We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domaine des Bidaudieres
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vouvray
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We saw La Domaine recommended in Alastar Sawday's book on France. Once again we were not disappointed. The building is breathtakingly beautiful. It has been restored to the highest quality . We stayed for four nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Our hostess was charming.. The rooms were tastefully decorated with high quality and stylish fittings. The swimming pool was a boon, as were the loungers by the pool. Breakfast was fresh croissants and other fresh daily bakery produce. The surroundings eg castles of the Loire , were on our doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    33
    6
    2
    10
See reviews for
42
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, NC
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed at this charming, gorgeous hotel for only one night during our Loire Valley trip, and wished we could have stayed longer! The proprietress was friendly and very charming, the rooms were really huge and elegant, and the expanded continental breakfast was delicious. Every detail about the beautiful house, almost a chateau, is exquisite. We even loved the cats!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed for one night in the troglydyte with our 3 young boys on a driving holiday to Spain. The boys were so excited to be staying a 'cave' and it didn't disappoint. The cave is more a small self-contained apartment with basic kitchen facilities. So rather than go out and eat that night we decided to get some local produce and eat at the outside table and chairs. It was perfect. The whole place is so peaceful.

The main house is beautiful and has been tastefully restored, the grounds and swimming pool are fantastic. Everyone at Bidaudieres was so friendly and helpful, I really didn't want to leave in the morning, another night would have been perfect. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu01London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Staying at Domaine des Bidaudieres for two nights was a highlight of our two week stay in France. The manor house, pool, grounds, and view couldn't have been more lovely...or French! We loved the French country decor in our room and the relaxed environment. I can't say enough good things about the feeling we had during our time there. It offered the perfect setting to use as a base for exploring the nearby chateaux of the Loire. We especially loved Chenonceau. Nicole was so wonderful and hospitable to us throughout our visit. Merci beaucoup! We hope to return someday with our daughters.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoThereSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Just back from two nights in the 'gatehouse' at Bidaudieres, where we were made very welcome by Nicole and the friendly staff. The kids enjoyed being near the Vouvray vines (just outside the window) and while we would have liked to have stayed in a troglodyte room, they were booked up earlier.

Bidaudieres is very well signposted from Vouvray, but easy to find anyway. It sits under the cliff that runs to the north of the Loire from east of Vouvray to Tours.

The rooms were good - and from reading other reviews you can see that there ha sbeen plenty of investment in improving things over the years. No complaints from us - nice rooms, decent air conditioning and a nice breakfast. It was good to be able to park our car right outside the self contained 'gatehouse', as we were only there two days and it made it easy to unpack, pack and get in and out.

The kids loved the heated swimming pool while we enjoyed visiting their own cellars under the cliffs. Good value, friendly, useful base for travelling to places like Amboise, Chenonceau and Azay-le-Rideua (bit further away, granted).

Definitely recommended

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omelettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Beautiful old chateau with very nice owners. Large, clean, very nicely furnished rooms and public areas. Great pool and gounds. When can we go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogchow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

The Domaine des Bidaudieres served as a comfortable base for five days touring the chateaux in the Loire. We were welcomed very warmly and given useful tips and informaiton about the area and the restaurants.

We enjoyed our spacious double-aspect room that had lovely views over the garden and orchard. The pool came in very handy when we came back from a hot day on the road. Mme Suzanne is a kind and knowledgeable hostess - just ask her for information on the best sights and places to visit.

Breakfasts were sinfully delicious with wonderfully fresh croissants still warm from the baker's oven.

Definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouvray
11.4 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
486 reviews
9.7 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
2.8 mi away
Chateau de Noizay
Chateau de Noizay
#1 of 1 in Noizay
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Les Hautes Roches
Les Hautes Roches
#1 of 4 in Rochecorbon
314 reviews
15.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
279 reviews
6.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Bidaudieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Bidaudieres

Property: Domaine des Bidaudieres
Address: Rue du Peu Morier, 37210, Vouvray, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Vouvray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vouvray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Domaine des Bidaudieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Bidaudieres Vouvray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing