We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous ! Very highly recommended”
Review of Le Coq Hardi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Coq Hardi
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My self and my wife stayed here on route back from honeymoon whilst touring Sancerre. Dominique made our stay very welcoming and the food was simply out of this world (and we've eaten in some good restaurants !) the lobster ravioli is truly awesome.

The hotel room was excellent, clean comfortable and well appointed. the terrace overlooks the river and you can amble down there for a stroll along the bank.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomlmartin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Le Coq Hardi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 110 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed here for just one night - thank goodness. Room was tiny and the balcony, which was larger than the room, should have overlooked the Loire but the river was obscured by the hotel gardens trees and was noisy from the groups and smokers at the tables below. A small fence between you and next doors balcony gives no privacy either outside or inside. The food was served with such a fuss and yet was not that good. Both food and wine were very pricey. Parking is a pull in on the main road. Not too happy with that considering we were on our way home from 3 weeks holiday so the boot was full. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We knew this hotel when it was runned by the most friendly couple: Philip and Dominique Martin. We didnot want to go back to le Coq Hardi, but we decided to give the new owners a chance.What a waste of money!!! The hotel has been ruined by modernisme, All the wonderful and welcoming details were gone. Instead we had to look at miserable statues in the would-be gallery that once was the comfortable lounge. Both owners were not interested in us, they preferred smoking in the garden and...in front of the hotel!!!
We ordered a beer (small bottle) and we had to pay 5 euros, a pastis costs 6 euros!
When we had dinner (which was rather nice but far too expensive) I wanted a glass of Pouilly Fumé (on the winelist, mind you), but the headwaiter came back and said: I'm sorry, I can't pour a glass of Pouilly F. He explained that he had to open a new bottle if I insisted."Would a glass of Sancerre be o.k.?" Normally I would have asked him: so what?, but I was simply too flabbergasted and agreed...stupidly enough! Breakfast was poor, self-service, orange juice of the lowest quality. I was only busy with comparing how wonderful the Martins breakfast was. Hospitality is a word which the new owners never heard of.
We have decided never to go back to le Coq Hardi!!!

Room Tip: Room as far as possible from the kitchen
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Stan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The setting promises so much. Sitting on the terrace looking down the sweeping view to the Loire one is struck with one thought - why are we being charged 48 Euro for a bottle of local Sancerre? The room was spacious but with several windows there were no curtains so you need to be an early riser. The main window had previously had curtains as the holes for the rails and the tie-back hooks were still there. But the centerpiece is the dining experience, attentive service, excellent food beautifully presented. Would visit again but would ask for curtains and take a couple of bottles of wine with me.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOldHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed two nights. The room was clean but basic but it had the biggest most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. Our room also had a terrace overlooking the garden & the Loire. Breakfast very good. We ate at the restaurant on the first night, food excellent but very pricey.

Room Tip: Have a room with a terrace
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJHPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We spent a night here on our honeymoon 30 yrs ago, so it was a pleasure to return and see that our memories about the place were accurate. Clearly the owners have changed as have the prices,!!!.
Our room with a terrace over looking the gardens and down to the Loire river was only €75 each ,a little small and the bathroom needed a makeover-but for rural France-excellent.
Breakfast was typical but lacking in selection of cheese or meats etc. €11 pricey.

Dinner is the real purpose of a visit here and we were not disappointed, Lobster ravioli,roast pigeon, catfish, pig trotters, etc etc eaten with great delight.
A very comprehensive wine list with loads of local wines and a cheese board to die for.
Alas this does not come cheap.
Two nights breakfast and dinner came to €550 for the two of us.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChilternRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

we regularly travel to France and whenever we can we stay at this lovely hotel. the food is wonderful - there is one trolley for goats cheese and one for cows. The fish is fresh is shown to you prior to cooking. The patron who is the chef trained at the three star Michelin in Vezelay and it shows but there is no flannery here, and the setting is very simple. Even though we only stay once or twice a year, they did me a special dessert with sparklers on my birthday. I think it is a great place

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank staidcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pouilly sur Loire
1.0 mi away
Logis Le Relais de Pouilly
Logis Le Relais de Pouilly
#1 of 2 in Pouilly sur Loire
125 reviews
7.1 mi away
Le Clos Saint Martin
Le Clos Saint Martin
#2 of 8 in Sancerre
193 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel de la Loire
Hotel de la Loire
#5 of 8 in Sancerre
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Le Panoramic
Hotel Le Panoramic
#3 of 8 in Sancerre
232 reviews
6.8 mi away
Le Verger Fleuri
Le Verger Fleuri
#1 of 1 in Saint-Satur
28 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bon Laboureur
Hotel Le Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in La Charite-sur-Loire
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Coq Hardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Coq Hardi

Address: 42 avenue de la Tuilerie, 58150 Pouilly sur Loire, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Nievre > Pouilly sur Loire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pouilly sur Loire
Price Range: $104 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Coq Hardi 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Coq Hardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing