was no excuse at least not ask if we had enjoyed our stay. Instead, she actually snatched my husband's credit card from his hand to take payment!

We would definitely return to Martel, but not to the Relais Sainte-Anne.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martel
8.7 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.9 mi away
Les Falaises Hotel
Les Falaises Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hostellerie Le Fenelon
Hostellerie Le Fenelon
#1 of 1 in Carennac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
#1 of 1 in Meyronne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beau Site Notre Dame
9.1 mi away
Les Vieilles Tours
Les Vieilles Tours
#6 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Sainte-Anne

Property: Relais Sainte-Anne
Address: rue du Pourtanel, 46600 Martel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Martel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Sainte-Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Relais Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Sainte-Anne Hotel Martel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing