We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B I highly recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moulin du Fief Gentil
Ranked #2 of 3 Blere B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 25, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay for several days while in the Loire valley. It was convenient to the 5 chateaux we wanted to visit. Every part of the B&B was beautiful - our spacious bedroom, the lovely breakfast room, the comfy common room, and the outdoor sitting area around the pond. The owner, Florence, was very helpful with advice and local knowledge. The breakfasts were very good, but the dinner was excellent. The dinner is an option that everyone should take advantage of. Florence made a 4 course meal from local fresh ingredients. The main course was a result of a comment I had made at breakfast that day. It couldn't have been better. We both felt that staying in the charming town of Blere, was a better choice than any of the other towns we visited. In conclusion, we highly recommend it, and hope we can return there for another stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BnBFan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 123 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2009

The mill house and mll pond are beautiful and the location is great for visiting chateaux. When we arrived, the proprietess gave us a long and severe listing of all the forbiddens and we felt like she was keeping a cold and watchful eye on us at all time. It made us want to avoid being around her. Her husband was super nice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zephyr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gentil37, owner at Moulin du Fief Gentil, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2009

Thank you for your remark. I did not realize that the way I use english language could transform the presentation of the house and the rules for living together in the same house in a "listing of all the forbiddens". I understand in that case that you can have the impression that a "watchful eye" was on you, and that was of course not intentional. I am sorry for this, and I will certainly be more aware in the future about the way I introduce the guests to the house. Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Free to come and go without disturbing the hosts; well equipped rooms and a very agreeable common area. The hosts were knowledgeable and proud of their region and gave me good advice. The dinner was more than expected! The weather was good and the other guests also made the stay even better - no guarantee on that though!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank americaninfrance92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

The property is beautifully presented with spacious rooms and loads of character. We found the owners to be very friendly and they made us feel like personal guests. The evening meal, cooked by Florence, was delicious and a great opportunity to meet other guests and share experiences.

Blere is well located to explore the Loire chateaux and a pleasant town with several bars and restaurants all within walking distance of the Moulin.

Stayed: February 2008
3  Thank nik57Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

This is a wonderful place to stay when visiting the Loire. The location is near many chateaus, and the town of Blere is charming with restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance. If the weather is nice, spend some time sitting outside gazing at the pond and admiring the old mill.

Mme Heurtebise is a charming, personable hostess. Her English is excellent, and she has many helpful suggestions on what to see and how to get there. Breakfast is superb (with her homemade preserves), and our room (Clementine) was large, quiet, and very comfortable. If you are lucky, she will (for a reasonable price) make you an outstanding dinner using local ingredients. The food and wine are included, and it is highly recommended.

We recommend highly this wonderful little property. Go there!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wtcSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We loved the property. It is in a beautiful setting. It was cold and rainy while we were there so that we could not enjoy the pond and the grounds around the Mill. We had the Miller suite. It is very spacious. The separte bedrooms and bathrooms worked out very well for my 12 year old daughter. The location is convenient and the hostess gave us a very good dinner recommendation in the heart of the village. The hostess (no host was around) was "scary" according to my daughter. She would not give additional blankets to us on very wet and cold nights. The heat had been turned off for the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2005

Le Moulin du Fief Gentil (-) Having visited France 15 times over the past 20 years, I am always delighted when I discover a new "find". The highlight of our most recent trip to the Loire Valley was our stay in the 500 year old former water mill, "Le Moulin du Fief Gentil". Our hosts, Florence and Francois-Xavier, were very welcoming, outgoing, and fluent in English. The atmosphere was really as if we were invited guests in their home. We all met for drinks in the two story high living room with its exposed beams and rafters each evening and enjoyed local Vouvray wines. The breakfasts and four course dinners were delicious and served in the amazing dining room, one wall of which is glass and allows a view of the remnants of the old mill wheel and waterfall as the stream from the pond outside runs directly under the house. Unlike some other B & B's which are miles from anything, this magical place is within easy walking distance of Blere's wonderful village center. We also loved the convenience of having the chateaux of Chenonceaux and Amboise only minutes away by car. "Un grand merci" to Florence for her warm hospitality as well as her great advice on day trips, local restaurants, etc.

15  Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moulin du Fief Gentil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin du Fief Gentil

Address: 3 rue de Culoison, 37150 Blere, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Blere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blere
Price Range: $102 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a large park with a lake, this former watermill of the 16th century is carefully restored and represents a haven of peace.The spacious and tastefully decorated rooms,are all equipped with private bathroom (bath or shower and toilet). Antique furniture and warm colors offer you a cocoon where you feel well.The lounge in the former mechanical room of the mill offers kettle, fridge, microwave to prepare drinks or snacks to enjoy in this room, under the trees at the edge of the pond or on the terrace.Breakfast is always a popular time: you can taste the homemade jams, pastry or dessert of the day cooked by your hostess, goat cheese from the region, fruit, etc. .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Moulin du Fief Gentil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing