We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful setting and excellent food, we had to stay there this time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Sainte-Anne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Sainte-Anne
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martel
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and excellent food, we had to stay there this time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Having eaten many meals at the restaurant we decided to stay overnight to see what the hotel rooms are like and make this an extra special start to our holiday in the Lot region.

From the moment we walked through the gates into the lovely picturesque gardens, situated to the side of the chapel, we were greeted by the hotel owners. Laura, the daughter in law, made us feel like we were family members returning home, as we were made to feel so welcome.

We were shown to our hotel room overlooking the former schoolhouse, and on stepping outside of our patio doors was a separate patio area with table and chairs. The room was bright and clean with a moderate sized bathroom.

There is an upper outside terrace for dining if the weather is good as well as a lovely restaurant / dining room. Food is excellent and very reasonably priced at 26 euros for 3 courses. We enjoyed the 'amuse bouche' prior to our superbly presented meal. All products are locally and seasonally sourced so the chef was very inventive and created something that looked stunning as well as tasting really good. Food is what I would call nouvelle cuisine but we both felt completely full up at the end of our meal. The restaurant was very busy with locals as well as residents on the night we stayed, so I would recommend booking your table.

We both agreed it was a delightful stay, enhanced by good food and beautiful surroundings.

We hope to return to this little gem of a hotel later in the year, but we need to lose a bit of weight beforehand!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAHPGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    34
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
90
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We only booked a room - and so cannot comment on the dinners or breakfast. Our welcome was correct - the receptionist seemed a bit cold but, on getting to know her, was quite the opposite.

Our room was no 5 - one of the most recently renovated - was perfectly acceptable; there was constant hot water, a very comfortable bed (with, amazingly these days, a turn down service) and, above all peace and quiet. The private parking seemed a bit open to any malefactor - but we had no problem. The room was 116 euro. After driving from the north of France, it was worth every centime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Once again Tripadvisor's reviews have steered us in the right direction. This hotel is such a peaceful oasis located in the charming town of Martel. My husband and I arrived here in the late afternoon after driving from Carcassone. What a treat! The grounds are lovely and gardens are obviously tended with care. We had a very large comfortable room with nice views of the chapel, koi pond and old schoolhouse. The bathroom was updated and spotless.
The restaurant alone is an excellent reason to come here. We had a fabulous meal that was served in their charming dining room by very helpful and professional staff. We are rather pathetic with our French and our waiter was more than helpful describing the menu. I definitely can say I had the best dessert I can remember having in very long time - a cookie base topped with lemon custard, lemon sorbet and meringue. Perfect. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful too.
We walked around Martel in the morning and did a little shopping at the market in the center before driving on to an apartment we had rented iin Limeuil for the following week. Both my husband and I agreed that Martel would be a very pleasant town to use as a base for touring the Lot and Dordogne area and wish that we had planned to spend more time at Relaise Sainte-Anne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We grabbed a 5 day break here in early July. We stayed in the double height granary suite with mezzanine bedroom, outdoor private terrace and enormous bathroom. The bed was big and comfortable and it was at a reasonable rate. The restaurant was quirky but then the whole place was and it was lovely for it. It's located in a quiet street just off centre of Martel a fabulous pictoresque little market town with plenty of restaurants and shops to mill about in. It has a private car park across the street from the main entrance. A solid white door opens up into a leafy courtyard of old buildings (used to be a school) and we were warmly welcomed.The hotel restaurant is a set menu bu if you stay more than 2 nights, the talented chef makes a special market menu from the 3rd night on. We had allergies so I left a note of the details and there were no problems. The food was lovely especially the set market menu and some the desserts were just beautiful. The owner and her staff were friendly and happy to help with any queries. The pool wasn't heated but was still nice to use and a decent size. The gardens were full of little benches to sit andread in the shade. The only thing stopping me from giving it 5* was a problem with drain smell in the bathroom but it wasn't bad enough to make us want to change rooms. All in all we'd return here again without hesitating.

Room Tip: For a bit of luxury for not much extra - book the junior suite (double height granary suite with pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
193 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I can't believe the negative reviews of Relais Ste Anne and nor should you. It's fabulous - wonderful ambiance, beautiful garden, excellent food, lovely rooms, friendly service and fantastic value! All this and only three stars. What do people expect? Ignore the miseries. Go there. It's magic!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay in the heart of Martel. As previous reviews state - it has potential to be top class, but it is just short of that.
The rooms are nicely appointed and stay nice and cool despite very hot weather. Beds are comfortable but the bathrooms could do with a minor upgrade.
The restaurant is fantastic - great quality food at a very reasonable price of just €25 for 3 courses. The chicken liver starter is to die for and the veal was equally good.
The gardens are full of hidden corners - you can choose sunny spots around the pool or a nice shady place under one of the many trees. The sun beds are in need of replacement though.
We would definitely recommend this lovely hotel

Room Tip: Room number 6 has a nice big terrace and a jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdmat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our initial visit to the restaurant was October 2011 - where we sampled an exquisite 3 course set menu, which was reasonably priced and we dined under the stars on the terrace area of the restaurant during an extremely warm evening . So impressed were we by the food (presentation & flavour) and the service from the staff that we decided to return here in July.

We were greeted by the delightful staff and shown to our table inside the restaurant (ironically poruing with rain in July).

Once again there was a 3 course set menu at 25 euros p.p. (A word of caution in that the a la carte is exactly the same courses as the set menu but each priced individually, so there is limited availability if you do not like what is on the menu & it would be more costly to buy this way. From my understanding the menu is "set" for a period of weeks as well).

Fortunately all of our party liked the choices available & the ladies started with a salad nicoise served with tuna steak whilst the men opted for fois gras. The main courses consisted of beautifully presented veal, cod or duck breast. The accompanying vegetables were perfectly cooked & were a wonderful addition to the flavoursome food. The food is very rich & the quality excellent. This is nouvelle cuisine & therefore the portions are not large but surprisingly filling.

Our dessert choice comprised a cheese selection, a strawberry & cream type dessert or a hot chocolate sauce with meringue & ice cream.

Overall this was French dining at its best. So impressed were we, that we booked to return the following week for an equally superb meal and did not leave disappointed.

We did not stay at the hotel, but have walked around the grounds previously & a must see is the little church that has since been deconsecrated. This is such a shame as we feel this would be a perfect setting for any wedding & I do not think that the wedding breakfast would be a disappointment.

Well done to Monsieur & Madame Rimet-Mignon, the proprietors of the hotel. They should be very proud of their son, the chef, and their daughter in law, who is the most pleasant and helpful French waitress we have ever met.

Let the diet start when you return home from holiday....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAHPGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martel
1.9 mi away
Les Falaises Hotel
Les Falaises Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
#1 of 1 in Meyronne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Pavillon Saint Martin
6.6 mi away
Auberge de Cartassac
Auberge de Cartassac
#1 of 1 in Sarrazac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Sainte-Anne

Property: Relais Sainte-Anne
Address: rue du Pourtanel, 46600 Martel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Martel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Relais Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Sainte-Anne Hotel Martel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing