We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of A l'Oree du Bois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A l'Oree du Bois
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Futeau
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a lovely little family run hotel with a very good cuisine. He's in the Kitchen and serves breakfast. She's running the hotel. It is a little bit on the expensive side, but we just love going there oince or twice a year to relax, eat very well and catch up on local gossip with madame.

There are some nice walks to be made in the surrounding woods. If you take the road into the woods to the left of the hotel as you face it; climb up the hill and look carefully, you can still see evidence of "foxholes" dug by soldiers in the first world war.

Our dog is always welcome, which is a plus point for us.

It's best to reserve in the colder months so that madamer can ensure that the heating is at the appropriate level.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice and madame can show you them. So, pick that which suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul45BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    6
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds. Suffolk. England
Level Contributor
450 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for one night with our Labrador "Henry" using it as a stopover on our waqy through to Switzerland.
It is situated in a rural location and is lovely and quite with great views of the rolling fields.
We had a nice room situated on th eground floor in a block away from the hotel, it was very quite and peaceful and ideal for the dog.
Our room was very clean, it had a four poster bed with stone floor.
The restaurant was fab, we enjoyed great food, our French is rubbish but the owner/chef took time to come out of the kitchen and explain the menu, I only eat fish and was well catered for.
We had a lovely evening and a great breakfast.
Yes it isnt cheap, but I think most places in Europe now are expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed here for the second time in late September. Food is the priority here and it is really excellent. The menu is typically French, but if you don't like pigs trotters and sweetbreads there are plenty of other things to eat that are beautifully prepared and presented. My husband had crayfish which he says was the best he had ever had and I had pigeon with wild mushrooms from the forest which was delicious. I then just had cheese, of which there was a huge selection and my husband had Grand Marniere Souffle which took a little time to prepare so Madame bought us a tray of the most delicious home made sweet nibbles whilst we were waiting. Breakfast is excellent with homemade cakes,breads and jams. I would have no hesitation in recommending the l'Oree du Bois to anyone who liked their food. The rooms are clean and comfortable but are secondry to the business!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BDCGertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed one night at this peaceful "hotel" on our return journey from the Alsace. We loved the place! The food was the best all holiday and the wine list to die for! This is not a full-on hotel but rather a restaurant with rooms. We only wished we could have stayed two nights. It's ideally situated for visiting Verdun and the surrounding area.
Our suite "Buis" was lovely with a huge comfortable bed and superb bathroom area. Would we stay again - you bet!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The cooking is the heart of this establishment. People come form 20 miles away to eat here. But it is also a very good place to stay. Not flash or obsessive but simple and strong hearted...It is like an Alpine lodge with wooden facades and light and generous rooms.
The Salle a manger is superb. You will eat here as well as anywhere. And the wine list fantastic.The chef and his team have acquired four Michelin knives and forks.
The hotel is also extremely well run with friendliness but also high standards.
If you are in the area to see the World War sites or the Region and you want to stay somewhere in rural beauty then you should stay here.

  • Liked — Open and rural setting and privacy of rooms.
  • Disliked — It was quite expensive at £100 for two to eat dinner
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petertv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The hotel's website makes the setting look idyllic; it's certainly peaceful with pleasant views but the rooms where you'll be staying bear no resemblance to the photographs on the website. The hotel rooms are no more than a randomly furnished chalet terrace. The hotel owners were incredibly pushy about us dining at the hotel restaurant, which is clearly their pride and joy. Their desperation (and subsequent expression of "quel horreur") that we wouldn't be eating at the restaurant were quite unnecessary and offputting. We had even emailed no less than 3 times explaining, despite protestation, that we wouldn't be eating at the restaurant as we had made alternative arrangements for that evening. Despite its mediocre standard, the accommodation isn't inexpensive, and the final nail in the coffin came when they decided arbitarily to charge an additional 10 Euros fur a 10 minute use of the shed-like sauna at the end of the garden. We even had to fetch the water for ourselves and wait whilst the sauna heated up! I hope we didn't catch anything from the disgusting and wet piece of carpet in front of the sauna shed, where we changed in the open air as there were no changing facilites. Overall, over-priced and over-bearing. Although A l'oree du bois is convenient for access to the A4 Autoroute, for better value accommodation within 30 minutes or so driving, I would recommend Chateau Jaulny, where we also stayed later in the week. Chateau Jaulny also offers peace and an idyllic setting but without the unnecessary attitude - and at half the price.

  • Liked — views and location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ripejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Futeau hotels

Show Prices
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Small hotel in rural setting. Surroundings peaceful, mainly farmland.

Staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. Public areas attractive. Rooms attractive and clean, furnished interestingly.

Your views on this hotel will depend on your reaction to the food. If you like French food consisting of sea food and unusual bits of anatomy you will probably love it. If your tastes are simpler you may struggle.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ximera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Futeau
3.8 mi away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye
#1 of 1 in Beaulieu-en-Argonne
57 reviews
18.2 mi away
Chateau des Monthairons
Chateau des Monthairons
#1 of 1 in Dieue-sur-Meuse
202 reviews
18.3 mi away
Les Jardins du Mess
Les Jardins du Mess
#2 of 10 in Verdun
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hotel Le Chantoiseau
Hotel Le Chantoiseau
#1 of 1 in Chaumont-sur-Aire
25 reviews
10.1 mi away
Logis Le Tulipier
Logis Le Tulipier
#1 of 1 in Vienne-le-Chateau
121 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel de Montaulbain
Hotel de Montaulbain
#1 of 10 in Verdun
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Oree du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Oree du Bois

Property: A l'Oree du Bois
Address: 55120 Futeau, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Meuse > Futeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Futeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A l'Oree du Bois 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A l'Oree du Bois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a l`Oree Du Bois Hotel Futeau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing