We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay in paradise”
Review of Prieure d'Orsan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maisonnais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prieure d'Orsan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maisonnais
boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A stay in paradise”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our host Patrice could not have been more hospitable. The cuisine much of which came from the gardens was exquisite and accommodated my taste preferences. . The gardens were pure joy! This area has many treasures and we wished we could have stayed longer than the six days we had allotted.

I do not agree with the negative criticisms of the rooms . They are tastefully decorated in keeping with the setting of this medieval Prieure and are very well appointed.

I have been learning French , and am just barely at an intermediate level. While Patrice spoke English he was extremely patient with my efforts to speak french and was willing to follow my lead in choice of language. I was very grateful .

When I left I felt I had been a guest of a gracious host at a charming country home and it was well worthy of its membership in Relais and Chateau.

Room Tip: We loved our top floor room which overlooked the exquisite gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel/restaurant is in the middle of nowhere but I imagine most guests, like us, stayed there to spend time in the gardens, which are spectacular...each twist and turn revealing yet another gem. There is a shop.

The hotel/restaurant has comfortable and stylish public rooms with books and magazines a'plenty as well as various collectables.

However, our bedroom and bathroom were disappointing. All walls and celings in both were clad in bright pine wood so they resembled (and felt like) a ski chalet or sauna. While linens were of high quality the bed and pillows were not. The view of the garden, however, was lovely...although you have to stand up to see.

Shutters were on the 'inside' of the windows. It was extremely hot but were unable to leave our windows open because there are no curtains/blinds and we wanted to sleep beyond dawn. I'm sure this could be easily rectified.

The photograph in the Relais & Chateaux website is of a bedroom opening onto the gardens...no pine in sight. This is what we expected.

A small thing but I would not have expected plastic wrapped cups for water at this price.

Dinner was good with produce from the garden. Breakfast was very disappointing....

I would advise visiting the gardens but staying elsewhere. Sadly, this is not the standard I would expect from Relais & Chateaux.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground level. From photographs they don't look as though they are totally wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very high class exquisirely appointed but retains the rustic feel of the original priory. Extraordinary gardens. Unpretentious meals but completely superb taste experience. No matter that there was no choice. You are being shown the artistry of the chef. Unlike a lot of luxury dining the artistry is in the taste not in the visuals.Quiet peaceful and elegant countryside experience which is unique, unparalleled in our experience

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter1003930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A beautifully restored old Priory with stunning gardens which have been created by the owner over the last 20 years. He has had a most extraordinary vision and has created something quite unique Dinner was fantastic although we weren't offered any choice - there simply was no menu. I'm sure he would have done something special if there were allergies, dislikes etc.
Breakfast was disappointing though for such a wonderful place and there was no option of eggs etc.
We were also very disappointed not to have a shower in our bedroom other than a hose attached to the bath with no surrounding curtain. Really not expected for a Relais & Chateaux hotel of this standard or price!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower when booking if you want one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremySalvesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night Dinner B&B rate and paid around 395e, we emailed in advance that I required a gluten free diet and every effort was made to provide me with beautiful gluten free food. The room was lovely with handcarved wooden interior very upmarket challet style it had views over the gardens, the owner was friendly and helpful.
The gardens are open to the public with tea rooms and this is where we had to go for our food and drinks on arrival, I would have prefered to sit in the hotel lounge and have a drink.
The food was really lovely, the veg was fresh from the gardens.
The only downside is the wasps... they were everywhere and did spoil the ambience in such a beautiful setting.
On arrival we were confused as where to check in as there are two entrances, one is the public entrance to the tea rooms and gardens the hotel entrance is further down the road and we needed to toot our car horn for someone to open the gates, we felt uncomfortable doing this.
This is a special place with great food and good service just watch out for the wasps.

Room Tip: Rooms all on the top floor over looking the beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Prieure D'Orsan is an old monastery beautifully restored and surrounded by unbelievably wonderful gardens. We planned on spending a day exploring the area but, other than a short bike ride, stayed on the property to enjoy the serenity it afforded. The delicious food revolves around what is available in the garden that day. Patrice is the soul of the property. He is aided in this labour of love by Gilles and their team in creating a jewel in the middle of the rolling hills of central France. We can't wait to go back to see the completion of the "bee castle".

Room Tip: We enjoyed breakfast on our terrace both mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cb12345MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed here for just one night on the way down to the South. It's a beautifully converted priory which the owners (architects) bought derelict. They have restored it lovingly. The gardens are also beautiful and the restaurant food good homecooking (no choice but I advised them of a food intolerance which was no problem). Perfect English spoken. The public rooms are gorgeous, personally I didn't like the pine panelling in the bedrooms which gave a Swedish sauna feel but they are comfortable and well equipped. The gardens are beautifully laid out and very architectural (again I felt they could do with a bit of softening). These are personal taste issues, it's a lovely place and certainly we'd stay there again, maybe for longer.

  • Liked — The building
  • Disliked — Pine panelling
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5492Cardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maisonnais
12.5 mi away
Hotel du Lion d'Argent
Hotel du Lion d'Argent
#1 of 3 in La Chatre
102 reviews
12.0 mi away
Fasthotel Saint Amand Montrond-Orval
16.7 mi away
Hotel Les Dryades Golf & Spa
Hotel Les Dryades Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pouligny-Notre-Dame
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Le Noirlac
Le Noirlac
#1 of 4 in Saint-Amand-Montrond
152 reviews
19.7 mi away
Au Coeur de Meaulne
Au Coeur de Meaulne
#1 of 1 in Meaulne
86 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel L'Amandois
Hotel L'Amandois
#2 of 4 in Saint-Amand-Montrond
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prieure d'Orsan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prieure d'Orsan

Property: Prieure d'Orsan
Address: 18170 Maisonnais, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Maisonnais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maisonnais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Prieure D'Orsan France/Maisonnais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing