We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a boutique hotel than a B&B - Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vouvray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manoir du Grand Echeneau
Ranked #7 of 10 Vouvray B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2005

Easily located in the quiet village of Vouvray (famous for its white, sparking wine) we were warmly welcomed by our host, Noel Terry and his two Labradors Jimmy and Roxy. Secure parking is available in front of the house. Noel (originally from England) and his English speaking French wife Marina are very knowledgeable on the Loire area and local wines. They were considerate and entertaining hosts.

We stayed here two nights in their 'Pompadour Room' - best in house according to our host. He's right. It was a lovely room as was the spacious, tiled bathroom with an excellent towel heater. The room was beautifully furnished with a desk, fireplace and big view windows. The huge bed (big, soft and English) was a treat after weeks of smaller, harder French beds and flat pillows.

The grounds are extensive (10 acres I believe) with an avenue of old lime trees, shrubs, flowers beds, orchard and an attractive swimming pool. One of the dogs accompanied us on our exploration walk, seeming to point out all the main features! There is also a fascinating troglodyte chapel dating from 1300AD in the grounds. The village centre is an easy walk with a number of restaurant choices.

Early evening drinks (local wines) and nibbles were served by the pool (small charge) and we dined with our host on our last evening (must be pre arranged). The dining room and salon are delightful rooms and we had a wonderful meal prepared by Marina. Our party of six was lively and informal. Check it out yourselves on [--]

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AtStarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Manoir du Grand Echeneau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 42 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2005

We have stayed with the owners Noel and Marina for the last 7 years…5 years in their previous Hotel near Bath, England and for the last 2 years in the Manoir du Grand Echeneau in Vouvray, near Tours.

It would be hard to find a more welcoming couple than Noel and Marina Terry, they will make you feel a part of the family and are more than happy to describe and recommend visits to the many local Château and other attractions in the Loire region plus pick you up from the Airport or Station upon your arrival. (Don’t forget to ask about the Daniel Jarry cave tour and Wine tasting).

The Manoir du Grand Echeneau offers an excellent choice of rooms, all recently refurbished complete with new bathrooms to a very high standard (we have stayed in most). The Main building is built into the side of the hill with many caves each side and above in the terraces plus a Troglodyte Chapel accessed from the second floor level.

You can enjoy all the luxury of a Manoir and gardens with décor to match many of the Chateaus you may visit, but at a sensible price with complete relaxation in the guest’s lounge or under the gazebo on the terrace. (Check out their website for some other photographs of the facilities).

Noel is an Englishman who speaks excellent French and Marina is French who speaks excellent English. Not forgetting the two dogs, Jimmy and Roxy who are also both bilingual.

Noel has just finished installing a new swimming pool and has transformed the gardens since their arrival 2 years ago. His other passion, like ours, is his love of wine…if there is anything you would like to know about French wine then he’s your man.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TheDigitalmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudinelagoutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank audunbeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Leg vooral aan de eigenaar uit wat de wensen zijn
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernardherstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouvray
1.9 mi away
Domaine des Bidaudieres
0.9 mi away
Les Hautes Roches
Les Hautes Roches
#1 of 4 in Rochecorbon
326 reviews
2.3 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rochecorbon
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Chateau de Noizay
Chateau de Noizay
#1 of 1 in Noizay
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Closeraie Chambres d'hotes
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Jallanges in Loire Valley (Between TOURS and Amboise)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir du Grand Echeneau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir du Grand Echeneau

Address: 19 rue du petit Coteau, 37210, Vouvray, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Vouvray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Vouvray
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing