We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel des Gorges du Tarn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Florac
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very good room with modern decor. Very helpful staff. Excellent food beautifully presented. We had half board which was very good value. Easy parking in the grounds. No grumbles. Just a few minutes walk from the centre of Florac, but also a good centre for getting out to the surrounding area of the Cevennes and the Gorges du Tarn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0rge_D_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martialFlorac, Propriétaire at Hotel des Gorges du Tarn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Madam, Sir, We were very sensitive to your comments and we thank you very much and our team. We are delighted to have made you a pleasant stay. Cordially. Mireille and Martial PAULET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 173 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

Florac is a nice place with a spectacular waterfall in the centre of it. It makes a lot of noise, but you don't hear that in the hotel. Its in a quiet location and has lots of parking places. But no garden, no lounge. The rooms are not spectacular but okay, although we missed some drawers. The hotel is suitable for people with a wheelchair, some rooms have wide doors and special bathrooms. The rooms in the south side are the best, I wouldn't recommend the ones on the north side. We spent one night in such room, and it was downright chilly, especially the bathroom.
The people are very friendly, breakfast is okay and the restaurant is fantastic. People go their just for dinner and I guess that's why they have sacrified all their outdoor space to a parking. Understandable, but a pity. One can only sit in one's room ad there is no lounge neither.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and try to avoid the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmsterdamReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martialFlorac, Propriétaire at Hotel des Gorges du Tarn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Madam, Sir, We were very sensitive to your comments and we thank you very much and our team. We are delighted to have made you a pleasant stay. Cordially. Mireille and Martial PAULET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

You definitely come to this place for its food not its rooms. Much has been spent on good quality fixtures and fittings, in a very modern style, but the standard rooms are tiny, even though well-planned. Photo on the website made us think we would be getting one of the rooms with a sofa, of which there are only two and they cost 10euros more per night.
Food delicious, but menu has limited range and doesn't vary apart from one chef's selection of starter and main course. Cheese trolley brilliant, some very inventive and beautifully-presented desserts on the a la carte menu. However, on Wednesdays there is only a basic set meal, to allow staff a well-earned night off, but we weren't warned of this - thus a) were disappointed not to be able to select from a la cart b) food was of inferior quality of that served the previous two nights - a real shame. Tables rather closely packed. Small number of staff are very efficient, but if several couples sit down at one time there can be a very long wait.
Would definitely eat here again if in the area, but probably stay elsewhere, and probably only eat there for one night - not a Wednesday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martialFlorac, Propriétaire at Hotel des Gorges du Tarn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

We wanted to respond to your comments and we apologize for the misunderstanding.
You stipulate that you thought you had a room with a sofa, why did not you ask??? Actually rooms "Cévennes superior" rooms are more spacious but they are usually € 86 and we sell at € 70 season.
We have a pricing policy for any type of budget. Besides our website www.hotel-gorgesdutarn.com all rooms are visible in the photo album with the names of the rooms for booking is consistent with what was seen on the website. Can you tell us what site you have made your reservation if it is not through our website to see the photos, because in view of your comment it seems that there is deception, which was not in our habits.
About the menus you could wear your choice on the menu at 38 € "Gourmet Getaway" which has 5 inputs, 3 fish, meat 5 and 6 desserts.
Wednesday (off season) Our restaurant is open only with the menu of the day for residents who want and there is no obligation to take the meal. The menu is displayed automatically on Wednesday morning in the lobby.
Regarding waiting, when actually all customers pass table at the same time, it is rather difficult to serve everyone at the same time, even with all our efforts and goodwill, we are trying to do our best.
Cordially.
Mireille and Martial PAULET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were booked in for demi pension but felt very much like second class citizens. We thought it would be an easy option and chose the hotel for the restaurant rating. Normally when we have booked demi pension, the chef has always been keen to display his culinary skills. Here we were served a starter of very poor quality smoked salmon, followed by reheated pieces of fatty, gristly left-over lamb in a sauce whose only flavour was of salt. The dessert of gateau de chataigne was acceptable. What really annoyed though was that we were served standard white bread, whereas the other diners were served a much more interesting looking bread! Was it really worth the while of the hotel to discriminate against we 'demi-pensioners' in that way? The room was clean and the breakfast acceptable, but in view of our treatment on our first night, we booked out early and certainly would not return, nor would we recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0b28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martialFlorac, Propriétaire at Hotel des Gorges du Tarn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We would like to respond to your comment that questioned us. We do not take residents for second class, on the contrary, as we receive guests on half board throughout the season the same way that all of our clients. On entry you are talking about, it was not an ordinary smoked salmon but trout rose Ance marinated (local trout) , the dish was made ​​with Lamb Navarin shoulder and not fat lamb. When the bread, we serve the same bread to all our customers so we can not see where you have seen a difference in bread.
We apologize for not being able to satisfy you during your stay.
Cordially.
Mireille and Martial PAULET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were staying elsewhere and had booked into another restaurant in Florac for an evening meal. On our arrival at the original restaurant, we found the Patron rude and unfriendly and so looked elsewhere and found the L'Adonis.

Although the main dining room was fully reserved the staff immediately made a table for two available in a smaller foyer and made us feel welcome. The surroundings are modern but tasteful, this also applies to the innovative table settings.

The service was attentive and friendly despite the pressures of being fully booked. The menu de jour was good, however, we opted for the €38 menu which offered more choice. A good selection of meat and fish dishes are annotated where the recipe or ingredients are regional specialties, the same for the comprehensive wine list. The presentation and quality of the food was excellent - the cheese trolley is something to behold! Living in France this was one of the best meals we have had in many years, worthy of the Logis de France three casserole rating.

Altogether, a very pleasant evening which overcame our earlier disappointment; a pity the built up surroundings do not allow for eating outside on a terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank C J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martialFlorac, Propriétaire at Hotel des Gorges du Tarn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

The team joins us to thank you for your comment. We are pleased you have been a pleasant stay in Florac. Best Regards. Mireille and Martial PAULET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

There was someting faintly clinical about this place. Lack of a lift and no offer to help has been noticed by others on this site. The room was a superior which was OK size wise but the interior decorator has a very unpleasant sense of humour- ime green and grey was hardly restful! Dining was pretty formal, very cramped and busy. As we had our bay with us dinner was a pretty trying experience. Much of the dining staff are very young although helpful. There is another dining room which remained unused so maybe they should offer meals there for those like us with youngsters and with a less formal atmosphere. The food was Ok but a tad expensive (and we live in France and are used to food prices.) For a couple it would be a good choice in the area. On site parking was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anglogallois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Arrived 7.30 pm, cold, wet and tired. (having telephoned during the afternoon to say we would be later than 6 pm, after which time, they emphasised three times when we made the booking, our booking would be invalid). 'Greeted' by a middle-aged man on reception who made it quite clear that we were not welcome. He fussed for minutes about where we could park, he literally refused to give us the room key until we told him whether or not we would want breakfast the next day, he told us three times that we would not be served supper unless we were seated in the dining-room before 8.30 and then finally (we were on the second floor, there is no lift) he flatly refused a polite request to help us upstairs with heavy luggage.
The room was clean - that's about it really. Smallest possible double bed, the foot of which was about 12 inches from the wall and not much more space round the sides. Bathroom tiny; shower cubicle tiny. It was also cold - the radiator either didn't work or the hotel's central heating had not yet been switched on for autumn. Room cost 57,60 euros.
The dining room was very crowded, less than a foot between us and the next table, and small tables. Industrial strength overhead lighting, rather like a supermarket. We were seated at 8.10 pm. Menus arrived at 8.25. Order taken at 8.40. Wine arrived at 9.00. First courses at 9.10. The menu has pretentious and hugely long descriptions of the dishes e.g. langoustines rôties, parfumées à l'huile de cèpes et salade de légumes craquants' = a few OK small poached langoustines with some cold strips of assorted veg. This course was just OK, main course of scollops again just OK but dull. A first course 'méli mélo etc etc....' was tired and tasteless and a supposed 'selle de sanglier etc etc' was a small, tough, nearly cold porcine chop with two little patches of watery parsnip puree. The dining room staff were all very pleasant but there seemed to be only one person who was actually a waitress, the others a selection of young people who looked lost and didn't do much at all. These four dishes cost us 62 euros!!! We decided not to support the restaurant financially any more and went out to a bar in Florac for coffee. We didn't stay for breakfast either.
Florac is probably lovely in the sun, but on a grey and wet september day it wasn't lovely at all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ASJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florac
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Parc
Grand Hotel Du Parc
#3 of 3 in Florac
146 reviews
12.3 mi away
Chateau D'Ayres
Chateau D'Ayres
#2 of 8 in Meyrueis
503 reviews
9.6 mi away
L'Auberge du Moulin
L'Auberge du Moulin
#2 of 5 in Sainte-Enimie
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Mont-Servy
Hotel Restaurant du Mont-Servy
#1 of 1 in Mas-Saint-Chely
44 reviews
13 mi away
Hotel du Mont Aigoual
Hotel du Mont Aigoual
#1 of 8 in Meyrueis
237 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Burlatis
Hotel Burlatis
#1 of 5 in Sainte-Enimie
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Gorges du Tarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Gorges du Tarn

Address: 48 rue du Pecher, 48400 Florac, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lozere > Florac
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Florac
Price Range: $91 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Gorges du Tarn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel des Gorges du Tarn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing