We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff...exceptional restaurant..shame about the rooms....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie Le Castellas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Collias
Certificate of Excellence
Whipsnade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely staff...exceptional restaurant..shame about the rooms....”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Called me old-fashioned but Zebra-themed bedrooms and bathrooms with chandeliers perched in perspex boxes at the end of the bath in the Gard, perhaps the most rustic and rugged of French departements, seems, well, off, ill-judged....which is a pity because the place is run by lovely people and the restaurant, despite the mildly theatrical presentation which gets in the way of wonderfully creative and genuinely delicious food, is exceptional. Maybe, like the "amuse bouche" fancy French restaurants insist on presenting, a weird sort of " see- how-clever-I-am vanity, it's a flourish I just don't get. But, like game lodges in Africa with crystal chandeliers, it seems a trend too far when the region's native architecture, its materiel, is so exceptional and unique. But don't let me put you off. Stay here if only for the food. And it is comfortable and friendly and well-run.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slowflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    148
    54
    9
    11
See reviews for
60
338
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The food was the best with one of France's past number one chef's there. The hotel was a treasure with stone patios covered with canopies from trees. The restaurant is apparently closed two weekdays so make sure if you want to appreciate all they have to offer it isn't one of those day. However one of the three nights we were there it was closed so we were about the only ones in the hotel and the peace and quiet was wonderful. On the closed nights there is another jewel down the street that offers only one menu and he serves about 50 people a night. Can't recall the name but it is the only other restaurant in the Medieval Village. If you don't like your room ask for another. That's what we did. They were very spacious for Europe and many had remarkable features. Kayaking on the river is a short walk away and 2 days of that made my vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1042canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
398 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Provence. The GPS has a bit of difficulty - or I had difficulty following it as we first came to the back door of the hotel. But some local advice pointed us down a narrow alley and around the corner. I was very glad to have personal directions to the parking area (around another corner) after that! The hotel is built into a series of old stone buildings. The courtyard is very modern with a lovely garden and pool. Our room was in an atelier. Decor was rather quirky - particularly the pebbled floor in the bath. Staff were all very helpful in pointing our local highlights. We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Both very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostellerieleCa... C, Propriétaire at Hostellerie Le Castellas, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again next time. sincerely, Aurélie APARIS PERRIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a very nice stay here. We didn't try the restaurant but the bar tender was very friendly. The host when we checked in was excellent and walked us over to show us the parking which was super nice instead of just pointing. We had three rooms total and all were very different but nice. One was a little damp feeling but once we got the AC working it felt better. We enjoyed the location in a smaller town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed two nights as a part of a walking holiday with Inntravel . The room we were given was at the top of separate house at the back Very spacious and comfortable and with a nice bathroom and a big bath although somewhat bizarre plumbing which clanked. The shower attachment was impossible to control without flooding the floor . the highspot was the dinner served outside on the astroturfed terrace, This had numerous courses with a pre -starter and a pre-dessert which seemed a little OTT I actually found eating wmy way through all of this a second night a little difficult. Lovely breakfasts are served in fine weather in the same outside space .The service was both professional and charming.
There is a small but lovely pool with a jacuzzi. a verticle garden and a tiny sitting area with just 5 Designer sunbeds some shaded by an olive tree. I fear these are designed more to look good than for comfort and were not good for lingering on with a book.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We live in Nice, but needed to be near Nimes for a concert. Everything in Nimes was booked, so we stayed in Collias (30-35 minute drive even though reception said it was 20 minutes) Hostellerie Le Castellas was a wonderful place. The service was friendly, helpful - they even walked around the block with us to make sure we could find the private parking lot (very easy and secure parking). There are three restored buildings-we stayed in one that was separate from reception. Very quaint, my room was a little dark because it overlooked a courtyard that didn't get much sun. The AC worked brilliantly, which was very welcome since my house in Nice doesn't have it! There is a very artsy yet Provençal feel to the place-around every corner is a piece of interesting art, or an interesting chandelier. The terrace for breakfast was beautiful! The town itself is beautiful, and it is very close (7km) to Pont du Gard, the Roman bridge/aqueduct that is about 2000 years old. There is a beautiful river within walking distance to the hotel, where you can spend the afternoon swimming, kayaking, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a superior room for our friends' wedding (which also took place in the hotel). The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and the hotel and the room were smart and looked nice. The room was spacious with a large bed, large TV and a very large bathroom, including a roll-top bath which made my wife happy.

The grounds of the hotel include a garden with tables where you can eat/drink outside, and a small swimming pool with a handful of stylish sun loungers. The pool is very refreshing on a hot summer's day and also has a "jacuzzi" mode with bubble jets.

We only had one dinner in the hotel and that was the wedding dinner, so I can't really judge what a standard meal would have been like, although I noticed that what we ate was very similar to one of the (more expensive) menus. I can say that the food was all delicious and very well presented, and the service was great, particularly the jovial maitre d'hotel.

Breakfast consists of a buffet featuring various breads, cold meats, cheeses, fruits, yoghurt and cereal. You can also order eggs (after 8:45am) and I had a delicious omelette while I was there.

Minor grumbles? The breakfast is expensive for what it is, at around 18 euros per person, although if you order eggs you get more of your money's worth. Also, I needed to iron a shirt before the wedding and this proved impossible. There was no iron in the (superior) room, they were not able to find me an iron that I could borrow, and they had an ironing service (5 euros per item) but it required something like 24 hours advance notice, which I didn't have. I was disappointed that they could not source an iron from somewhere for me. Still, this obviously is not a problem that is likely to happen to you, and in any case it didn't detract much from my stay and doesn't stop me from rating this charming hotel a full 5 stars.

Room Tip: Room 16 on the top floor of the main building (a superior room) has a nice view of the pool, garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collias
4.1 mi away
Le Vieux Castillon
Le Vieux Castillon
#1 of 2 in Castillon-du-Gard
241 reviews
3.4 mi away
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses
2.2 mi away
La Begude Saint Pierre
La Begude Saint Pierre
#1 of 1 in Vers-Pont-du-Gard
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Gardon
Hotel Le Gardon
#2 of 2 in Collias
268 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#1 of 12 in Uzes
295 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Belle Vie
La Belle Vie
#1 of 1 in Saint-Hilaire-d'Ozilhan
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Le Castellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Le Castellas

Property: Hostellerie Le Castellas
Address: 30 Grand rue, 30210 Collias, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Collias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Collias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Le Castellas 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and elegance between Provence and Languedoc. The Aparis family has welcomed guests since 1989 in the medieval village of Collias. The Hostellerie Le Castellas is a group of 17th century buildings, restored in the manner of the stones of Vers Pont du Gard and the delightful style of the Languedoc region. Each room is individually decorated in a variety of styles from art deco to art nouveau and even baroque. A touch of modern comfort completes each one. Two magnificent stone vaulted lounge rooms open on to the zen shady garden planted with a variety of species. Below this garden, a swimming pool with jacuzzi is an invitation to calm and relaxation. Here the word pleasure takes on its full meaning as everything is designed for the well being and enjoyment of our guests. Areas for relaxation, original or charming details form a brilliant combination of materials, colours and light. In this utter haven of peace and gourmet pleasures, the Hostellerie Le Castellas welcomes you for an idyllic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie Le Castellas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Castellas Collias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing