We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and harming place "chez l'habitant"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau du Vau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau du Vau
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballan Mire
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
208 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Quiet and harming place "chez l'habitant"”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The chateau du Vau is inhabited by the family who rents several rooms. The rooms are large and nicely furnished in the old style of the castle. The owner is around 45 years old and has retreated in this family house to host guests and is keen to give a personal welcome and will do the small talk upon arrival (showing the different places to visit in the vicinity and the location is very central for the castles of the Loire including Villandry with its extraordinary gardens and Azay-le-Rideau) and also at breakfast which is typical French. They do not cater for an evening meal but can provide a type of a pic-nic box with bread, cheese, some pastries, a cold soup and of course the wine included, and which you can eat in the park where there are several locations with chairs and table. They have a large swimming pool overlooking the fields and which very peaceful. We can truly recommend the place, and difficult to find anything negative about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zitavskeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just got back from a night's stay in one of the brand new tree houses, situated in the grounds of Chateau du Vau, conveniently located about 10km from Tours and Villandry.

And....we loved the whole experience! Contrary to some other reviews published on this site, we found the host to be absolutely charming and very welcoming and we liked his unconventional approach.

The tree houses or cabanes (of which there are two) are the most wonderful idea, especially in such a beautiful setting. The chateau and its grounds have a faded grandeur and we liked the fact that the place was not too twee or tourist-oriented. The house and the attached farm are still very much working businesses.

We stayed in le Cabane d'Afrique and were blown away not just by the engineering of the tree house - 15m up - but the attention to detail that the hosts had paid to every aspect of the cabin's design. By definition it is cosy - a bedroom, bathroom and wonderful verandah - but it has been beautifully designed and decorated according to the African theme and is thoughtfully appointed. Solar lights and tea lights are provided for nighttime, plus a head torch for reading! Extra blankets are available in a trunk at the foot of the bed, if the faux fur bedspread is not sufficient. A picnic breakfast is delivered and winched up into the treetops for your enjoyment.

You probably wouldn't want to stay in the cabanes for more than a couple of nights, and, if you are doing the Loire 5*, then this is probably not your bag. But if you are after a memorable night or two, in a comfortable, beautiful setting then look no further. The treehouses are a feat of great imagination (kids would love them) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Big thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nims2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Chateau du Vau is in a great location to explore the Loire Valley. Bruno is friendly and helpful. The chateau has been in his family for generations. Their main business is as a farm - renting rooms is a secondary business. He's available to help with questions in the morning and at some times during the day. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. Great to have Wi Fi. Breakfast is the only meal available. Bruno suggested nearby L'Etape Gourmand for dinner (5 min drive outside Villandry) where we had the best meal of our trip to France. Beautiful grounds, beautiful countryside. Nearby Savonniere is perfect for picnic by the Cher River with sandwiches/quiche from the boulangerie. Very relaxing surroundings as a base to explore near Tours.

Room Tip: Our family of 4 (kids 13 and 16) fit comfortably in one room with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CantWaitForParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Looking for a true experience of French hospitality to share with our children, we came across Chateau du Vau through the Alistair Sawday website. What a good choice! Not a corporate business hotel, not an "over-designed" place where we had to worry about whether or not our children were quiet enough..Just a genuine family welcome, relaxed and unfussy.

We loved the large bedrooms, stylishly furnished, and the artefacts from many foreign adventures throughout the house. Our children spent most of their time in the pool, or chilling out in hammocks in the shade. We all enjoyed the great breakfasts, long and unhurried enough to have some really good conversations with Bruno, who was very tolerant of our inadequate French!

We would thoroughly recommend le Chateau du Vau to anybody, particularly families. We had been planning many days out visiting tourist sites, but in fact only saw one - Chateau de Vau was too nice to leave...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We wanted to explore the Loire Valley nearby a larger city (Tours) but also some rest and possibiltiy to relax when 'coming home'. Chateau du Vau is definitely the place to go. Pleasant rooms in this old family house. LOVED (!) the atmosphere of a family history and kindness and helpfulness of Bruno Clement, the owner. The swimming pool is a definite plus, it can get warm on the countryside. Would absolutely stay here again when visiting the area!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The chateau is located in green surroundings, on a working farm (we had a bit of trouble finding it, even with the gps).
As someone else mentioned, it's got a sort of faded elegance about it.
The rooms are cosy, nicy decorated in country style.
On the negative side, we had one evening when there was no hot water...luckily the issue had been resolved by the next morning, however this should not happen given the price charged.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2010

we found chateau du vau via internet and were very ppsitively surprised.......Mr Clement was really great and is good at welcoming everybody and creating a warm and nice atmosphere....unfortunately the cook was on vacation while we were there, since having dinner at the chateua would have been the icing ;-)))can only recommend the chateau......and ale the L'etappe gourmande a very nice restaurant near by.... Mr Clement speaks english as well as german:-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betarace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballan Mire
3.5 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
215 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chateau de Beauvois
Chateau de Beauvois
#2 of 2 in Luynes
177 reviews
6.3 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
438 reviews
13.6 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
256 reviews
6.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Vau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Vau

Property: Chateau du Vau
Address: Chateau du Vau, 37510 Ballan Mire, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Ballan Mire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballan Mire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau du Vau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Vau France/Ballan Mire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing