We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, lots of extras, needs a little more work” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Jallanges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau de Jallanges
Ranked #4 of 11 Vouvray B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, lots of extras, needs a little more work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Our one and only Chateau overnight stay was at Chateau de Jallanges. Very difficult to find. GPS couldn't figure out the location. Beautiful from the outside. Our room was lovely and huge! Bed was rather lumpy and the carpet in the bathroom was well past its prime. Breakfast was simple but lovely with homemade violet jam! Lots of little touches like a nightcap and cookies left in the room, hot tea and coffee service available as well. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gloryb2god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    21
    10
    13
    16
See reviews for
38
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brussels, belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Grand entrance through a tree lined drive leads to impressive manor house, with beautiful grounds. Don't expect a hotel: this is high class bed and breakfast, really niche territory: grand old furniture, faded wood panelling, four-poster beds (although ours was not strictly a four-poster bed, but it had a good canopy approximation), stone fire places, deep armchairs, fabric wallpaper . Love it or hate it: we loved it! On arrival we were welcomed warmly, and after unpacking we found a glass of chilled rose' waiting for us in the courtyard (hurray!). In the evening, there was a big family party in the front garden, but the rooms face onto the back, and there was no noise at all (thick walls!). The owner maintains the house through weddings and receptions (it only has seven rooms), and it is a great place for both. It even has its own chapel. Great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niccoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Very overpriced for the standard. The bed linen and mattress were so tired and worn out, there was not the fresh feeling a hotel room should have. The whole place was littered with tacky bits and pieces giving a general feeling of unnecessary clutter. The bath took 30 mins to fill as the water pressure was so low.

The gardens were in desperate need of care and attention.

That said, the English owner was welcoming and the breakfast fabulous. All the guests share a large table and can chat about their travel experiences.

I feel this place would be better marketed as a bed and breakfast in a chateau, not a grand hotel. I would have been happier paying 85 - 95 euros, I bet you'd get more business at that price. Maybe you could buy some new sheets?

Good luck.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Plan to spend a few days here and enjoy the chateau.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We had an unplanned 1 night stay at this lovely chateau. After a very hot day we enjoyed a swim in an attractive pool and a good sleep in an attractive bedroom overlooking the extensive gardens. Breakfast was a delight with an unusual variety of confitures made on the estate and good conversation with the French owner. Overall made to feel welcome and relaxed here and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0rkshire37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed at the Chateau for 5 nights and had a terrific time. Our trip started with a complimentary glass of Champagne in the courtyard as the owner told us the story of this wonderful place. It was described as a "Labour of Love" and given all that has been done to the Chateau since bought in the 1980's one can only be in awe of what has been accomplished by the owners.

The Chateau is a short pleasant drive off the main roads but well worth it. The gardens are beautiful and the walk around the property is energizing. if you want new then find a Hilton to stay at but if you want to feel like your are living in rural France with that type of peaceful environment then this place is for you.

The owner is a great person, helpful, engaging and proud of his place which he should be. We awoke each morning to a wonderful breakfast and the braying of "Cuddles" the donkey who welcomes your attention as does the dog of the family.

All the sites of the Loire Valley are within easy drive as are some wonderful restaurants in Vouvray a mere 5 to 7 minutes away by car. Vineyards are everywhere if you want to take a tour or a sip of wine.

My wife and I loved the place and would recommend it to others looking for something outside the norm of "big hotels" which have their place but not here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTraveller775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

We only stayed one night but wished we had time to stay longer. When you first drive up to the gates the Chateau had a Wow factor! We met the owner at Breakfast, who was very friendly and let us taste his homemade jam's and marmalade, which were wonderful! The owner showed us pictures of how he had transformed the Chateau from a ruin! We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laressa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouvray
8.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
7.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
4.8 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rochecorbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
13.5 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
3.5 mi away
Les Hautes Roches
Les Hautes Roches
#1 of 4 in Rochecorbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Jallanges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Jallanges

Property: Chateau de Jallanges
Address: Vernou-Sur-Brenne, 37210, Vouvray, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Vouvray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Vouvray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Jallanges 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Jallanges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Jallanges Hotel Vouvray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing