We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Gardens

Rainbow Gardens
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saginaw, mi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Good beer and lively place- awesome service- sort of greasy and salty fish- lunches are great- not healthy type food

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WIlliam5606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
185 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great fried food way off the beaten path!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

For a recent friend's wedding, we had a rehearsal dinner (sort of) at the Rainbow Gardens. Actually 25 of us descended on it for a Friday night dinner. I am from seacoast New Hampshire where we know good fried food - this place can hold its own! I had the fried perch and walleye special and it was great! As for atmosphere, in a word, frantic and noisy, but everyone is loving it. The locals don't have a lot of options for dining, but they are fortunate to have this very good one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eeepee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Fresh Lake Perch on the Sunrise Side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Vacationing in the AuGres-Tawas area, we were looking for fresh lake perch. Locals told us we needed to drive to National City, a very small town about 15 miles away. It is located on a road cutting through a national forest, but keep going. It's worth it. The service was friendly and prompt and the perch were the best I've had since my Dad caught and filleted them in my backyard! Desserts were decadent. Perfect for a vacation splurge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 586sms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not bad, worth the drive, but quirky details”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Really really good selection of local beers and wines as well as the usual swill for children. Odd decorations inside are amusing, Staff is friendly and fun. I ordered the kitchen sink pizza and it was good value for money. The Italian sausage is not, close but not the best and the green olives were salty beyond words as they were obviously straight from a can. Food comes up quickly. No credit cards just cash. I overheard the waitress tell someone that the owner does not want to be a victim of credit card fraud which makes me laugh. I could not get a receipt that did not itemize so if you travel this place is no good as it lists your drinks on the receipt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chosen 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Broasted Chicken Feast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Best broasted chicken around. Service is good. Don't miss if you're in the area. Pizza is excellent as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rosestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Gardens also viewed

National City, MI

Been to Rainbow Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing