We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
45
18
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
18
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdu vautwo nightsclementconversinghostmotorwaychateauguestscharmcheese
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 69 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2010

we found chateau du vau via internet and were very ppsitively surprised.......Mr Clement was really great and is good at welcoming everybody and creating a warm and nice atmosphere....unfortunately the cook was on vacation while we were there, since having dinner at the chateua would have been the icing ;-)))can only recommend the chateau......and ale the L'etappe gourmande a very nice restaurant near by.... Mr Clement speaks english as well as german:-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betarace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

The Chateau de Vau itself is a charming building. The settings are lush and there are lots of beautiful places in the vicinity to discover, like the castles of Villandry or Ussé.

The room itself was very nice, clean and the bathroom was in a perfect condition. I am quite picky about the bed, but even this exceeded my expectations. French breakfast was served for all guests at a huge table with a view on the garden, but other meals had to be taken elsewhere. Mr.Clement provided us with a number of good tips on where to dine.

Mineralwater free of charge in the room and free WiFi were the icings on the take. Staying in this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrFarwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet and charming inn in the countryside with good access to the magnificent chateaux of the Loire, this is a great place. Rooms are large and comfortable with pastoral views of the beautiful foie gras farm. Nice little pool. Good breakfast (only meal served here) served at a large community dining room table. This is the hub of conversing with the other guests. About 15 mins from Tours. Just a few restaurants in the immediate area, but many in Tours if you want to go into the city. Adjacent to a golf course. Bruno, the owner is very charming and knowledgeable about the farm and local flora. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadiens_Voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

As other reviewers have said, this chateau is in a peaceful location, with a great pool and large rooms. Breakfast is included in the price, very French - big bowls of coffee, croissants and jam. We loved our room, it was massive with an enormous, amazingly comfortable bed. This hotel is just outside Tours off the motorway, and I would recommend that you stay here rather than in Tours. We stayed in a hotel in Tours after two nights here and it was awful, it cost 90 euros (after all the additional charges, tax, parking breakfast) and did not compare in any way to the chateau, which was an additional 30 euros.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LazyMcLazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My wife, my daughter and I stayed 4 nights at Chateau Du Vau. It is a marvelous place, a beautiful chateau, very calm location, with nicely decorated, big rooms (old furnitures). Mr Clement nice, charming host with a very personal, sincere manner. They have a nice swimming pool too. The only downside: we couldn't bring our dog with us, as there are many, lovely (partly very young cats) around ;-)
Would always recommend to go there!
Wolfgang.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolfie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews