We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful hotel with an exceptional restaurant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turenne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison des Chanoines
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turenne
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel with an exceptional restaurant”
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We chose Turenne because of its status as one of France's most beautiful villages and found the hotel through Trip Advisor. It's run by Chantal and Claude Cheyroux- Chantal looks after the guests while Claude prepares the most exquisite food for the small and atmospheric restaurant. - if you stay there don't even think about eating anywhere else. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with lots of character and the village itself is a delight. The very charming Chantal has good English and will be happy to advise on your sightseeing itinerary through the many beautiful nearby villages (don't miss Collonges la Rouge...stunning). The hotel is exceptional value for money, but the restaurant is so good that you'll finish up spending as much on food as on accommodation, and it's worth every centime. Fois gras with shaved black truffles, an incredibly concentrated asparagus soup served withe finely chopped mushrooms in scrambled egg, an amuse bouche of air dried duck breast with sweet melon balls- the cooking was as good as anything we had in six weeks in France, and that's saying something. The desserts are sensational-choose fruit, walnut or chocolate and Claude will present you with a selection of flavours you won't forget in a hurry. Enough- go and taste it for yourself. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingfrancophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    25
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Very pleasant stay in a village topped by a small but impressive castle. The hotel is off a small square with no parking of its own but this was no problem. The rooms are subject to the old nature of the building, ours was large and comfortable in a rustic way. The restaurant was very good, i think madames husband was the chef.
Madame was typical of her kind, efficient and business like but helpful even down to sending some of my wifes clothes home to us after we left them behind.

  • Liked — ambience, location
  • Disliked — steps at rear
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topographic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

I have visited France many times but not been to this part of France before. The region, Turenne and Collonges La Rouge are really worth a visit. Turenne is a perfect little town on a hilltop with a chateau on the highest point. The Maison des Chanoines is a beautiful small hotel - the rooms really tastefully decorated. I was travelling with my sister and brother-in-law and we were given two rooms with an adjoining sitting room with books and a sofa. The view from the windows in the bedrooms was lovely - the old stone buildings facing us covered in flowers and creepers. We dined one night across the road in the only other restaurant - which was very good. We then dined in the hotel restaurant the second night and it was really perfect. Breakfasts in the vaulted cellar were also fine. The rooms were really great value for the price, the owner relaxed and pleasant, I can really highly recommend it. It can be booked through the Guides de Charme hotels website if you cannot contact the hotel directly.

  • Liked — beatiful rooms and restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

We went there with our two little children. The place is wonderful, the restaurant is really good and the owners are sympatic. If you can, just go, you will enjoy ! BY the way, turenne is a marvelous city.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turenne
1.9 mi away
Auberge de Cartassac
Auberge de Cartassac
#1 of 1 in Sarrazac
103 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Bastidie
La Bastidie
#1 of 1 in Noailhac
36 reviews
4.4 mi away
Relais du Quercy
Relais du Quercy
#1 of 1 in Meyssac
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Chateau de Castel-Novel
8.2 mi away
Chateau de Lacan
Chateau de Lacan
#4 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
81 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel le Collonges
Hotel le Collonges
#1 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison des Chanoines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Chanoines

Property: La Maison des Chanoines
Address: Route de l'Eglise, 19500 Turenne, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Correze > Turenne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing