We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostellerie Sarrasine
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
36
24
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
24
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan oasismain courselovely hotellocal produceperfect stopovercoursesfrancemotorwayuk
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 71 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Well kept place, very nice hosts that take care of you. The lady is actually german; french, german and english are no problem for her. Place is ideal for children with the park, the animals (donkey Tintin, bress chickens, sheep, pigeons, fish, cat Felix). Rooms are either towards the inner yard or the outside. We had number 1 which is close to the main room: good if you have a small child and want your babyphone to work from the restaurant. If you want to sleep with windows ope, take a room to the inner yard. The road on the backside is used frequently. You'll also hear traffic on the front side since the place is directly at the national road. However, we did not find it disturbing. The pool is heated - don't forget your swimming suit. Food is great, but a little overpriced: menu for 32 eur is ok, take single dishes instead of the menu for 45 Eur. Breakfast is also on the expemsive side with 13 Eur, but it is worth it. Wifi exists, but mind that the house is a few hundred years old and made from stone, so the signal heavily depends in which corner of the room you sit.
Place has plenty of tourist information available - freat as headquarters to plan your trips to the neighbouring areas (I recommend the castle of Pierre Clos!).
Summing it up, a great place to stay a night or two - not longer, however. In fact all people we met stayed also oly a day or two.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the_towel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Have twice enjoyed this friendly hotel set around a small garden that forms part of a farm. The food is good which is locally sourced, and the owner takes great pride in the quality of his regions produce. While the selection for the main course at dinner is limited, it is always delicious. Romms are ample and large with satelite TV with worldwide channels. Breakfast in the morning is a feast, with freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly ground coffee, an amazing selction of breads, croissant and brioche....allow an hour to enjoy and another just to let it settle before your leave.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Pleasant setting with a field fuil of Poulets de Bresse (also wandering around the grounds) a ewe and lamb in the forecourt which were a bit smelly and noisy but added charm, a rabbit in an open cage in the bar (perhaps a step too far?) plus caged doves and canaries (not my thing but some might enjoy). Room comfortable but not grand luxe, free wifi, very pleasant proprietors, husband and wife I assume, who did everything. You were instructed to order dinner on arrival, so no problem with wait for food. Drinks came with varied canapes. Log fires in bar and restaurant (even at breakfast time). Poulet de Bresse - if you prefer not to have all breast, good idea to say so at this point, since you get either breast and wing or leg and thigh. Cheese was local and really good, well looked after and just right to eat. Best bit of the dinner. Orange juice for breakfast squeezed to order, trolley of breakfast food brought to your table, so no fighting at buffet.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shipdocLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Found this place by chance whilst looking for accommodation near Macon. We'd left it rather late on an October night, actually wanted to stay by river in town but couldn't find parking space, so carried on to the Bourg-en-Bresse route and spotted this charming-looking hostellerie. Very pleasant lady on reception who also waited on later. Room No.1 was almost a suite, full of character, good bathroom etc. The general impression of the whole place was again somewhere where somebody had put in a lot of thought & time and created a very individual reception/lounge/dining-room and superb gardens. Great ambience, even though the place wasn't full. Obviously, it IS on a road but, even though we opened our shutters & window in the bedroom, we weren't conscious of much noise.
However, when we saw the menu and prices - we were very disappointed. The most reasonable 34 euro menu was VERY short- a choice of only 2 main courses and -after we had chosen the Bresse chicken (famous) we were told that it would take over an hour to cook and so HAD to choose the local steak-which was good and with reasonable sauces. Knowing something about cooking, I find it hard to believe that it wouldn't have been possible to cut the whole (?) chicken in half and cook it in, say, 35 minutes- French meals are usually leisurely anyway and after aperitif/starter, this would have been nicely timed. Desserts were also o.k. but not good enough for the price, although we had a small plate of amuse-bouches included. I bottle of Macon wine was 22 euros-not bad price for the sort of restaurant.
We had a "bargain" with the room- only 99 euros without breakfast. Usual price is 120 euros for the room but it WAS October. Again, reception was excellent on departure and they spent quite a lot of time trying to sort out a day's itinerary for 2 American ladies who were staying there. Would we stop again----YES for the room and surroundings but NO for the dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daviesbagrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed here in October for one night, we can easily describe this hotel with 2 words "overated, overpriced" the food was boring and expensive, beware of the beds and linen both were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FRtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews