We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem--Wonderful Owners, Accomodation and Cuisine!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Semblancay
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Real Gem--Wonderful Owners, Accomodation and Cuisine!!!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed here while visiting the Loire chateaux and had an extremely comfortable room and enjoyed the great service and fabulous diners every night of our stay. Patrick and Monique and their son Max were the most kind and friendly hosts that we met anywhere during our two month trip around France and we look forward to our return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jafas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    40
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
102
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bergerac
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

This hotel was fantastic. He has plentiful and secure parking, a walled garden. Our room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, light, airy and well furnished. The large bathroom was well equipped with two sinks. There is a shower, corner bath and separate wc. The bed was very comfortable and the room well airconditionned. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly, extremely helpful and charming. To conclure, this hotel is fabulous to discover the Loire Valley and i hope to return very quickly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zebehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District Uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Food and service could not be bettered; but good on all ratings. We had 3 nights of indulgence. It is handy for Tours city, seeing the Loire chateaux and easy to reach from the Autoroute.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marrsbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I spent three nights at the Mère Hamard at the end of July on a short tour of the Loire castles and I found the place absolutely pleasant. The rooms were very nice and clean, the service attentive and the staff extremely helpful. Only regret (due to a pretty tight sightseeing schedule), I had no chance to try their restaurant: it will be for next time...

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel Mere Hamard. Everyone there was so kind to us. The restaurant food was excellent and reasonable. The room was very comfortable and very clean. We hope to go back soon !

  • Liked — the friendly staff and the amazing food
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnnymin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2008

This hotel is a great spot to stay in the Loire Valley if you are looking for value for money rather than the bigger more tourist oriented hotels.
As an english couple who speak no French, the staff was extremly pleasant and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, clean and newly decorated. And there were all the modern amenities including free wifi, flat screen tv and a great bathroom with bath AND shower. The breakfast and the food in the restaurant were gorgeous !
I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — the service and the food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank otis35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2008

I notice that other reviews for this hotel are 2007, so wonder if standards have dropped this year? Our rooms were lovely, but the welcome ( or lack of it) that we got from the staff, especially in the restaurant made us feel very uncomfortable. Apart from the young man who greeted us initially and showed us our rooms, and where to park our bikes,we were met with disdain by the restaurant staff, particularly the Maitre d' - female, and - we imagined- the owner. We were told to be in the restaurant for 7.30pm, but it was 8pm before we were brought anything to drink and we had to ask repeatedly for water. The woman taking our meal order was cool and abrupt; and the food was of the Picasso type - ie it looked like a masterpiece - but it lacked substance. Three bites and it was gone. Two of our party chose the Pork dish and the entire meal would not have filled two spoons. While the cheesboard offered a fantastic choice, it was served by Madame Miserable, so any joy we might have had in our cheese course was spent in discussing what could be the matter here.
New staff were nervous, dropped things and served food from the wrong side, with a long wait for a dessert course which was then abruptly flung in front of my friend before she had time to ask for a fork. All in all this was a great disappointment - and it was the worst experience of our 15 day stay in France. We travelled from Caen in Normandy down to Perpignan by the Med, on our bicycles and stayed in 15 different hotels and Chambres d' Hotes. The four of us voted this place bottom of our list - and yet it was the most expensive, by some distance. Every other place we stayed at showed considerable interest in our journey, and many hoteliers and chambres d'hotes owners got up early to give us coffee/tea before our 7am departure, but not this one.! I would certainly not recommend it.

  • Liked — Spacious room, good bathroom, comfortable surroundings
  • Disliked — Dreadful service in restaurant. Made to feel very unwelcome. Constantly trying to attract attention of staff.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semblancay
7.5 mi away
Chateau de Beauvois
Chateau de Beauvois
#1 of 1 in Saint-Etienne-de-Chigny
185 reviews
3.8 mi away
Domaine St Roch
Domaine St Roch
#1 of 1 in Salzuit
68 reviews
7.9 mi away
Le XII de Luynes
Le XII de Luynes
#1 of 1 in Luynes
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
7.4 mi away
Mercure Tours Nord
Mercure Tours Nord
#6 of 88 in Tours
550 reviews
21.8 mi away
Le Fleuray
Le Fleuray
#1 of 1 in Cangey
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard

Property: Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard
Address: 2 rue du petit Bercy, 37360 Semblancay, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Semblancay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Semblancay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes outside Tours, in the Heart of the chateaux of the Loire, La Mère Hamard has made its mark on the village of Semblançay. This house has been here for over a century and has a fascinating history. It is in this place that we suggest you crossing a few hours in our company. We could speak to you for a long time in writing about our passion for all which titillates papillae. But we shall not make him: nothing replaces the experience of the plate and that of the glass, which we hope for it will be for your taste. All our products are home-made from fresh products, selected strictly. We attach a particular choice to the origin of products, which we prefer of season and picking. Best Regards, Alice et Olivier Loize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing