We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical setting”
Review of L'Estanquet

L'Estanquet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
mobay68
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magical setting”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We dined on the terrace overlooking an ancient church, in the off the beaten path town of St Maximum. We were staying nearby and we decided to dine there based upon reviews in Tripadvisor. Reservations are necessary as this is a very popular little restaurant. The owner worked in New York for many years and the chef is, I believe, from India. The cuisine was French with Some Indian influences. The food was good, the prices reasonable for France, and the setting was such a treat for North Americans who don't have ancient stone villages around every bend in the road!

I would recommend the prix fixe. Sit back and enjoy your meal and your very gracious hosts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mobay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    64
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming staff, great food.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We ate here twice during our week in the area - they really are very good indeed. We especially enjoyed the mezze, the steak tartare, and the melt-in-the-mouth lamb - but everything was excellent. The staff were also very friendly. You will need to book - we arrived Saturday and didn't get in until Tuesday! Bon appetit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrssunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A reliable welcome”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have happy memories of L'Estanquet from a previous visit to the Gard, and on our return this summer we were keen to return - which we did, twice! The welcome is warm, the food excellent, and the location delightful. Both times we went, most of the patrons were local - always a good sign! Between us we enjoyed beef, lamb and monkfish, and all were cooked and presented beautifully.
Do get a table on the terrace if the weather is right, and watch St Maximin go about its untroubled business while you enjoy your meal. And make sure to book at busy times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PJD2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-les-Bains, France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic but book”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A great surprise to find this quality of food and service in this beautiful town. A fantastic experience.
We were lucky to get a table but we were very early - they were turning people away all night - so book.
You will not be disappointed

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MellieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Soft breezes, friendly staff, great food.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is the perfect place to end your day. Soft breezes, a friendly and fun staff, and delicious food. What more could one want? We ate there three times while we were visiting, most times with a group. Everyone left feeling that the evening had come to a perfect conclusion. We sampled nearly everything on the menu and you really can't go wrong. I am not really a dessert person but the trio of panna cotta, molten chocolate cake, and brûlée is a must.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estanquet also viewed

 

Been to L'Estanquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing