We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity and elegance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochefort en Terre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Talhouet
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We spent two nights at Talhouet in September. I could have stayed forever. For me the ensemble of the property, the house, the furnishings, the food, the books, the dogs and our gracious host created a sensation of living in a fantasy - an ideal place far from the cares of the world.
I loved the old stones, the comfort, the lack of pretension. It was a privilege to be able to savour the owner's dream even for such a short time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 20 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at the Chateau de Talhouet for our 5th anniversary in June. We arrived with high expectations from everything we had read previously. The chateau did not disappoint. Fantastic room that was remodeled true to the era with antique furniture, original woodwork, etc. Beautiful gardens, exceptional breakfast . . . just a great romantic setting. I can still taste the homemade butter and jams. Only a short drive to the coast. We only decided to explore little Rochefort en Terre on the last day and were disappointed we hadn't gone there earlier. All in all, a wonderful place to stay for a peaceful getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh_Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

What a pleasure to stay in a lovingly restored chateau, with "gentille" written all over it - from the welcome on arrival to the delicious dinner (where you are given various choices) and the breakfast (included) - the guests laze around and speak to each other - the grounds are beautiful. This house has been restored with a gentle touch so that much of the original features are left and one feels what it would have felt like to live in this house some 200 years ago (though with private bathrooms and internet in your room).
After a bad if rare experience in the Loire where none of the above was present (see my review of Chateau Reignac) Chateau Talhouet is the medicine one needs to restore faith in the French. I sit here by the window and hear birds (instead of motor cars roaring by) and look out onto the beautiful bois.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthBeachTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

This grand house certainly lived up to the description on the website. The chateau was well signposted once on the right road and we were made very welcome by M. Soulaine and his two dogs.
Our room was large and well appointed and we enjoyed some late September sun walking in the grounds.
Drinks before and after dinner were served in a salon filled with antiques and M. Soulaine offered an extensive menu. We were the only guests, but the dining room still felt cosy. Dinner was excellent and good value.
A good night’s sleep in a comfortable bed followed by a late breakfast rounded off our visit perfectly. We only stayed one night on our way south, but thoroughly enjoyed it and would happily recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevorrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

great place, quiet, beautiful situated with nice gardens and with a lot of original style-elements. it houses a restaurant with almost a private chef. excellent traditional quisine. jean pol is a charming owner and host. after the dinner you can relax in the small or the big hall. these are furnished with antique gobelins, furniture, mirrors, fireplace etc. on the estate there even is a prehistoric site with standing stones in the forest.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gertnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We recently spent 2 wks touring Brittany and this property was a highlight of our trip. M. Soulaine speaks excellent English and welcomes his guest as GUESTS - we felt as though we were staying in the (castle) of a friend. The house is in the country and there is little to do beyond enjoying the extensive slightly wild but bucolic grounds and playing with his wonderful friendly dogs (a big wolfhound puppy and his little fluffy friend). It is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings, good company and gourmet food. Our every whim was accommodated. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable half tester bed, perfect darkness and quiet. Bathroom was modern with nice amenities. We wished we could stay longer and would consider returning to Brittany purely to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We stayed at the Chateau Talhouet in October 2006 for one night. It is a little tricky finding it as it is outside Rochefort-en-Terre. The chateau has been lovingly restored by M. Soulaine over a period of 17 years. The rooms are lovely. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms for 140 Euros and it was clean and pretty with a spic-n-span small bathroom. We had dinner there that evening and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. We would highly recommend this lovely stopover on a tour of Brittany.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ackerdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochefort en Terre hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Ar Peoc'h
Residence Ar Peoc'h
#1 of 1 in Rochefort en Terre
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Locations du Puits
Les Locations du Puits
#5 of 5 in Rochefort en Terre
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Tour Du Lion
La Tour Du Lion
#1 of 5 in Rochefort en Terre
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Marie-Pierre
La Marie-Pierre
#3 of 5 in Rochefort en Terre
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domaine du Moulin Neuf - Terres de France
Domaine du Moulin Neuf - Terres ...
#2 of 4 in Rochefort en Terre
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vingt Vieux Bourg
Vingt Vieux Bourg
#4 of 5 in Rochefort en Terre
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Talhouet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Talhouet

Address: 56220 Rochefort en Terre, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Rochefort en Terre
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rochefort en Terre
Price Range: $142 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing