We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly”
Review of La Tonnelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tonnelle
Ranked #7 of 10 Vouvray B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Mrs the owner gives a warm welcome, informal chambre d'hôtes. Guests are made to feel like family in the rustic home partially carved out of the stone of the hillside. Sit under the "tonnelle" and its 100-years-old graperine, climb spiral stairs to the original, one of a kind rooms.
A fine introduction to the real like in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

A stay at La Tonnelle is a stay with family you've not yet met. One of the many "troglodyte" structures in the area, the house and garden are partially hacked out of the stone behind them. The vegetables you eat come from the garden of the chambre d'hote itself. I arrived having been involved in an accident; I can't really express adequately how extremely concerned and helpful the proprietress, Sylvie Duchateau, was, how far above and beyond normal expectations she went for me. If you're seeking a luxurious, antiseptic, regimented experience, you may be confusing a five-star hotel with this one-woman operation. But if quirky, unique (immaculate!) rooms off winding stairs, taking meals at the large kitchen table in front of the stone of the hill behind and surrounded by Mme. Duchateau's collection of Moroccan ceramics, or outdoors under the "tonnelle," arbor, for which the establishment is named, its 100-year-old grapevine heavy with Baco grapes, sound like the interesting, informal entree into local life you're seeking, by all means make haste to La Tonnelle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fleurdelis1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We spent two night at la Tonnelle de Vouvray and loved it. Our host Sylvie was charming and made us feel very welcome. The room was very nice and the breakfast was great. We staid at a dozen B&B in France on that trip and this one left us with great memory. Thank you Sylvie.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed for just one night, but that was more than enough. There was clutter everywhere, like an untidy home - there were even the dirty dishes sitting around the eating area from the previous guests. The decor has a lot of room for improvement, but that's not a big deal. The bedding was clean, but the towels smelled musty. There was no shower curtain, which made things awkward. When we came down for breakfast there was cold coffee and half of a stale baguette; the owner showed up 15 minutes after the time we had arranged for breakfast with fresh baguettes and croissants (after we had eaten the stale one).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank snwbrdwndsrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brigitte c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascorcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank StephaneHenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vouvray hotels
1.7 mi away
Domaine des Bidaudieres
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Jallanges in Loire Valley (Between TOURS and Amboise)
0.9 mi away
Bagatelle, chambres d'hotes en Touraine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Closeraie Chambres d'hotes
1.5 mi away
Maison Melrose
Maison Melrose
#2 of 3 in Vouvray
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clos Mariotte
Clos Mariotte
#9 of 10 in Vouvray
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tonnelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnelle

Address: 25 rue de la Monaco, 37210, Vouvray, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Vouvray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Vouvray
Price Range: $92 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotels At vouvray, 10 kms from Tours and Amboise, chambres d'hôtes in an old restored house that once belonged to a wine-grower. Surrounded by old stone walls, vines growing over the terrace, you can still enjoy the sun in the small quiet garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Tonnelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing