We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delicious meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saveurs des Halles

Saveurs des Halles
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Martel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We went to this restaurant with friends who own a Chambres d'hôte in the area. They had never eaten there, but were keen to try it to see whether they could recommend it to their guests. We all left the restaurant very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the excellent service. It was the best meal we had eaten in Martel. Our friends were vey pleased to find it was somewhere they could recommend without qualification.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank susiekUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    92
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rignac, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Almost don't want to recommend this little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

My only criticism of our lunch here yesterday was the rather boisterous group of English diners seated in the middle of the room who made conversation difficult. But the husband/wife team who run this little establishment deserve all the accolades they have accrued so far, so what can I do. The restaurant overlooks the covered market place, so sitting outside or with the large windows open in summer must be really, really special. I intend to find out!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thabodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise in Martel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This small restaurant at the corner of the square, facing les "Halle's" deserves a better photo that the one in these reviews. Tables were on both side, flowers on a trellis by our table, interior decorated with modern shades, all very clean and welcoming. Food was very good. (Cabillaud in our case). Great desert. Service (by the owner) was friendly ... Even when the place filled up ... Since we were enjoying the food, the view and the wine (Julienas), we were not in a hurry, so we did not mind a few extra minutes to pay our bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lelli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A REAL TREAT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

On a cold April evening, the town seemed deserted. We chose this restaurant on the basis of the reviews in French. We were not disappointed. A warm reception, a nice table and an excellent range of both menu and carte. Although the first, we were alone for only a few minutes. By the time we left, there were five tables in action.

We only wanted one course - and chose the piglet and the turbot. And an solid bottle of Cahors from Château du Cèdre. Not cheap - but an excellent example of the "Black Wine of Cahors". While waiting, a delightful amuse bouche of potimarron soup and foie gras on toast. An unexpected bonus. Our food was delicious - cooked perfectly.

Coffee to finish - with, again an unexpected little treat of a chocolate mousse.

The service was impeccable - all done by the wife of the chef. It was interesting to watch her because one of the tables was taken by a couple with four children between 10 and 3. They were all given exactly the same attention and as courteously listened to as all the adults in the room.

I cannot recommend this place too highly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souillac, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

It was my second visit to this wonderful find. It's a 2 person team and very slick and professional. I can not fault this place. We are going again next week. The best value for money we have had in some time. it's a must do

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank declan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saveurs des Halles also viewed

 

Been to Saveurs des Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing