We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice chateau”
Review of Chateau de Saulon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Saulon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saulon la Rue
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice chateau”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff in hotel - i had room 208 -even on the front was it very quiet

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nertalic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    264
    63
    25
    12
See reviews for
80
406
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I can't say enough good things about the Chateau de Saulon. I had fretted prior to our driving tour of Burgundy that perhaps this place was too far north or not close enough to 974 to do proper tasting and touring but after visiting and eating at hotel restaurants in Beaune and even at Abbaye de la Bussiere I am sure I made the best choice.

It's a quiet hotel, there were no bike tours staying at the hotel as it is a bit far north, no one bothered us the whole trip (we were there for 4 nights), it was almost as if we were the only ones there. However, the staff was easily found, efficient, patient with my French and attentive.
The restaurant was very good and reasonably priced for the area.
We had an enormous room at an inexpensive price, three huge windows opening up onto the grounds.
The room was a bit over the top orange and perhaps needed some updating - but I think it added to the charm of the place.
The grounds were smaller than I expected but just as gorgeous and perfect for a picnic lunch and an afternoon nap by the pool.

As far as touring, it was only a 5 - 10 minute drive into Gevrey Chambertin and frankly we went as far south as Mersault and that was only ~45 minutes, Although I loved the hotels in Beaune and the Abbaye - there seemed to be so many other tourists clogging up the restaurants (and not to mention the streets of Beaune) - not that I hate my own kind (the American tourist) but I wasn't looking to fight for restaurant reservations or spots at the pool or on a bench near a pond etc.

I would absolutely stay again! Great deal for the room and exactly what we were looking for, a good base to explore and peace, quiet and beautiful surroundings when we returned from exploring.

Room Tip: The superior room (202) in which we stayed could use decor updating BUT was very large and offered 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKB113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have stayed several times at Chateau Saulon on our route to Southern France. We particularly like the restaurant and take advantage of the hotel’s Forfait Détente which includes an aperitif and dinner with wine. The hotel is set in lovely grounds with an attractive swimming pool area. It is worth requesting a room with large windows to enjoy the views of the grounds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We've stayed here three times now on driving tours and have always enjoyed it very much.
The building(s) themselves are stunning as is the setting.
The rooms are very clean, nothing particularly special butbthe view from the windows make up for any shortcomings which are minor.
Now for the shortcomings, firstly, the hotel has obviously changed hands since we were last there and a lot of money has been spent, mainly on the public areas which have all now bee air-conditioned.
They have built a lift which is basically a glass tower and gets so hot on a sunny daybthe staff won't even use it to show you to your room! Doh!
Secondly, the rooms are not aiconditioned. The website I booked through alluded to the fact that the majority of rooms are, whe in fact only TWO rooms have it. It was 35C+ when we were there and it was unpleasant to even go to the room to shower.
Ah, the shower...most rooms do not have a shower curtain so you havevto sit down in the bath!
Not ideal.
The above commentsvrelate to a Superior Double by the way, not a Standard Room.
Last gripe may seem trivial but I think it relevant. The food in the restaurant is superb and reasonably priced considering the setting and the quality. This is just as well as you are a captive audience, ther is nothing forcsome considerable distance.
Thevwine list, however, whilst very good, borders on the extortionate!
In the heart of one of the most famous wine regions in the world where great quality fantastic value wines are around every corner, the cheapest bottle on the list is E30 and rises rapidly from there (next is around E45 from memory)!!!!
Overall though we still love the place!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanN996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I stayed here in 2008 and was mightily impressed, helpful staff, great food, and a building of superb visual impact with a lovely pool area.

I stayed here twice in June 2011 on a motoring tour, once on the way to Italy and once on the way back!

The addition of a lift as far as the 2nd floor and brand new bar, breakfast and lounge areas has given this star a modern feel without reducing its appeal.

You wont be disappointed with any of the facilities or the staff or the restaurant.

Superb.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevoRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The approach to the Chateau is superb, and one can only begin to imagine the Grandeur of years gone by. On closer ispection there is a new full width glass front extension at ground floor level, with a glass lift to the 2nd floor. It does somehow look a bit out of place, and one can imagine the Planning problems they encountered in getting the Marie to approve their design.

Ther foyer is modern and pleasant and after hauling luggage upstairs on previous stop overs the lift was a welcome asset. The room was well fitted and modern with quality furnishing and fittings. My only observation with regard to the bathroom is that there is no shower screen around the bath tub and the shower is only hand held.This made for a very wet bathroom floor !

The whole Hotel has very trendy decor which may not be to everone's taste but for us it worked well. The public areas are all fully Air Conditioned but sadly they skimped on providing A/C to the rooms.

The Restaurant is remote from the main building and is excellent. The ambience service and food quality can not be faulted. It is fairly priced for the standard and expect to pay around €100 per person for a 3 course meal with decent wine.

The breakfast was good and at a reasonable price of €15 per person. The coffee machine makes excellent expresso and other specialiy coffees.

The Hotel grounds are well kept and interesting.The Swimming pool is large and inviting but sadly we were too pushed for time to trake advantage of the facility.

A hotel we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We had the cheap room in the top corner, but it was still clean and well stocked, if a bit small (but then French hotel rooms always are). Beautiful surroundings, lovely restaurant, and the staff are very helpful. Easy to find if you do your homework, but it is a little track off a fairly minor road out of Dijon. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saulon la Rue
5.3 mi away
Chateau de Gilly
Chateau de Gilly
#1 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.6 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Richebourg
Le Richebourg
#1 of 1 in Vosne-Romanee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
La Rotisserie du Chambertin
La Rotisserie du Chambertin
#2 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
7.0 mi away
Vertigo Hotel
Vertigo Hotel
#5 of 59 in Dijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Saulon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Saulon

Property: Chateau de Saulon
Address: 67 rue de Dijon | D996, 21910 Saulon la Rue, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Saulon la Rue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saulon la Rue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Saulon 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau de Saulon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Saulon Hotel Saulon La Rue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing